
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
  

 

rn~ DEPARTMENT OF 
11 LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

A guide to Minnesota's Child Labor Standards Act 

MINORS UNDER 16 MAY NOT WORK MINIMUM AGE 
FEDERAL LAW (employers with annual sales or A minor younger than 14 years of age 
revenue of $500,000 or more) may not be employed, except: 
• During the school year: • as a newspaper carrier, if at least 11 

– later than 7 p.m.; years of age; 
– more than three hours a day; or • in agriculture, if at least 12 years of age and with 
– more than 18 hours a week. parent or guardian consent; 

• as an actor or model; or 
STATE LAW (all employers) • as a youth athletic program referee, if at least 11 
• Before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m., with the exception of years of age and with parent or guardian consent. 

a newspaper carrier 
• For more than 40 hours a week or more than eight 

hours per 24-hour period, except in agricultural PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS FOR MINORS 
operations Minors cannot work in the following capacities: 

• serving liquor; 
16- AND 17-YEAR-OLDS MAY NOT WORK • working with hazardous materials such as explosives; 
STATE LAW (all employers) • operating or assisting in the operation of
• Later than 11 p.m. on evenings before school days        power-driven machinery, such as forklifts, meat saws

or before 5 a.m. on school days. With written        and grinders, milling machines, punch presses, press
permission from a parent or guardian, these hours        brakes and shears, and woodworking machinery; and 
may be expanded to 11:30 p.m. and 4:30 a.m. • on or about construction sites. 

Note:  If employers are covered by state and federal A detailed list of prohibited work for minors can be 
requirements, both laws must be followed. found in Minnesota Rules 5200.0910 and 5200.0920. 

PROOF OF AGE PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION OF CHILD 
A minor's proof of age must be maintained LABOR STANDARDS ACT 
as part of the payroll records. Acceptable An employer that fails to comply with provisions of the 
proof is one of the following:  a copy of a Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act will be subject to 
birth certificate; a copy of a driver’s license penalties under Minnesota Statutes §181A.12. Penalties 
or permit; an age certificate issued by the range in amount from $250 to $5,000 for each for each 
school; or an I-9. employee, for each violation 

STATE AND FEDERAL CHILD LABOR LAWS 
Employers are generally subject to both state child labor laws and the federal child labor provisions of the Fair 
Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Certain Minnesota child labor laws are more protective than federal law and vice 
versa. Employers covered by both Minnesota child labor laws and the federal FLSA must follow the most protective 
provisions that apply to their employees. Visit www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/child-labor for more information about 
federal child labor law. 
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Notice:  This flyer is a brief summary of Minnesota law. It is intended as a guide and is not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes regarding child labor laws. 
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