Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

Jan. 23, 2014

83,000 Minnesota workers make $7.25 an hour or less

The 2013 Minnesota Minimum-Wage Report is now available from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The report presents trends and statistics about minimum-wage workers in Minnesota from August 2012 through July 2013.

Findings from the report

  • There are approximately 1.57 million hourly workers in Minnesota (page 5).

  • An estimated 83,000 Minnesota hourly workers make $7.25 an hour or less. This means 5.2 percent of all Minnesota hourly workers make the federal minimum wage or less (page 5).

  • Forty-seven percent of the minimum-wage workers work in eating and drinking places; 55 percent of these minimum-wage workers receive overtime, tips or commissions (page 7).

  • Forty percent of the minimum-wage workers are older than 24 (page 9).

  • Women are more likely than men to be paid the minimum wage (page 9, page 14).

  • Fifty-eight percent of minimum-wage workers have some college education (page 11).

  • Ten percent of adult minimum-wage workers do not have a high school diploma (page 11).

  • Twenty percent of minimum-wage workers are at or below the poverty line (page 13).

  • In 2013 dollars, the Minnesota minimum wage fell 30 percent from 1974 to 2013 and the federal minimum wage fell 25 percent (page 3).

Wage laws

Minnesota's minimum wage is $5.25 an hour for employers with less than $625,000 in annual business and $6.15 for businesses with more than $625,000. The federal minimum wage is $7.25 for employers with more than $500,000 in annual business. The report uses the federal $7.25 hourly wage for its analysis.

More information

The report is available online at www.dli.mn.gov/RS/MinWageReport.asp. Copies of the report may also be obtained by calling (651) 284-5025 or 1-800-342-5354.


News media contact:
James Honerman
(651) 284-5313

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer