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License fees for residential building contractors to drop effective July 1, 2015.  

 
Governor Dayton recommended and the legislature approved a reduction of each of the 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry’s (DLI) Construction Codes and Licensing 
Division’s (CCLD) licensing fees. DLI will be reducing licensing costs for the construction 
industry by more than $3 million over the next two years.  
 
For residential building contractors and remodelers license costs will drop by $125.  
 
 
Residential licensing fees 
 
Residential building contractors and remodelers renew their license every two years. The 
amount of the residential building contractors and remodelers licensing fee depends on the 
contractor’s gross annual receipts: 
 
 

Gross annual receipts  Old fee New fee 
$1 million or less $690.00 $565.00 
$1 to 5 million $790.00 $665.00 
Over $5 million $890.00 $765.00 

 
 
Current licenses 
 
DLI currently licenses 11,096 residential building contractors and 332 residential remodelers.  
The only difference between the two license types is that residential remodelers can only work 
on existing structures while residential building contractors can work on existing structures and 
new construction. 
 
 
About the Construction Codes and Licensing Division 
 
CCLD administers more than 130,000 construction trades and business licenses. Most 
licenses are issued for two-year terms. CCLD provides reasonable, uniform and balanced 
standards for Minnesota’s buildings and construction professionals. Its focus is on improving 
efficiencies in the delivery of licensing, permitting and other services for construction industry 
stakeholders. 
 
 
 
 

Visit our website at www.dli.mn.gov. 
This information can be made available in alternative formats, such as Braille, large print or audio. 
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