Decorative bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by Google

Plumbing apprentice


The apprentice position is the starting position for aspiring plumbers. Apprentices may register with the state of Minnesota and work under the direct on-site supervision of a licensed journeyman or master plumber, or a plumbing contractor.

After four years and at least 7,000 hours of practical work experience, an apprentice becomes eligible to take an exam for a journeyman license. You must have the minimum number of hours in the following plumbing phases:

  • 2,000 hours of water distribution system installation
  • 2,000 hours of drain, waste and vent system installation
  • 1,000 hours of fixture installation
  • and the remaining hours may be in any aspect of plumbing work as defined in the code.

The Department of Labor and Industry will mail annual renewal forms that must be completed and returned to document experience during the previous year. The renewal forms and filing fee must be returned prior to July 1 to avoid a late filing penalty.

Only practical plumbing experience gained in the 12-month period immediately prior to registration or submission of the renewal application for registration shall be considered. Late registration renewals may be accepted for a period not exceeding three months, with the payment of a late fee. The 1,750 hours necessary to gain one year of practical plumbing experience may be worked in more than one 12-month registration period as a plumbers apprentice; however, not more than 1,750 hours shall be credited for one registration period.

Apprentice plumber registration form

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer