A GUIDE TO MINNESOTA's

CHILD LABOR

STANDARDS ACT

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION OF
CHILD LABOR STANDARDS ACT

An employer that fails to comply with
provisions of the Minnesota Child Labor
Standards Act will be subject to penalties
under Minnesota Statutes §181A.12.

Penalties range in amount from $250 to $5,000
for each violation.

Notice: This brochure is a brief summary of Minnesota
child labor laws and is intended as a guide. It is not to be
considered a substitute for Minnesota statutes and rules.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Department of Labor and Industry
Labor Standards
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155-4306

Phone: (651) 284-5005

Toll-free: 1-800-342-5354

Fax: (651) 284-5740
dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
www.dli.mn.gov/LaborLaw.asp

This document can be provided in different forms, such as large print,

Braille or audio, by calling (651) 284-5005.
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CHILD LABOR STANDARDS ACT

MINORS UNDER 16 MAY NOT WORK

STATE LAW (all employers)

e Before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m. with the
exception of a newspaper carrier

e For more than 40 hours a week or more
than eight hours per 24-hour period, except
in agricultural operations

e During school hours on school days
without an employment certificate issued
by the appropriate school officials

FEDERAL LAW (employers with annual
sales or revenue of $500,000 or more)
e During the school year:

- laterthan 7 p.m,;

— more than three hours a day; or

- more than 18 hours a week.

16- and 17-YEAR OLDS MAY NOT WORK

STATE LAW (all employers)

e Laterthan 11 p.m. on evenings before
school days or before 5 a.m. on school days.
With written permission from a parent or
guardian, these hours may be expanded to
11:30 p.m. and 4:30 a.m.

Note: If employers are covered by state and
federal requirements, both laws must be
followed.

MINIMUM AGE
} l L A minor younger than 14 years of age may not be employed, except:
e asanewspaper carrier, if at least 11 years of age;

e inagriculture, if at least 12 years of age and with parent or guardian consent;

e asan actor or model; or

* asayouth athletic program referee, if at least 11 years of age and with parent or

guardian consent.

. PROOF OF AGE

A minor's proof of age must be maintained as part of the payroll records.
 ( Acceptable proof is one of the following: a copy of a birth certificate; a copy of a
driver’s license or permit; an age certificate issued by the school; or an I-9.

PROHIBITED
OCCUPATIONS FOR MINORS

Minors are prohibited from working in the

following capacities:

e serving liquor;

e working with hazardous materials such
as explosives;

e operating power-driven machinery,
including motor vehicles; and

e on or about construction sites.

A detailed list of prohibited work for minors
can be found in Minnesota Rules 5200.0910
and 5200.0920.

EXCEPTIONS TO PROHIBITED
OCCUPATIONS MAY EXIST FOR:
17-year-old high school graduates and
minors employed by a business that is solely
owned and daily supervised by the minor's
parents.

PENALTIES FORVIOLATION OF
CHILD LABOR STANDARDS ACT

An employer that fails to comply with
provisions of the Minnesota Child Labor
Standards Act will be subject to penalties
under Minnesota Statutes §181A.12.
Penalties range in amount from $250 to
$5,000 per violation.



