FORMS OF PAYMENT

Employees cannot be required to accept
payment of wages via direct deposit or payroll
card. If an employee opts out of using direct
deposit or a payroll card, the employer must
provide payment of wages via check or cash.

PURPOSE OF MFLSA

The Legislature declared the purpose of the

Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act is:

(1) to establish minimum wage and overtime
compensation standards that maintain
workers” health, efficiency and general well
being;

(2) to safeguard existing minimum wage and
overtime compensation standards that
maintain workers’ health, efficiency and
general well-being against the unfair
competition of wage and hour standards
that do not; and

(3) to sustain purchasing power and increase
employment opportunities.

Notice: This brochure is a brief summary of the
Minnesota minimum wage laws and is intended as
a quide. It is not to be considered a substitute for
Minnesota statutes and rules.

A GUIDE TO MINNESOTA's

MINIMUM

WAGE LAWS

CONTACT INFORMATION

Department of Labor and Industry
Labor Standards
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN 55155-4306

Phone: (651) 284-5005

Toll-free: 1-800-342-5354

Fax: (651) 284-5740
dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
www.dli.mn.gov/LaborLaw.asp
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This document can be provided in different forms, such as audio, Braille
or large print, by calling (651) 284-5005.
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Minnesota's minimum wage rates as of Aug. 1, 2016. Rates change again Jan. 1, 2018.

LARGE EMPLOYER Any enterprise with an annual gross dollar volume of sales made

MINNESOTA's MINIMUM WAGE RATES

$9.50

or business done of $500,000 or more

SMALL EMPLOYER Any enterprise with an annual gross volume of sales made or

business done of less than $500,000
May be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age

TRAINING RATE for the first 90 consecutive days of employment
YOUTH RATE Paid to employees younger than 18 years of age who are not $ 7 . 7 5
covered under federal law
Applies to employees of hotels, motels, lodging establishments
J-1VISA and resorts working under the authority of a summer work, travel
Exchange Visitor (J) non-immigrant visa
Currently not applicable unless an employer or employee
FEDERAL WAGE is specifically exempt from state law, but not federal law. $7025
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NO TIP CREDIT

There are no tip credits against the minimum wage allowed in Minnesota.
Employers of wait staff or other tipped employees may not use employee tips to
offset the minimum wage. Tipped employees must be paid the minimum wage for
all hours worked.

OVERTIME

Under Minnesota law, employers are required to pay 1'2 times the regular rate of
pay for all hours worked more than 48 in a seven-day period. If the employer or
employees are federally covered, then overtime must be paid for all hours worked
more than 40 in a seven-day period.

REST PERIODS

Although Minnesota law does not require an employer to give any specific amount
of time for breaks, employers are required by law to allow an employee to use the
nearest restroom facility once every four hours and allow sufficient time to eat a
meal once every eight hours. Any break less than 20 minutes long must be paid.

WHO IS COVERED? ‘:Ma’

The minimum wage law covers
full-time and part-time employees,
whether paid hourly rates, commissions,
salaries or piece rates. Tipped employees are
also covered; Minnesota does not allow for
tips received by employees to be credited
toward the payment of minimum wages.

Under the law, employers must pay their
employees the minimum wage for all hours
worked. “Hours worked” includes training
time, waiting time, rest periods of fewer
than 20 minutes and any other time the
employees must be at work.

WHO IS NOT COVERED?

Employees who are exempt from minimum

wage requirements include:

* babysitters;

e taxicab drivers;

* volunteers of nonprofit organizations;

» people providing police or fire protection;

» employees subject to the provisions of the
U.S. Department of Transportation (drivers,
drivers' helpers, mechanics and loaders);
and

 other workers listed under Minnesota
Statutes §177.23, subd. 7.

FINAL WAGES

Final wages must be paid to a terminated
employee within 24 hours of the employee's
demand and on the next scheduled payday to
an employee who voluntarily quits (Minnesota
Statutes §§181.13, 181.14, 181.145).



