A GUIDE TO MINNESOTA's

OVERTIME
LAWS

)

HOW ARE HOURS
l y 4 l COUNTED?
c Except for rest periods of 20

minutes or more, all hours the
employee is required to be on
the premises of the employer are
counted for overtime purposes.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Department of Labor and Industry
Labor Standards

Employees working more than

one job under the control of the
same employer must have all hours
worked counted toward overtime.

Holiday hours, vacation time or sick leave are
not counted in figuring overtime hours.
Overtime is computed on a seven-day
workweek basis regardless of the length of
the pay period. Hours worked may not be
averaged over the pay period or used to
offset shorter workweeks. The workweek can
be any consecutive seven-day period that the
employer chooses, but may not vary once
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Notice: This brochure is a brief summary of the
Minnesota overtime laws and is intended as a guide.
Itis not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota
statutes and rules.

This document can be provided in different forms, such as large print,
Braille or audio, by calling (651) 284-5005.
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OVERTIME LAWS

WHO IS EXEMPT?

Some employees are exempt from Minnesota’s

STATE overtime wages. The following is a partial list:
The Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act requires all employers, regardless e executive, administrative or professional
of gross annual revenue, to pay overtime for all hours worked in excess of 48 employees who meet the salary and duty

requirements of the department’s rules;
e an outside salesperson;
e asalesperson, partsperson or mechanic

hours in a seven-day period.

FEDERAL for a vehicle dealership who sells or
The federal Fair Labor Standards Act requires some employers to pay services automobiles, trailers, trucks
overtime for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a seven-day period. or farm implements, a_”dlios paid -
These employers inCIUde: commission or incentive .a5|s, and Is
) . employed by a dealer selling to the
e businesses whose employees produce or handle goods for interstate consumer; and
commerce; e an agricultural worker paid a salary of at
« businesses with gross annual sales of more than $500,000; and least 5696 aOV(‘)’%%‘:)fOf large employers
o certain other businesses, including hospitals, nursing homes, schools and grossing e O e icT more, OF
) $569.62 a week for small employers
government agencies. grossing less than $500,000 a year.

WHAT IS A SALARY?
ﬁ WHAT IS THE OVERTIME RATE?
S Overtime rates must be at least 1'2 the employee’s regular rate of pay. The regular A salary is defined as a guaranteed
rate of pay is determined by dividing the employee’s total pay in any workweek predetermined wage for each seven-
U by the total hours worked in the workweek. An employee’s pay includes credits day workweek that does not vary based

allowed against the minimum wage for meals and/or lodging. on productivity or how many hours the
employee works. It is not an hourly rate.

o WHO MUST PAY?
Overtime pay is not discretionary. Both state and federal laws prohibit any
9 agreement to not pay overtime to employees. All firms must pay Minnesota’s
overtime wage regardless of:
e the firm’s size, location or gross sales;
¢ the method of compensation (hourly, salary, commission, piece rate or other); or
e designations such as part time, temporary, seasonal or contract.



