A GUIDE TO MINNESOTA'S LAWS ABOUT

PREGNANCY LEAVE, NURSING MOTHERS

PREGNANCY LEAVE FROM WORK
Female employees may take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during or following pregnancy when:
1. they work for a company with 21 or more employees at one site;
2. they worked at least half time during the past 12 months; and

3. they have been with the company for at least 12 months.

Pregnancy leave may be taken if the woman cannot work because of:
e prenatal care;
e pregnancy;
e childbirth; or
» related health conditions.

An employee may also be able to use employer-provided benefits, like sick leave or disability leave, if she is sick
during her pregnancy or to recover after childbirth.

PREGNANCY ACCOMMODATIONS ATWORK = NURSING MOTHERS

REQUIRED ACCOMMODATIONS A mother who needs to express breast milk for her
A pregnant employee may request and her child at work:
employer must provide: * must be provided reasonable unpaid break time

* more frequent restroom, food and water breaks; to express breast milk; and

* seating; and * must, when possible, be provided a private area

* limits on lifting more than 20 pounds. to express milk that:
OTHER ACCOMMODATIONS » is not a bathroom,
A pregnant employee may request other » is shielded from view,
reasonable workplace accommodations when: » is free of intrusion from coworkers and the

* she has been given advice from a health care public, and

provider or doula; and » has access to an electrical outlet.
* the accommodation would not impose an
undue hardship on the employer's business. The employer must make a
reasonable effort to provide a
Other accommodations may include the temporary private area to express milk.
transfer to a less strenuous or hazardous job. An Employers are not required
employer cannot require an employee to take an to provide break time if
accommodation. An employer cannot retaliate doing so would seriously
against an employee for requesting or taking an disrupt operations. Breaks
accommodation. Employees may have additional already provided may fulfill
rights under the Minnesota Human Rights Act. this requirement.
CONTACT INFORMATION
Department of Labor and Industry Phone: (651) 284-5070, Toll-free: 1-800-342-5354
Labor Standards dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155-4306 www.dli.mn.gov/LaborLaw.asp

Notice: This flier is a brief summary of Minnesota law and is intended as a guide.
It is not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes regarding pregnancy accommodations and nursing mother laws.
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Version 0714




