Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by google

Labor Standards -- Child labor penalties

Child labor penaltiesAn employer that fails to comply with provisions of the Minnesota Child Labor Act may be subject to fines. An employer who is convicted of repeatedly violating the Minnesota Child Labor Act, or any other related regulation, will be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. The fines below apply for each employee.

Fine Child labor violation
$500
For employment of minor under the age of 14
$500
For employment of minor under the age of 16 during school hours while school is in session
$500
For employment of minor under the age of 16 before 7 a.m.
$500
For employment of minor under the age of 16 after 9 p.m.
$1,000
For employment of a high school student under the age of 18 in violation of section 181A.04, subd. 6
$500
For employment of minor under the age of 16 more than eight hours a day
$500
For employment of minor under the age of 16 more than 40 hours a week
$1,000
For employment of minor under the age of 18 in occupation hazardous or detrimental to minor's well-being as defined by rule
$1,000
For employment of minor under the age of 16 in occupation hazardous or detrimental to minor's well-being as defined by rule
$5,000
For minor under the age of 18 injured in hazardous employment
$250
For minor employed without proof of age
DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer