Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by google

Workers' compensation -- Controlling events



Controlling events

The Minnesota workers' compensation statutes have undergone many revisions since the first law was enacted in 1913. It is very important for you to remember that the date of injury or death controls. This means the law in effect on the date of injury or death governs the type and amount of benefits that are payable to the employee or dependents of the employee. The wage on the date of injury also controls. This means the compensation rate is based on the gross weekly wage at the time of the injury and does not include any wage increases the employee might receive in the future.

For example, an employee is injured Aug. 30, with earnings of $400 a week. A labor agreement allows employees a cost-of-living increase Nov. 1, of an additional dollar an hour. Calculate the compensation rate by using the wage of $400 a week, because that is the employee's gross weekly wage at the time of injury.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer