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FOR WORKERS' COMPENSATION PROFESSIONALS

Summary: 2013 workers' compensation session law

By Ktis Eiden, Deputy Commissioner, and Kate Berger, Office of General Counsel

This summary is not a substitute for the actual law (Laws of Minnesota 2013, chapter 70), which can
be viewed at www.revisormn.gov/laws/?id=70&year=2013&type=0.

Article 1

Section 1. Rehabilitation complaints - This
section amends Minnesota Statutes (Minn. Stat.)

§ 176.102, subd. 33, to give the commissioner
discretionary authority about whether to investigate
complaints filed against qualified rehabilitation
consultants (QRCs) and rehabilitation vendors.
Effective May 17, 2013.

Section 2. Medical disputes - This section amends
Minn. Stat. § 176.106, subd. 1, to give the
commissioner the authority to hold administrative
conferences about medical disputes of more than
$7,500 when the issue is whether a particular charge
is excessive.

Effective May 17,
2013, and applies to
medical disputes filed
on or after that date.

Section 3. SCF
reimbursement -
This section amends
Minn. Stat.
§176.129, subd. 13,
to preclude an
insolvent insurer
from obtaining
reimbursement
from the Special
Compensation Fund
(SCF) for second
injury and
supplementary
benefits unless the
insolvent insurer
filed for

reimbursement before June 1, 2013. It also allows
SCF to offset reimbursements against any debt
owed by an insurer or employer.

Effective May 17, 2013.

Section 4. Exclusion from genetic information -
This section amends Minn. Stat. § 176.138 to
provide that the medical data collected and
retained by the Department of Labor and Industry
(DLI) in connection with a workers’ compensation
claim does not constitute “genetic information” for
purposes of the Minnesota Genetic Privacy Act.
Effective May 17, 2013.

Section 5. Limitation
on employer
defenses - This
section amends
Minn. Stat. §
176.184, subd. 4, to
require the Special
Compensation Fund
to notify an
uninsured employer
if it is going to enter
into a settlement
with an employee. If
#l the employer does
not object to the
settlement within
15 days of notice,
the employer will
be deemed to have
waived any defenses
it could have raised
in a subsequent
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action by the SCF to recover funds from the employer.
Effective May 17, 2013.

Section 6. Sampling methodology - This section
removes the requirement in Minn. Stat. § 176.245
that required the commissioner to use Six Sigma
methodology to sample required payment filings.
Effective May 17, 2013.

Section 7. Settlement approval - This section
amends Minn. Stat. § 176.521 to provide that a
settlement reached while a matter is pending before
the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals must
be approved by a compensation judge at the Office of
Administrative Hearings (OAH).

Effective for settlement agreements submitted for
approval on or after July 1, 2013.

Article 2

Section 1. Coverage for post-traumatic stress
disorder - This section amends the definition of
“occupational disease” in Minn. Stat. § 176.011,
subd. 15, to include coverage for employees who
have been diagnosed by a licensed psychiatrist or
psychologist with post-traumatic stress disorder
(PTSD) arising out of employment. PTSD has the
meaning given in the Diagnostic and Statistical
Manual of Mental Disorders. The section excludes
coverage for any alleged injury resulting from good
faith job actions taken by the employer.

Effective for employees with dates of injury on or
after Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 2. Coverage for post-traumatic stress
disorder - This section amends the definition of
“personal injury” in Minn. Stat. § 176.011, subd. 16,
to include coverage for post-traumatic stress
disorder as provided in Section 1.

Effective for employees with dates of injury on or
after Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 3. Attorneys’ fees — This amendment to
Minn. Stat. § 176.081, subd. 1, changes the
contingent fee formula for attorneys’ fees (currently
25 percent of the first $4,000 and 20 percent
thereafter) to a flat 20 percent of the first $130,000
(subject to an increased “cap” of $26,000).

Effective for employees with dates of injury on or after
Oct. 1,2013.
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Section 4. Attorney fee reimbursement - As a
result of this amendment to Minn. Stat. § 176.081,
subd. 7, an insurer is no longer required to
reimburse an employee for attorney fees if the fees
were paid by the insurer in the first place.

Effective for employees with dates of injury on or
after Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 5. Increase in maximum benefit - This
amendment to Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 1,
increases the maximum weekly benefit to 102 percent
of the statewide average weekly wage (SAWW).
Effective for employees with dates of injury on or after
Oct. 1,2013.

Section 6. Job development limits - This
amendment to Minn. Stat. § 176.102, subd. 5, limits
job development services to 20 hours a month for
no more than 13 consecutive or intermittent weeks,
which the parties, DLI or an administrative law
judge can extend to 26 weeks. Job development
services include contacting prospective employers,
identifying job openings and arranging interviews.
Effective for employees with dates of injury on or
after Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 7. Disability case management - This
amendment to Minn. Stat. § 176.102, subd. 10,
prohibits a QRC from performing nonstatutory
case management services and statutory case
management services under a rehabilitation plan
on the same claim.

Effective Oct. 1, 2013.
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Section 8. Rehabilitation conferences - This
amendment to Minn. Stat. § 176.106, subd. 3,
requires DLI and OAH to hold rehabilitation
conferences within 21 days of the request for
conference, unless there is good cause or the issue
involves only fees for past services. If there is a
rehabilitation plan in effect, rehabilitation services
would continue until at least the date of the initially
scheduled conference.

Effective Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 9. Determination of prevailing charge -
Under current law, insurers must reimburse
hospitals 85 percent of the hospitals’ usual and
customary charge or 85 percent of the prevailing
charge. “Prevailing charge” is defined by rule and is
established through the collection of billing data in
a particular market. Department rules currently
require that prevailing charges be based on at least
20 billings for a service collected within the past
calendar year. This amendment to Minn. Stat. §
176.136, subd. 1b, allows prevailing charges to be
based on data collected during a two-year period.
Effective Oct. 1, 2013, and will be used to establish
prevailing charges on or after that date.

Section 10. Adjustment of benefits - This
amendment changes the cap on the annual
adjustment of benefits under Minn. Stat. § 176.645
from 2 percent to 3 percent and provides that no
change in benefits shall be less than zero. This
section also changes the date upon which the
adjustments commence, from the fourth
anniversary of the date of injury to the third
anniversary.

Effective for employees with dates of injury on or
after Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 11. Pain contracts - This amendment to
Minn. Stat. § 176.83, subd. 5, gives the
commissioner authority to adopt rules governing
criteria for the long-term use of narcotics or other
scheduled medication to alleviate intractable pain,
including the use of treatment contracts between
an injured worker and his or her health care
provider setting out the expectations and
responsibilities of each.

Effective Oct. 1, 2013, and applies to employees with
any date of injury who receive treatment after any
rules are adopted.
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Section 12. Patient advocate pilot program -
This section directs the commissioner to implement
a two-year pilot program for workers with back
injuries who are considering spinal fusions. The
program will use the services of a patient advocate
to help workers understand their treatment options
and receive appropriate treatment.

Effective Oct. 1, 2013.

Section 13. Reimbursement cost study - This
section requires DLI to conduct a study of the effects
of potential reforms and barriers regarding workers’
compensation medical costs and administrative costs.
The department must report its findings and make
recommendations to the Workers’ Compensation
Advisory Council by Dec. 31, 2013.

Effective May 17, 2013.

Office of Workers'
Compensation Ombudsman

Help for injured workers, small businesses

The Office of Workers' Compensation
Ombudsman provides advice to employees
and small businesses who need help
understanding and navigating the workers'
compensation system.

The ombudsman assists injured workers and
small businesses to help resolve problems
they encounter during the course of a
workers' compensation claim.

In addition to the assistance it provides, the
Office of Workers' Compensation Ombudsman
also recommends statute or rule changes to
improve the effectiveness of the workers'
compensation system.

The ombudsman is a separate office within the
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.
Call (651) 284-5013 or 1-800-342-5354.

Online information about the ombudsman is at
www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Ombudsman.asp.
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Register now! 2013 Workers' Compensation Summit

Looking Back, Moving Ahead: 100 Years of Workers' Compensation in Minnesota
— Sept. 12, 2013 at Crowne Plaza Hotel in downtown St. Paul —

Registration has been extended for the 2013 Workers’ Compensation Summit! Join the Minnesota
Department of Labor and Industry on Thursday, Sept. 12, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in St. Paul, Minn., for
this one-day event packed with great information. —h e

The conference will feature general sessions and
breakout sessions that focus on current issues
affecting the workers' compensation system and
ways to improve processes and services that
affect employers and injured workers. Topics to
be addressed include: recent changes to workers'
compensation law; head injuries and traumatic
brain injuries; impact of the Affordable Care Act
on workers' compensation; workplace violence
prevention; Medicare; chemical dependency; post-
traumatic stress disorder (PTSD); and more.

The complete schedule, with topics and speakers listed, plus registration information, is online now at
www.dli.mn.gov/Summit. Registration closes Thursday, Sept. 5.

Co-sponsored by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry and the Workers' Compensation Advisory Council. No taxpayer dollars
will be used to fund this event.

Minnesota workers' compensation system

. o
Workers Compensatlon COSt cost per $100 of payroll, 1997-2011[1]
shows slight uptick for 2011 $200

The total cost of Minnesota's workers' compensation $1.50 \\//\
system per $100 of payroll has followed a cycle since \/
1997, with low-points reached in 2000 and 2010, $1.00

and a slight increase for 2011.

$.50

The total cost of the system was estimated at $1.28
per $100 of payroll in 2011, 20 percent less than in $.00 F—t—t—t—t—————
1997 and slightly above the 2010 figure of $1.24.

Cost per $100
These figures include premiums paid by the insured °f$qaé’£°"
: e . HitH .

employ§rs and experlence—modlfled pure premium s 131
for self-insured employers. The figures partly reflect Hitt 1.72
year-to-year changes in the cost of benefits and other #it 155

. . Hitht 1.42
expenses; however, they also reflect a nationwide s [1] 130
insurance pricing cycle, in which the ratio of # (1] 124
premium to insurance losses, such as workers' #itt [1] 1.28
compensation benefits paid, varies over time. ". Subject to revision.
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What injured workers should know about lumbar fusion surgery
as a treatment for degenerative disc disease

The Department of Labor and Industry, in collaboration with
the Medical Services Review Board, has prepared a Spinal
Fusion Information Fact Sheet. The fact sheet is intended to
provide basic information about the potential risks and
benefits of spinal fusion surgery. Physicians, surgeons,
qualified rehabilitation consultants (QRCs), insurers and
others are encouraged to share the fact sheet with injured
workers who are considering lumbar fusion surgery.

This information shaet is for injured warkers with & Minnesola warkars’ compensalion claim who are
considenng lumbar fusion surgary, It §06S NAt provide medical advice. Whather lumbar fusion is rght
for you is a choioa you must make with your doctar.

What is lumbar fusion surgery?

Lumbar fusion surgery is performed as treatment for a number of different conditions that affect
the structural integrity of the spine (for example, cenain spinal fractwres), Lumbar fusion surgery
is also sometimes performed for treatment of severe chronic low back pain in paticnts with
degeneration of one or more lumbar dises,

Y¥hat are the results of lumbar fusion for injured workers with ehrenic low back pain and
degenerative dise discase?

You might want to consider and discuss the following information’ with your physician before
making a decision about whether you will proceed with surgery.

« Studies of injured workers show about half of them get beter after the surgery. However, up
to ene-third of patients repor a “poor” result.

*  In some studies, when lumbar fusion is compared to ather reatments, patients who receive a
fission do better than those who just continue to get the same ireatment they were already
receiving. However, in other studies, patients who were refered for intensive medical

and interdisciplinary ilitation did as well as those who had fusion surgery

« Ten 1020 percent of patients develop complications from the surgery. Complications include
infeetion, decp vein tirombosis, pulmenary embolism, nerve injurics and problems with bene
grafls or implanted devices

The fact sheet is available on the department's website at
www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Pdf/fact_sheet_lumbar_fusion.pdf.

*  About one in every Four injured workers who have a lumbar fusion will have another lumbar
surgery. Subsequent surgeries are often done because the fusion doesn’t “take” (become
sofid) or the hardware used in the fusion becomes a problem; or, because the spine above or
below the fusion starts to deteriorate, causing more pain and disability.

= Most injured workers who are disabled by their back pain remain disabled after their fusion
surgery, with fewer than S0 percent retuming to work.

+ Most injured workers continue to usc strong pain medication afier their surgery; some even
requice mure medication.

Anyone with questions about the fact sheet or its use should
contact Lisa Wichterman, DLI's medical policy specialist, at The wlen sopemtirn o 51503 e
(651) 284-5173 or lisa.wichterman@state.mn.us. 3

Can I get a second opinion?
The workers” compensation law allows you to et a second epinion fiom a provider of your

Workers’ compensation information fact sheet

{Brai, lwege priveor i)
A0 s Ooporturvty Employer

Workers' compensation training expands to reach more employers

The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) Workers’
Compensation Division's Training Team wrapped up a busy spring
season that included two new sessions of its employer training at
Anoka Technical College in April and May. The expansion to the
north metropolitan area has been a long-time goal of the team,
because most previous sessions have been at St. Paul College, near
downtown St. Paul, Minn.

Marion Halverson, a senior compliance officer in the Compliance,
Records and Training unit at DLI, taught two sessions each at St.
Paul College and Anoka Technical College this spring and plans to
teach at both colleges again in the fall.

Some training session topics
e Workers’ compensation basics e What to do before an injury occurs
e What to do when an injury occurs or is reported e What benefits are provided

e What is/is not covered by workers’ compensation ¢ Employer do’s and don’ts

In addition, Halverson teamed up with the Latino Economic Development Center in Minneapolis to teach
workers’ compensation basics to small-business owners. This training focused on how to complete the
First Report of Injury form and when to file it, what benefits are provided, and what is and is not covered
by Minnesota workers’ compensation.

The Training Team aims to reach even more employers by continuing to offer the training sessions this
fall and next spring; dates and locations are currently being coordinated. To learn more about employer
training, call Melissa Parish at (651) 284-5431 or visit www.dli.mn.gov/WC/TrainingEr.asp.
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Results of 2013 Special Compensation Fund assessment

By John Kufus, Accounting Officer, Financial Services

The Special Compensation Fund (SCF) assessment funds Minnesota's workers' compensation programs. Seventy
percent of the assessment dollars go to funding the supplementary and second-injury benefit programs. The
assessment also pays the operating expenses of the Workers' Compensation Division of the Department of Labor
and Industry, the Office of Administrative Hearings and the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals.

As aresult of legislation by the 2002 Minnesota Legislature, the assessment process has changed. Companies are no
longer required to report semi-annually. The report is now being done on an annual basis. The report form is

mailed to companies at least 45
days before the due datcof TN

April 1. 2012 indemnity Ratio Estimated liabilities DSR pure premium
Insurers $307,457,092 75.35% $61,407,588 $816,469,038

The Special Compensation Self-insurers $100,600,525 24.65% $20,092,412

Fund assessment is directly Total $408,057,617 100.00% $81,500,000 $816,469,038

Department of Labor and
Industry. The first half of the assessment is invoiced by June 30 of each year, and is due Aug. 1 of that year. The
second billing is due Feb. 1 of the following year, and is mailed approximately 30 days before the due date.

The 2013 SCF assessment continues a downward trend in the amount of funding required with a corresponding
reduction in the assessment rate. The 2013 assessment of $81,500,000 is a 4 percent drop from the 2012
assessment of $85,000,000. During the past five years, the annual funding requirement has dropped $9,500,000.
The 2009 assessment was $91,000,000 versus $81,500,000 for the 2013 assessment. The assessment rate has
dropped 14 percent from 23.3 percent for the 2009 assessment to 20 percent for the 2013 assessment.

The estimated state-fiscal-year 2014 funding requirement for the Special Compensation Fund was determined to
be $81,500,000. The liability was divided between the insurers and self-insurers by the ratio of their 2012
indemnity payments to the total indemnity

reported by both groups. Percentage for assessments due for insurers and self-insurers

. Year assessed il Insurers Self-insurers
Insurer premium surcharge rate CESCER TS
The insurer premium surcharge rate 2003 2002 12.5457% 27.4374%
applied for the purpose of determining the 2004 2003 11.0335% 25.6801%
Special Compensation Fund assessment 2005 2004 10.1742% 24.2958%
was 7.5211 percent. The rate was 2006 2005 9.2312% 23.6870%
d:tﬁrmmec.l tl)y dividing t}.le insurer portion 2007 2006 8.7176% 24.0396%
q the Specia Corr.lpe'n.satlon Fund state- 2008 2007 8.6050% 3.8969%
fiscal-year 2014 liability ($61,407,588) by

: C . 2009 2008 8.5347% 23.3185%
the 2012 designated statistical reporting

. . 0, 0,
pure premium reported by all insurers to 2010 2009 8.6636% 22:4319%
the Minnesota Workers' Compensation 2011 2010 8.9013% 22.0264%
Insurers Association ($816,469,038). 2012 2011 8.269% 21.631%
2013 2012 7.5211% 19.9725%

The imputed self-insured assessment rate

was 19.9725 percent. It was determined by dividing the self-insured portion of the Special Compensation Fund
state-fiscal-year 2014 liability ($20,092,412) by the total 2012 indemnity reported by the self-insured employers
($100,600,525).

More information
For further information, contact John Kufus at (651) 284-5179 or john.kufus@state.mn.us.
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EDI, eFROI news and updates

eFROI, EDI trading partners must begin testing before October E D I
This is a reminder that the cut-off date to begin testing for all eFROI and

electronic data interchange (EDI) trading partners is Oct. 1, 2013. All

eFROI and EDI trading partners must complete testing by Dec. 1, 2013, to ELECTRONIC DATA
meet the anticipated Jan. 1, 2014, implementation date for mandatory INTERCHANGE

electronic filing of the First Report of Injury (FROI) form in Minnesota.

To begin testing EDI submissions or the eFROI Web portal, see Section 4 of the
state of Minnesota Electronic Filing of First Report of Injury Implementation Guide
for the necessary steps to follow (www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Edi.asp). The Minnesota
electronic trading partner profile is available on the Department of Labor and
Industry’s (DLI's) website at www.workplace.doli.state.mn.us/ediprofile.

e~R0O|

ELECTRONIC FIRST

eFROI Web portal available for submission of FROI data RT OF INJURY

The eFROI Web portal is a Web-based program that allows a trading partner to submit a FROI electronically
through the use of an online form without the need to understand file format requirements of EDI. The
eFROI Web portal was made available for use mid-July. Any reporting entity planning to utilize eFROI
instead of EDI should note the section above regarding applicable deadlines and instructions for submitting
a trading partner profile to the department.

Updated Electronic Filing of First Report of Injury Implementation Guide

The existing state of Minnesota Electronic Filing of First Report of Injury Implementation Guide has been
revised to include provisions for the eFROI Web portal submission of electronic FROI information and
requirements for new data elements related to the Work Week Type Code and Work Days Scheduled Code.

The revised guide is available on the department’s website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Edi.asp. Also available
on the website is additional information regarding the mandatory EDI/eFROI implementation, including
frequently asked questions.

Any questions, comments or concerns regarding implementation can be directed to the EDI/eFROI
Implementation Team at dli.edi@state.mn.us.

Proposed amendments to rules governing work comp rules of practice related to electronic filing of the FROI
The department published a notice of rulemaking about the proposed rules related to electronic filing of
first reports of injury on July 29, 2013. The comment period ended at 4:30 p.m., Aug. 28, 2013. No requests
for hearing were received, so there will be no hearing on Sept. 9. Pending approval by an administrative law
judge, the anticipated effective date is Jan. 1, 2014. Information about the rule adoption process is on the
DLI docket page, with the proposed rules, at www.dli.mn.gov/PDF/docket/5220_25_29_Docket.pdf.

DLI also maintains specialty and rulemaking email lists to which interested parties may subscribe. Two
specialty email lists that may be of interest for those reporting entities affected by the mandate to submit
FROI data electronically are workers’ compensation adjuster information and workers’ compensation EDI
trading partners. Learn more about DLI’s specialty email lists, subscribe or review previously sent
messages online at www.dli.mn.gov/EmailLists.asp.

The rulemaking lists are required to be maintained for people who have registered with the agency to
receive notices of agency rule proceedings. Learn more or subscribe to the workers’ compensation
rulemaking list at www.dli.mn.gov/Rulemaking.asp.
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New benefit and provider fee levels effective October 2013

By Brian Zaidman, Research Analyst, Research and Statistics, and Kate Berger, General Counsel

The statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) effective Oct. 1, 2013, is $945, a 3.17 percent increase from
the current SAWW of $916, which has been in effect since Oct. 1, 2012. (See the table below.) The levels for
minimum and maximum weekly benefit payments are presented in the table on page 10. The statewide
annual average wage will change to $49,134 on Jan. 1, 2014.

Statewide average weekly wage

The new SAWW is based on 2012 payroll and employment figures Effective Oct. 1 of the indicated year
supplied by the Department of Employment and Economic S Percent
Development and the calculation procedure in Minnesota Statutes average  change from
§ 176.011, subd. 1b. The change in the SAWW is the basis for the weekly wage  prior year
M.S. § 176.645 annual benefit adjustment. The time of the first 1999 ... $615. ... 6.22%
adjustment is limited by M.S. § 176.645, subd. 2. AT - cmeenzee $642......ennnn 4.39%
2001............ $680............ 5.92%
Pursuant to Minnesota Rules 5220.1900, subp. 1b, the maximum qualified gggg ''''''''' :;(1)2 """""""" 2533
s . R T NI T Y41 VLV [ SRRy (1 X o (e a 0
rehabilitation consultant (QRC) hourly fee will increase by 3 percent, 2004 $740... 3 06%
t0 $99.47 Oct. 1, 2013. The maximum hourly rate for rehabilitation job 2005............ $774 .. 4.59%
development and placement services, whether provided by rehabilitation 2006............ $782............ 1.03%

0,
vendors or by QRC firms, will increase to $75.51 on Oct. 1, 2013. Notice of 588; """""" iggg """""" ggg;‘j
the increase will be published in the State Register on Sept. 3,2013. 2000 $878......... . 3.00%

2010............ $868........... -1.14%
This year there are two adjustments to the workers' compensation 2011 ... $896............ 3.23%
medical fee Schedule Conversion factors_ 2012 ............ $916 ............ 2.23%
2013............ $945............ 3.17%

1. Conversion factor adjustment based on updated relative value

units (RVUs) and rules: Pursuant to M.S.§ 176.136, subd. 1a, paragraph (h), the Department of Labor and
Industry (DLI) is updating the fee schedule by incorporating by reference the 2013 Medicare RVUs. The Notice
of Incorporation by Reference of the 2013 Relative Value Tables was published in the State Register on July
29,2013; itis also on page 11 of this publication. Rule amendments to implement the new RVU tables have
been approved by an administrative law judge at the Office of Administrative Hearings and will be published
in the State Register on Sept. 3, 2013. A link to the corresponding rule amendments is at www.dli.mn.gov/Pdf/
docket/5219_5221_rules.pdf.

As required by M.S. § 176.136, subd. 1a, paragraph (g)(2), DLI has adjusted the conversion factors so that overall
payment for services covered under both the old and new RVUs will be the same under both sets of RVUs.! As
required by law, DLI has done this separately for each of the four categories of services listed below.

On average, the new RVUs are higher than the old RVUs for the medical/surgical, physical medicine/
rehabilitation and chiropractic services categories; the new RVUs are lower than the old RVUs for
pathology/laboratory services. Therefore, to achieve overall payment neutrality for each group, the new
conversion factors are lower than the old conversion factors for the first three groups indicated and
higher for pathology/laboratory services.?

'For this calculation, DLI used a deidentified database of Minnesota workers' compensation medical services, charges and related data. The database
was a 20-percent sample from the Minnesota Workers' Compensation Medical Data Call, provided to DLI by the Minnesota Workers' Compensation
Insurers Association.

%In addition, the new conversion factors incorporate a correction for an error discovered in the old ones. The error resulted from a programming error
made in 2010 when the RVUs were last updated. This error affected the set of services selected for the calculation for each group. The resulting conversion
factor error was less than 1 percent for medical/surgical and physical medicine/rehabilitation services, and zero for chiropractic services. For pathology/
laboratory services, the conversion factor was 14 percent lower than it should have been. These errors are corrected in the new conversion factors.
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2. Conversion factor annual adjustment: M.S. § 176.136, subd. 1a, paragraph (g)(1) provides for annual
adjustment of the medical fee schedule conversion factors by no more than the percent change in the SAWW.
As in previous years, DLI is adjusting the new conversion factors (computed as described above) by the
percent change in the Producer Price Index for Offices of Physicians (PPI-P) between 2011 and 2012
(annual-average basis).? This change is +1.2 percent.

A table showing the above adjustments to the conversion factors is on the Department of Labor
and Industry website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Pdf/conversion_factors_0813.pdf. As a result of the
adjustments, for services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2013, the new conversion factors will be:

e medical/surgical services in part 5221.4030.....cccuereererreenmerseereseessessessesssessessesssessesssesssssesssssesssessssans $64.69
e pathology/laboratory services in part 5221.4040 ......coererermeereesneenreeseesseeeessessessesssessessesssessesssessesans $55.68
e physical medicine/rehabilitation services in part 5221.4050......cccooereneneenserseemesseesseesseesesssesseeens $48.88
e chiropractic services in part 5221.4060 ..o $48.83

IME fee adjustments

Minnesota Rules, part 5219.0500, subp. 4, provides for adjustment of the maximum fees for independent
medical examinations (IMEs) in the same manner as the adjustment of the conversion factor. Therefore,
the maximum IME fees will increase by 1.2 percent for services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2013.

All of the above referenced documents are also online at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/HealthCareProv.asp.

3The PPI, produced by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by producers for their output.
The annual PPI-P and the associated annual changes (using industry code 62111 - offices of physicians) are available at www.bls.gov/ppi/data.htm.

New online process available for submission of dispute certification requests

The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has
launched a new online process enabling attorneys to
submit dispute certification requests electronically
to the department. Dispute certification requests
have been submitted to DLI since 1995, as a result of
legislation requiring DLI to certify that certain
medical and vocational rehabilitation issues are
actually disputed before attorney fees are claimed.

The online dispute certification process became
available for use Aug. 2. All applicable statutes
regarding dispute certification requests submitted
in conventional paper formats apply to requests
submitted electronically via DLI's website. Data
submitted electronically will be accepted as
received only during regular DLI business hours, 8
a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Central Time), Monday through
Friday, excluding holidays. Data received after 4:30
p.m. or on a Saturday, Sunday or state holiday will
be electronically date-stamped for the next
business day DLI is open.

According to the most recent Minnesota Workers'
Compensation System Report, during 2011, DLI
issued about 6,300 dispute certification decisions,
an 85 percent increase since 1999. The report also
indicates that during 2011, more than 2,100
medical and vocational rehabilitation claims were
resolved during the dispute certification process.

The online process can be accessed online at
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/dispute.

Questions about the online dispute certification

Online submission of dispute certification requests submission process may be directed DLI's

is available exclusively to attorneys. It is intended to
eliminate inherent delays and costs associated with
attorneys' submission of paper dispute certification
requests. However, use of this online filing process is
optional; attorneys can continue to file dispute
certification requests in conventional paper formats.

@ 9 . COMPACT - August 2013

Alternative Dispute Resolution unit by phone at
(651) 284-5032 or 1-800-342-5354.

Additional information about the dispute

certification process is available on the DLI website
at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/DispRes.asp.
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MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF

LABOR & INDUSTRY

WORKERS' COMPENSATION DIVISION

)

Notice of incorporation by reference of relative value tables

Whereas;

Minnesota Statutes, 176.136, subd. 1a paragraph (h), clause (2) (2012) requires the commissioner to, at
least every three years, update the workers’ compensation relative value tables in the workers’
compensation fee schedule in Minnesota Rules, Chapter 5221, by incorporating by reference the relative
value tables in the national physician fee schedule relative value file established by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Each notice of incorporation must state the date the incorporated
tables will become effective and must include information about how the Medicare relative value tables
may be obtained.

Therefore, notice is hereby given that the following relative value tables, revised by CMS on April 16,
2013, are incorporated by reference, effective for workers’ compensation health care services provided
on or after Oct. 1, 2013:

The files GPCI2013 and PPRRVU13.V0215_04162013 found in RVU13B [ZIP, 3MB] on the “PFS
Relative Value Files” page on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services website, currently at
www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/PhysicianFeeSched /PFS-Relative-
Value-Files-Items/RVU13B.html?DLPage=1&DLSort=0&DLSortDir=descending.

Additional information about how to access these tables is available on the department’s website at
www.dli.mn.gov/WC/HealthCareProv.asp.

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.136, subd. 1a paragraphs (g) and (h), notice of amendments to rules to
implement the above incorporated tables will be published in the State Register in September 2013.

_/s/
Ken B. Peterson, DLI Commissioner
July 17,2013
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CompFact
Duration of indemnity claims by worker age

By Brian Zaidman, Research and Statistics

The time length of workers’ compensation indemnity claims - the number of days from the date of injury
until a closing document is filed - varies according to many different factors. While the medical severity of
the injury or illness is probably the most important factor affecting claim duration, many other factors are
also important, including the worker’s age, complicating health conditions, the type of work involved and
claim disputes.

The figure below shows the mean and median claim duration by worker age for claims with injuries in
2003 and later and that closed in 2009, 2010 or 2011. A total of 67,100 claims were included. The median
claim duration is the data point at which half of the workers have a lower value and half have a higher
value. The number of claims by age group varied from 19,800 claims for workers between 45 and 54
years of age to 1,900 claims for workers age 65 and older.

The overall median claim duration was 170 days (5.7 months). The overall mean claim duration was 395
days (13.0 months). The mean value is affected by a relatively few claims with very long durations.

Both the mean and median claim duration increase with age, reaching the longest duration for workers
between 45 and 54 years old. The median claim duration for workers between 45 and 54 years old is
nearly six times longer than the median for workers age 24 and younger, and it is three times longer than
the median for workers between 25 and 34 years old. The mean and median claim duration values
decrease as worker age increases beyond 54 years.

Median duration of indemnity claims by worker age at injury, claims closed in 2009-2011

500
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More resources from DLI:
newsletters, specialty and rulemaking email lists

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) offers three quarterly publications in addition to
COMPACT: Apprenticeship Works, CCLD Review and Safety Lines.

e Apprenticeship Works is the newsletter from DLI's
Apprenticeship unit. Its purpose is to inform the public
of the goals, plans and progress of the Apprenticeship
unit. Learn more or subscribe online at
www.dli.mn.gov/Appr/Works.asp.

e CCLD Review is the newsletter from DLI's Construction
Codes and Licensing Division. Its purpose is to promote
safe, healthy work and living environments in Minnesota
and to inform construction and code professionals about
the purpose, plans and progress of the division. Learn
more or subscribe online at
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLDReview.asp.

e Safety Lines, from Minnesota OSHA, promotes
occupational safety and health, and informs readers of
the purpose, plans and progress of Minnesota OSHA.
Learn more or subscribe at
www.dli.mn.gov/OSHA/SafetyLines.asp.

DLI also maintains five specialty email lists and 11 rulemaking email lists to which interested parties may
subscribe. The specialty email lists are: prevailing-wage information; workers' compensation adjuster
information; workers' compensation EDI trading partners; workers' compensation medical providers
information; and workers' compensation rehabilitation information. Learn more about DLI's specialty
email lists, subscribe or review previously sent messages online at www.dli.mn.gov/EmailLists.asp.

The rulemaking lists are required to be maintained for people who have registered with the agency to
receive notices of agency rule proceedings. The rulemaking lists topic areas are: apprenticeship; boats/
boats-for-hire; electrical; fire code; high-pressure piping; independent contractor; labor standards/
prevailing wage; Minnesota OSHA; plumbing; state building code; and workers' compensation. Learn
more or subscribe at www.dli.mn.gov/Rulemaking.asp.

Subscribing to COMPACT

To subscribe to or unsubscribe from the COMPACT email list, visit
https://webmail.mnet.state.mn.us/mailman/listinfo/wc-compact.

Subscribers receive emailed notice about editions of the quarterly workers'
compensation newsletter and other periodic updates from DLI.
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Fall 2013 training opportunities

ADJUSTER TRAINING INNMINNESOTA

Basic adjuster's training — One session leftin 2013: Oct. 17 and 18, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This training is recommended for claim adjusters who have less than one year of experience in Minnesota
workers’ compensation. Topics include:

¢ Overview of Minnesota work comp * Waiting period
e Liability determination ¢ Indemnity benefits
e Rehabilitation benefits and issues e Medical benefits and issues
e Penalties e Dispute resolution
e How to file forms e Participants questions
CEU credits

This educational offering is recognized by the Minnesota commissioner of commerce as satisfying 10.5 hours of
credit toward continuing insurance education requirements.

Location, cost, registration
Training is at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155.
The cost is $150 for the two-day session (includes lunch). Participants must pre-register and pre-pay at

https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx?eid=15. Early registration is encouraged. The session is
limited to 28 people. Classes will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. The Department of Labor and
Industry reserves the right to cancel a session if there are not enough participants registered.

ADJUSTER TRAINING IN THE CHICAGO AND KANSAS CITY AREAS

Out-of-state adjuster training — Two cities; one full-day and one half-day; take one or both

Each location will have a full day of condensed basic adjuster's training, followed by a half day for questions
and answers. At each location, participants can attend either session or both sessions.

Full day (first day, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.) Half day (second day; 8:30 a.m. to noon)
¢ Waiting period e Forms/filing refresher
e Liability determination ¢ Denials of liability
¢ Indemnity benefits e Communication with DLI and OAH
¢ How to file forms  Resolving disputes
¢ Penalties ¢ Questions and answers

Locations, cost, registration

Training will be in Illinois on Oct. 14 and 15, at Zurich North America, 1400 American Lane Tower 1, Second
Floor, Schaumburg, IL 60196; and in Kansas on Oct. 1 and 2, at Ace/ESIS, 7450 W. 130th Street, Suite 400,
Overland Park, KS 66213. The cost is $75 for the full day, $35 for the half day. Meals will be on your own. Free
parking is available on-site at each location.

All participants must pre-register and pre-pay for each session they wish to attend; registration is online-
only at https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events. Early registration is encouraged. Classes will be filled on a
first-come, first-served basis. Registration for each session at each location ends one week prior to the
session. The Department of Labor and Industry reserves the right to cancel sessions at any of the locations if
there are not enough participants who have paid. Final confirmation of the training sessions will be sent via
email to registrants one week prior to each session. It is recommended flights not be booked until locations
and seminars are confirmed.

If you need special accommodations to enable you to participate in these events
or have questions about this training, call Jim Vogel at (651) 284-5265.
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Eager vs. Hugen Transit, April 1,2013

Discontinuance
Temporary Partial Disability

For an injury that occurred prior to the 1983 amendments, the employer and insurer are not entitled to
discontinue temporary partial disability benefits where an employee is temporarily disabled from post-
injury employment due to an unrelated personal medical condition, but he is later able to return to the
same post-injury employment, and the personal medical condition does not alter the employee’s ability to
work or earning capacity as related to the work injury.

Reversed.
Kainz vs. Arrowhead Senior Living Cmty, April 1,2013

Arising Out Of and In The Course Of
The compensation judge did not err in determining that the employee’s ankle injury, which occurred on
a stairway in the employee’s facility, arose out of her employment when considering the case under the
work-connection balancing test.
Affirmed.

Olson vs. Dart Distrib., Inc., April 4,2013

Calculation of Benefits - Adjustment of Benefits
Statutes Construed - Minnesota Statutes §§ 176.101, Subd. 4, and 176.645

The plain meaning of Minnesota Statutes § 176.101, subd. 4, requires calculation of permanent total
disability by determining “66-2/3 percent of the daily wage at the time of the injury” subject to a
maximum and minimum established at that time. The compensation rate is then adjusted pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes § 176.645 and not based on adjustments to the statewide average weekly wage.

Affirmed.
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Worrell vs. Eickhoff Enters, April 9, 2013
Permanent Total Disability - Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including lay testimony, rehabilitation and medical records, and expert vocational
testimony, supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee is permanently totally disabled.

Affirmed.
Schintz vs. Ratner Steel Company, April 9,2013

Practice and Procedure - Adequacy of Findings
Causation - Temporary Injury

A remand for reconsideration and additional findings was required where adequate review was not
possible without an express finding as to the nature of the employee’s work injury and where the judge
made no such finding.
Reversed and remanded.
Huebbe vs. Dairy Farmers of AM, April 16,2013

Causation - Gillette Injury
Given the lack of medical evidence and the independent medical examiner’s failure to explain why or how

he reached his conclusion as to the occurrence of a disputed injury, the judge’s Gillette injury finding was
clearly erroneous and unsupported by substantial evidence.

Reversed.
Santiago-Clemente vs. Alside Supply Ctr., April 16,2013

Evidence - Credibility
Evidence - Expert Medical Opinion

Substantial evidence, including the credible testimony of the employee and the opinion of the employee’s
treating orthopedist from 2010 to 2012, supports the compensation judge’s determination that the
employee has not fully recovered from his Feb. 13, 2009, injury to his left shoulder and left knee, that he
continues to have work restrictions that affect his ability to work, and that he is entitled to additional
wage loss and medical benefits.

Affirmed.
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Schuette vs. City of Hutchinson, April 18,2013

Causation - Psychological Injury
Mental Injury

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s determination that the employee’s post-
traumatic stress disorder was not compensable under Lockwood v. Independent School District No. 877,
312 N.W.2d 924, 34 W.C.D. 305 (Minn. 1981).
Affirmed.
Wald vs. Walgreens Corp., April 25,2013
Medical Treatment and Expense - Treatment Parameters
Where there was substantial evidence in support of the compensation judge’s conclusion that a Med-X
program, as recommended, was effective in improving the employee’s functional status, the compensation
judge’s conclusion that the employee’s circumstances qualify as a “rare case exception” to the treatment
parameters under the Jacka case is affirmed.
Affirmed.
Callaway vs. McDonald’s Rests. of Minn., Inc., April 29, 2013
Causation - Pre-existing Condition
Substantial evidence, including expert opinion, supported the judge’s conclusion that the employee’s
ongoing disability and need for treatment were related to the employee’s pre-existing condition and not
to the employee’s work injuries.
Halls vs. Minnesota Swarm LaCrosse/Arlo Sports, April 30,2013
Jurisdiction - Subject Matter
The compensation judge lacked jurisdiction to grant a credit or offset to the employer and insurer
for Minnesota workers’ compensation benefits they paid during the time that the employee was also
receiving unemployment and/or sickness benefits from the Canadian government, and we reverse.
Reversed.
Isler vs. Domino’s Pizza, LLC, May 13,2013

Causation - Permanent Injury

Substantial evidence, consisting of the employee’s credible testimony and a well-founded medical opinion,
supports the compensation judge’s decision that the employee’s work injury was permanent.
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Medical Treatment and Expense - Reasonable and Necessary

Medical records and the employee’s testimony provide substantial evidentiary support for the compensation
judge’s determination that the employee’s medical treatment was reasonable and necessary.

Affirmed.
Zobel vs. Litifin Lumbar Co., May 16,2013
Vacation of Award - Substantial Change in Condition

The employee established good cause for vacation of the Nov. 6, 1985, award on stipulation on the ground
of a substantial change in medical condition.

Petition to vacate award on stipulation granted.
Jerikovsky vs. Lakes & Pines Cmty. Action Council, May 22,2013

Causation - Substantial Evidence
Temporary Total Disability — Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including medical records, lay testimony and expert medical opinion, supported the
findings that the employee’s right shoulder condition was causally related to her 2006 work injury and that
it remained a substantial contributing cause of her disability and wage loss.

Medical Treatment and Expense - Change of Physician
Rules Construed - Minnesota Rules 5221.0430, Subp. 4

Having accepted the surgical recommendations of the current treating physicians to be reasonable and
necessary, the compensation judge did not clearly err in concluding that it would not be in the parties’ best
interests to grant a change of physicians to the one physician who did not agree with the diagnoses on which
the surgical recommendation was based.
Affirmed.
Ricke vs. Plantenberg Mkt., May 23, 2013
Evidence - Res Judicata

Where the employee did not raise the application of the doctrine of res judicata at the hearing below,
and as a general rule, issues raised for the first time on appeal are not properly before this court, the
employee’s arguments regarding the doctrine of res judicata are not addressed.

Causation - Substantial Evidence
Substantial evidence, including adequately founded medical opinion, supports the compensation judge’s

finding that the employee’s 2002 and 2005 work-related injuries while with the employer were not
substantial contributing factors to the employee’s current disability and need for treatment.
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Permanent Partial Disability - Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee did not sustain
additional permanent partial disability related to his work injuries with the employer.

Affirmed.
Harvey vs. Central Lutheran Church, May 28, 2013

Causation - Medical Treatment
Causation - Permanent Injury

Where the independent medical examiner opined that the employee reached maximum medical improvement
six weeks after her work injuries, with no other evidentiary support for the six-week timeline and with no
indication that the employee’s injuries had resolved, it was error for the compensation judge to find that the
employee’s injuries had resolved within six weeks.
Reversed and remanded.
Klennert vs. Sng Const., May 29, 2013
Vacation of Award - Mistake

Where both parties to a settlement understood that, according to medical information at the time of
settlement, the employee’s low back surgery had been successful resulting in a solid fusion and where in
fact, the surgery had not been successful and additional surgery was necessary, a mutual mistake of fact was
made by the parties that supports vacating the parties’ settlement.
Petition to vacate award on stipulation granted.
Conklin vs. Mary Jane Brown Good Samaritan Ctr., June 3, 2013

Causation - Permanent Injury
Substantial evidence, in the form of the employee’s credible testimony and well-founded medical opinion,
supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee sustained a permanent work injury to her
low back.

Medical Treatment and Expense - Surgery

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s approval of fusion surgery as recommended by
the employee’s treating doctor.

Affirmed.
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Stevens-Stevenson vs. Greater Lake Country Foods, June 4,2013

Causation - Consequential Injury
Substantial evidence, including expert opinion, supported the compensation judge’s decision that the
altered gait caused by the employee’s work-related ankle injury led the employee to develop hip and low
back problems.
Affirmed.

Gunderson vs. McNeilus Cos., June 5,2013

Causation - Gillette Injury

Substantial evidence, including expert medical opinion, supports the compensation judge’s finding that
the employee failed to establish that he sustained Gillette injuries in April 2009 and in June 2010.

Causation - Psychological Condition

Substantial evidence, including expert medical opinion, supports the compensation judge’s finding that
the employee did not sustain a consequential psychological condition due to his work-related injury and
was not entitled to permanent partial disability benefits for a psychological condition.

Affirmed.
Nester vs. Luoma Egg Ranch, June 11,2013
Attorney Fees

Where the record contains no evidence that the services of the employee’s previous attorney contributed
to the ultimate settlement by the employee’s subsequent attorney, but where the subsequent attorney has
not objected to the compensation judge’s award of a fee to the previous attorney from the settlement, the
compensation judge’s decision is affirmed.

Affirmed.
Sander vs. Alexandria Concrete Co., June 10,2013
Permanent Partial Disability - Combined Ratings

Where the rule in question, Minnesota Rules 5223.0650, subp. 2.C., applies specifically to cosmetic
disfigurement of the eyes, including the eyebrow and eyelid ratings received by the employee, and it
states that any such rating “may be combined with any additional rating as provided in part 5223.0330,
if visual impairment is present,” the plain language of the rule does not make a specific allowance for
addition instead of combination of ratings, and the compensation judge did not err in combining ratings
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 176.105, subd. 4, and Minnesota Rules 5223.0300, subp. 3.E.
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Permanent Partial Disability
Statutes Construed Minnesota Statutes § 176.101, Subd. 2a.(b)
Commencement of Payment
Statutes Construed - Minnesota Statutes § 176.021, Subd. 3

Although permanent partial disability benefits were payable upon cessation of temporary total disability
benefits for the employee’s date of injury pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 176.101, subd. 2a.(b),
substantial evidence supported the compensation judge’s finding that the total amount of permanency in
dispute was not ascertainable until March 2012 and that payments of the currently disputed permanent
partial disability benefits properly commenced at that time pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 176.021,
subd. 3, which was also in effect at the time of the employee’s injury.

Applicable Law
Statutes Construed - Minnesota Statutes § 176.101, Subd. 2a.(b)

As specifically stated by the Legislature, the lump-sum payment provision of Minnesota Statutes §
176.101, subd. 2a.(b), enacted in 2000, does not apply to the employee’s date of injury.

Calculation of Benefits - Adjustment of Benefits
Statutes Construed - Minnesota Statutes § 176.645, Subd. 1

Where the plain language of Minnesota Statutes § 176.645, subd. 1, does not allow for adjustment of
permanent partial disability payments, even though said payments are being made at the employee’s
weekly compensation rate pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 176.101, subd. 2a.(b), as it existed at the
time of the employee’s injury, the compensation judge did not err in determining that the employee is not
entitled to adjustment of his permanent partial disability benefits.

Affirmed.
Bayliss vs. National Steel Pellet Co., June 11,2013

Medical Treatment and Expense - Reasonable and Necessary
Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s determination that the 2010 MRI scans of the
brain and neck were reasonable diagnostic tests necessary to determine if the employee’s headaches
were a continuing product of the neck injuries and to determine additional treatment for the neck
condition.

Medical Treatment and Expense - Treatment Parameters

Where the employer and insurer admitted primary liability for two injuries and denied primary liability
for another, the employer and insurer are not allowed to apply the treatment parameters to treatment

that is subsequently found to be related, at least in part, to the denied injury.

Affirmed.
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Armstrong vs. RJ Sport & Cycle, June 18,2013

Apportionment - Equitable
Statutes Construed - Minnesota Statutes § 176.191

Where the appellants denied liability for any portion of the employee’s disability for the time period at
issue, Minnesota Statutes § 176.191 does not apply and the compensation judge did not err by addressing
the contribution claim since that statute only applies where the sole dispute is how responsibility for
benefits should be allocated among employers and their respective insurers when all are liable for
employee’s disability for the period at issue.

Apportionment - Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including expert medical opinion and medical records, supports the compensation
judge’s finding that both of the employee’s work injuries were substantial contributing factors to the
employee’s low back condition and his determination of equitable apportionment. Substantial evidence
also supports the compensation judge’s reliance on the exhibits of payments to support the award of
reimbursement.

Affirmed.
Jakubek vs. Oneida Bldg. Servs., June 24,2013

Attorney Fees - Irwin Fees
Attorney Fees - Excess Fees

Where the statutory maximum fee of $13,000 already had been paid for the employee’s injury, the
compensation judge properly found that all additional fees for legal services related to the same injury
were hourly excess fees and must be determined utilizing the seven factors enumerated in Irwin v.
Surdyk’s Liquor, 599 N.W.2nd 132, 59 W.C.D. 319 (Minn. 1999).

Affirmed.
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Larry Vandenberg v. Swanson & Youngdale, Inc., A12-1848, May 8, 2013

Decision of the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals filed and served on Sept. 18, 2012, be, and the
same is, affirmed without opinion.

Raul Ruiz Arroyo v. Life Science Innovations, A12-1397, April 10,2013

Decision of the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals filed and served on July 12, 2012, be, and the
same is, affirmed without opinion.
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