
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  



 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Workers’ Compensation Division 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, MN  55155 
 
 
 
December 2015 
 
The total estimated cost of publishing this report is $3,000. 
 
Additional copies of this report are available by calling the Workers’ 
Compensation Division at (651) 284-5030 or 1-800-342-5354. 
 
Information in this report can be obtained in alternative formats by calling the 
department at 1-800-342-5354. 

 

 
Visit the Department of Labor and Industry website at www.dli.mn.gov. 



Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Fiscal-year 2015 Prompt First Action Report 
 
 
 

Table of contents 
 

 

 

Introduction  ...........................................................................................................................1 

 

Department actions upon receipt of the data  .........................................................................1 

 

Explanation of the Prompt First Action Report table  ...........................................................2 

 

Conclusion  ............................................................................................................................2 

 

Prompt First Action Report table 

 

Appendices 

 

 Appendix A:  First Report of Injury form 

 

 Appendix B:  Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination form 

 

 Appendix C:  Sample letter to insurers 

 

 Appendix D:  Sample notices to insurers 



Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Fiscal-year 2015 Prompt First Action Report 
 



Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Fiscal-year 2015 Prompt First Action Report 
 

1 

Introduction 
 

The 1995 Minnesota Legislature passed Minnesota Statutes § 176.223 that states in part the 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry “... shall publish an annual report providing data 

on the promptness of all insurers and self-insurers in making first payments on a claim for injury. 

The report shall identify all insurers and self-insurers and state the percentage of first payments 

made within 14 days from the date the employer was notified of claimed lost time beyond the 

waiting period for each of the insurers and self-insurers. The report shall also list the total 

number of claims and the number of claims paid within the 14-day standard.” Because the 

insurer’s responsibility for promptness lies also with the denial of a claim, the Prompt First 

Action Report on Workers’ Compensation Claims combines data related to the promptness of 

first payments and denials. 

 

Minnesota Statutes § 176.231, Subdivision 1, states, “Where ... injury occurs which wholly or 

partly incapacitates the injured worker from performing labor or service for more than three 

calendar days, the employer shall report the injury to the insurer on a form prescribed by the 

commissioner within ten days from its occurrence. An insurer and self-insured employer shall 

report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from its occurrence.” 

 

Minnesota Statutes § 176.221, Subdivision 1, states, “Within 14 days of notice to or knowledge 

by the employer of an injury compensable under this chapter the payment of temporary total 

compensation shall commence.” This statute also gives insurers the same 14-day deadline to 

deny the claim and to communicate this decision to the injured worker and the department. 

Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2540, Subpart 1, further applies this 14-day deadline to the first 

payment or denial of temporary partial benefits. 

 

Department actions upon receipt of the data 
 

The Department of Labor and Industry evaluates data submitted on the First Report of Injury and 

the Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination forms to determine whether the first 

payment or denial of benefits is timely. The First Report of Injury form is used to report claimed 

work-related injuries and illnesses to the department. The Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability 

Determination form is used by the insurer to report the acceptance or denial of the claim and to 

communicate information about the payment of benefits. It is also used to clarify or change 

information previously submitted on the First Report of Injury form. 

 

If, during the evaluation, the data is inconclusive, a letter asking for the missing or incomplete 

data is sent to the insurer (see Appendix C). A list of claims where the first actions were believed 

to be untimely is sent to each insurer quarterly. A review period of approximately 30 days is 

allowed to refute the accuracy of the department’s data. 

 

After the report is published each year, insurers that had any claims listed in the report for the 

current fiscal-year are notified of their performance in comparison to all insurance companies, 

self-insured employers and the system as a whole. For those insurers with a significant number 

of claims that have a performance level substantially above or below the average, the notices 

provide additional information (see Appendix D). 
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Explanation of Prompt First Action Report table 
 

The Prompt First Action Report table identifies insurance companies and self-insured employers 

that filed lost-time claims for the previous five fiscal-years (July 1 through June 30) and the 

number and percentage of those claims that were paid or denied within the statutory 14-day 

deadline. This report includes claims received during each fiscal-year with claimed lost time 

beyond the three-calendar-day waiting period. These claims do not include asbestosis and other 

litigated claims in which the lost-time determination is inconclusive at the time this report is 

published. 

 

Conclusion 
 

In fiscal-year 2015, 89.8 percent of the 23,559 lost-time claims had a timely first action. This 

percentage is slightly higher than fiscal-year 2014, where 89.6 percent of the 24,116 lost-time 

claims had a timely first action. 

 

The department’s Workers’ Compensation Division anticipates increased use of technology, 

electronic data exchange and early intervention will maintain or improve the overall first action 

timeliness percentage. 



MN Department of Labor and Industry 
Workers’ Compensation Division 
PO Box 64221 
St. Paul, MN  55164-0221 
(651) 284-5032 or 1-800-342-5354 
Fax: (651) 284-5731 

First Report of Injury 
See Instructions on Reverse Side 

PRINT IN INK or TYPE 
ENTER DATES IN MM/DD/YYYY FORMAT 

1. EMPLOYEE SOCIAL SECURITY # 2. OSHA case # 3. Time employee began
work on date of injury am 

pm 
4. DATE OF CLAIMED INJURY 5. Time

of injury am 

pm 

6. Date of death # of dependents (if death 
is related to injury) 

7. EMPLOYEE Name (last, suffix, first, middle) 8. Gender
 M  F 

9. Marital
status  Married

 Unmarried 
10. Home address 11. Home phone # 12. Date of birth 13. Date hired

City State Zip Code 14. Occupation 15. Regular department 16. Apprentice
 

Yes No 
17. Average weekly wage 18. Rate per

hour 
19. Hours per
day 

20. Days per
week 

Normal work schedule Sun - Sat 
   S          M          T         W          T          F          S 

21. Employment
status (check all 
that apply) 

Full time 

Seasonal 

Part time 

 Volunteer 
22. Tell us how the injury/illness occurred, what the employee was doing before the incident (give details), and what the injury/illness was.  Examples:  “Worker was driving 
lift truck with a pallet of boxes when the truck tipped, pinning worker’s left leg under drive shaft.”  “Worker developed soreness in left wrist over time from daily computer key entry.”

23. What was the injury or illness (include the part(s) of body)?  Examples:
chemical burn left hand, broken left leg, carpal tunnel syndrome in left wrist. 

24. What tools, equipment, machines, objects, or substances were involved?
Examples:  chlorine, hand sprayer, pallet lift truck, computer keyboard. 

25. Did injury occur on employer’s premises?
Yes   No 

Name and address of the place of the occurrence 

26. Date of first day of any lost time 27. Employer paid for lost time on day of injury (DOI)
 Yes  No  No lost time on DOI 

28. Date employer notified of injury 29. Date employer notified of lost time

30. Return to work date 31. RTW same employer
 Yes  No 

32. RTW with restrictions
 Yes  No 

33. Treating physician (name) 34. Extent of medical treatment (check all that apply)
None   Minor on-site by employer’s medical staff  Minor clinic/hospital 

Emergency room Hospitalization more than 24 hours 

Future major medical anticipated 

35. Certified Managed Care Organization (if any)

36. EMPLOYER Legal name 37. EMPLOYER DBA name (if different)

38. Mailing address 39. Employer FEIN 40. Unemployment ID #

City State Zip Code 41. Employer’s contact name and phone #

42. Physical address (if different) 43. Witness (name and phone) - if more than 1 attach a separate sheet

City State Zip Code 44. NAICS code 45. Date form completed

46. INSURER name 51. CLAIMS ADMIN COMPANY (CA) name (check one)  Insurer 

 TPA 
47. Insured legal name and FEIN 52. CA address

48. Policy # (including effective dates) or self-insured certificate # City State Zip Code 

49. Insurer FEIN 50. Date insurer received notice 53. CA FEIN 54. CA claim #

55. To be completed
by the CA: Claim type code: Type of loss code: Late reason code: Salary paid in lieu of comp? Death result of injury? 

FR01

DO NOT USE THIS SPACE 

MN FR01 (12/13) Employer: Send copies to Insurer (or Workers’ Compensation Division if no insurer), employee, and employee’s union (if applicable) 



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS TO THE EMPLOYER 

Employers, not employees, are responsible for completing this form. The information is needed to determine liability and entitlement 
to benefits. You must file this form with your insurer, and give a copy to the employee and the employee’s local union office. You are 
required to provide the employee with a copy of the Employee Information Sheet, which is available on the Department of Labor and 
Industry’s web site at www.dli.mn.gov.  

Filing this form is not an admission of liability. You must report a claim to your insurer whenever anyone believes that a work-
related injury or illness that requires medical care or where lost time from work has occurred. If the claimed injury wholly or partially 
incapacitates the employee for more than three calendar days, the claim must be made on this form and reported to your insurer within 
ten days. Your insurer may require you to file it sooner. Failure to file within the ten days may result in penalties. It is important to file 
this form quickly to allow your insurer time to investigate the claim. Your insurer will report the injury to the Department of Labor and 
Industry (Department), when necessary. Self-insured employers have 14 days to report the injury to the Department, when necessary. 

If the claim involves death or serious injury (including injuries that later result in death), you must notify the Department and your insurer 
within 48 hours of the occurrence. The claim can be reported initially to the Department by telephone (651-284-5041), fax (651-284-
5731), or personal notice. The initial notice must be followed by the filing of this form with the Department within seven days of the 
occurrence. 

SEND THIS FORM TO YOUR INSURER IMMEDIATELY – DO NOT WAIT FOR THE DOCTOR’S REPORT 

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS TO THE EMPLOYER ON COMPLETING THIS FORM 

• Item 2:  OSHA case #. Fill in the case number from the OSHA 300 log. This form contains all items required by the OSHA form 301.
• Items 17-21:  Fill in all the wage information. If the employee does not work a regularly scheduled work week, attach a 26 week

wage statement so your insurer can calculate the appropriate average weekly wage. Attach a separate sheet giving the weekly
value of any meals, lodging, or 2nd income paid to the employee.

• Item 20:  Fill in the average number of days per week that the employee works.  Also include their normal work schedule, Sunday -
Saturday, by checking the appropriate boxes. If the employee’s work schedule fluctuates from week-to-week, leave the boxes blank.

• Items 22-24:  Be as specific as possible in describing: the events causing the injury; the nature of the injury (cut, sprain, burn, etc.),
and the part(s) of body injured (back, arm, etc.); and the tools, equipment, machines, objects or substances involved.

• Item 26:  Fill in the first day the employee lost any time from work (including time lost for medical treatment), even if you paid the
employee for the lost time.

• Item 27:  Check the appropriate box to indicate if there was lost time on the date of injury and whether you paid for that lost time.
• Item 28:  Fill in the date you first became aware of the injury or illness.
• Item 29:  Fill in the date you became aware that the lost time indicated in Item 26 was related to the claimed injury.
• Item 30:  Leave the box blank if the employee has not returned to work by the time you file this form. If the employee has returned to

work, fill in the date and answer the questions in Items 31 and 32. Notify your insurer if the employee misses time due to this injury
after that date.

• Item 34:  Check all the boxes that apply AT the time you file this form.
• Item 39:  Fill in your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). For information, see www.usa.gov/Business/Business-

Gateway.shtml and click on “Get an Employer ID Number”.
• Items 40 and 44:  Fill in your Unemployment ID number and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code, which

are both assigned by the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Program (651-296-6141).
• Items 46-54:  Your insurer or claims administrator will complete this information if you do not have it available.

INSTRUCTIONS TO THE INSURER/CLAIMS ADMINISTRATOR 
(For first reports of injury filed on or after Jan. 1, 2014) 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.231, and Minnesota Rules, part 5220.2530, insurers and self-insured employers must file 
with the Department’s Workers’ Compensation Division an electronic first report of injury, according to the requirements set out in 
sections 2 to 4 of the Minnesota implementation guide, in all cases where a first report of injury is required to be filed under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 176. The Minnesota implementation guide can be found on the Department’s website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Edi.asp.  

A first report of injury submitted by the insurer or self-insured employer in any other manner or format is not considered filed with the 
division, except for a written first report of injury on a paper form filed by a self-insured employer within seven days of death or serious 
injury.  

If the claim does not involve lost time beyond the waiting period or potential permanent partial disability (PPD), or has not been 
requested to be filed by the Department, a first report of injury does not need to be filed. 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or audio.  To request, call (651) 284-5032 or 
1-800-342-5354 Voice or TDD (651) 297-4198. 

ANY PERSON WHO, WITH INTENT TO DEFRAUD, RECEIVES WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS TO WHICH THE 
PERSON IS NOT ENTITLED BY KNOWINGLY MISREPRESENTING, MISSTATING, OR FAILING TO DISCLOSE ANY MATERIAL 
FACT IS GUILTY OF THEFT AND SHALL BE SENTENCED PURSUANT TO SECTION 609.52, SUBDIVISION 3. 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/
http://www.usa.gov/Business/Business-Gateway.shtml
http://www.usa.gov/Business/Business-Gateway.shtml
http://www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Edi.asp


MN NL01 (2/10)  Distribution: Workers’ Compensation Division, Employer, Insurer, Employee/Heirs and Dependents

Amended 

Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination 
See instructions on reverse side. 

PRINT IN INK or TYPE 
Enter dates in MM/DD/YYYY format.   DO NOT USE THIS SPACE  

WID or SSN DATE OF INJURY DATE OF DEATH (if applicable)  

EMPLOYEE (last, first, mi) 

EMPLOYER 

INSURER/SELF-INSURER/TPA

INSURER CLAIM NUMBER 

First date of lost time Date employer notified of this lost time Initial date of return to work Average weekly wage at date of injury 

If the initial return to work was followed by a new period of lost time, complete the following information: 
First date of new Date employer 
period of lost time:  ____________________________________________ notified of this lost time:  ________________________________ 

 1. Your claim is ACCEPTED and wage loss benefits will be paid.

Benefit type:   Temporary Total (TTD)  Temporary Partial (TPD)  Permanent Total (PTD)  Dependency (DEP) 
Date of payment Amount of payment Time period covered with this payment 

Date from Date through 
__ 

Compensation rate 

Any ongoing payments will be made on ____________________ (day of week) at________________________(weekly, biweekly, etc.) intervals. 

 Full wage continuation by the employer under M.S. § 176.221, subd. 9. 

 TPD payment made according to the wage loss verification received by the insurer on __________________________(date).

 Fatality with dependents.  Payment is being made according to dependent information, which must be ATTACHED.

C
he

ck
 a

ll 
th

at
 a

pp
ly

 

 Fatality with no dependents.  Payment is being made to the estate or the Special Compensation Fund.

 2. Your claim is ACCEPTED.  However, wage loss benefits will not be paid at this time for the following reason:

 A. Injury did not cause lost time from work beyond the three calendar day waiting period.  If employee’s work schedule is not  
Monday through Friday, explain: _______________________________________________________________________ 

 B. Verification of reduced wages for TPD has not been received from the employee or employer. 

C
he

ck
 o

nl
y 

on
e 

 C. Other reason (include legal and factual basis):

 3. Primary liability is DENIED for the claimed work related  injury and/or death.  (Check one or both) 

Reason for denial (include legal and factual basis): 

NAME OF THE PERSON MAKING THIS DETERMINATION (print) PHONE NUMBER (area code) EXTENSION DATE SERVED (must be completed) 

N L 0 1



 
INSTRUCTIONS TO EMPLOYEE/HEIRS AND DEPENDENTS 

 
PLEASE KEEP A COPY OF THIS NOTICE FOR YOUR RECORDS 

 
General Information 

 
This liability determination is the opinion of the insurer.  If the claim has been denied, this opinion may not be final.  If you have 
questions about any of the information on this form, you should first contact the person making this determination (see name and 
phone number on the front side of this form).  If you still have questions, contact the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), 
Workers’ Compensation Division’s Benefit Management and Resolution Unit at the office nearest you (listed below).  For the 
hearing impaired, please call our Telecommunication Device for the Deaf (TDD) at (651) 297-4198.  If there are problems with 
your claim, there are several options available to resolve them informally. 
 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
 

  525 Lake Avenue South, Suite 330    443 Lafayette Road North    Mailing Address 
  Duluth, MN  55802-2368       St. Paul, MN  55155-4301    Workers’ Compensation Division 
  Telephone: (218) 733-7810      Telephone: (651) 284-5030   PO Box 64221 
      1-800-342-5354          1-800-342-5354   St. Paul, MN  55164-0221 
 

Time Limitations 
If the injury claim has been denied, you may lose your right to benefits if you do not commence legal proceedings within three 
years after your employer/insurer filed a written report of your claimed injury with DLI, not to exceed six years after the date of 
the claimed injury.  If you have an occupational disease, you have three years to begin legal proceedings from the date you 
learned that the cause of the disease might be work related and the disease first caused disability. 
 
If the death claim has been denied, you may lose your right to benefits if you do not commence legal proceedings within three 
years after the employer/insurer filed the written notice of death with DLI, except that: 

 
1) For claims where the employer/insurer did not pay benefits for the injury, commencement of legal proceedings 
cannot exceed six years from the date of injury resulting in the death. 
2) For claims where the employer/insurer did pay benefits for the injury, commencement of legal proceedings cannot 
exceed six years from the date of death. 

 
In very rare circumstances, there may be exceptions to the time limits noted above. 
 

Vocational Rehabilitation 
If the insurer is denying primary liability for your claim and you disagree, cannot return to your former employment, and would 
like vocational rehabilitation assistance, contact DLI, Vocational Rehabilitation Unit at (651) 284-5038. 
 

Instructions to Insurer/Claims Administrator 
1. If the claim is a fatality with dependents and payment is being made, attach dependent information. 
2. The reason for a denial must be clear and specific, and state a legal and factual basis in language which is easily 

understood.  If the reason for a denial is based on medical information, attach medical reports or summary of any health care 
provider contacts that support your reason for denial. 

3. This form may be filed more than once if your liability determination changes.  (Examples:  when you initially deny primary 
liability, but later accept liability; when you initially accept a claim and pay wage loss benefits, but later deny primary liability 
within 60 days pursuant to M.S. § 176.221, subd 1; when you accept liability, but are unable to pay TPD benefits until 
verification of wage loss is received, but later issue the first TPD check.) 

4. If you file this form more than once, check the Amended box in the upper left-hand corner for each subsequent filing. 
5. Do not use this form to reinstate benefits.  Use the Notice of Benefit Reinstatement (NOBR) form. 
6. If you indicate that the employer paid “full wage,” you must also file a Notice of Intention to Discontinue (NOID) at the 

appropriate time showing the date of return to work or other reason for discontinuance and the payment data on the back of 
the form as required by M.S. § 176.221, subd. 9. 

7. The date served must be completed each time you file this form. 
8. The boxes (in the upper left-hand corner on the front of the form) containing claim identifying information must be fully 

completed each time you file the form.  The boxes containing the dates of lost time, notice, and initial return to work, and the 
average weekly wage must also be completed, if applicable, each time you file the form, regardless of your liability 
determination. 

 
This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape.  To request, call (651) 284-5030 or 1-
800-342-5354 (DIAL-DLI)/Voice or TDD (651) 297-4198. 
 
ANY PERSON WHO, WITH INTENT TO DEFRAUD, RECEIVES WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS TO WHICH THE PERSON IS 
NOT ENTITLED BY KNOWINGLY MISREPRESENTING, MISSTATING, OR FAILING TO DISCLOSE ANY MATERIAL FACT IS GUILTY OF 
THEFT AND SHALL BE SENTENCED PURSUANT TO SECTION 609.52, SUBDIVISION 3. 



 
 

 

443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

www.dli.mn.gov 

(651) 284-5005 
1-800-342-5354 

  

April 17, 2015 

 

 

 

ATTN: WORKERS’ COMP CLAIM MANAGER 

INSURER / TPA 

ADDRESS 

CITY  STATE  ZIPCODE 

 

 

Re: Employee Name / Employer Name 

WID: 9999999999 D/I: 99/99/2015 

Your Claim #: Claim Number 

 

On 4/16/2015, we received a Notice of Insurer's Primary Liability Determination (NOPLD) form 

regarding the above claim.  We have reviewed the information provided on the NOPLD and First Report 

of Injury forms and have found that the following information is incomplete (as indicated by an "X"): 

 

 X  The first day of lost time:     

 X  The date the employer was notified of initial lost time:     

 X  The date of return to work:     

 X  The first day of the new period of lost time:     

 X  The date the employer was notified of the new period of lost time:     

 X  The average weekly wage:     

 

This information is necessary in order for us to determine the timeliness of your initial action and/or 

whether the lost time exceeded the waiting period on the claim.  Please complete the requested 

information in the space provided and return this letter to the following address as soon as possible. 

 

 Department of Labor & Industry 

 Workers’ Compensation Division 

 PO Box 64221 

 St Paul  MN  55164-0221 

 

Thank you for your anticipated cooperation. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Workers’ Compensation Division 

State of Minnesota 



443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

www.dli.mn.gov 

(651) 284-5005 
1-800-342-5354 

  

January 29, 2015 

 

 

ATTN: WORKERS COMP CLAIM MANAGER 

INSURER 

ADDRESS 

CITY  ST  ZIP 

 

 

Each year, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) publishes its Prompt First Action 

Report on Workers’ Compensation Claims.  This report details the number and percentage of claims that 

were paid or denied within the statutory 14-day deadline for each workers’ compensation insurance 

company and self-insured employer during the previous five fiscal years.  

 

Please find below the statistics for your company for fiscal-year 2014, along with the overall statistics 

for insurance companies, self-insured employers, and the system as a whole.  If you wish to review the 

complete report, you can find it on our website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/PromptFirstAction.asp. 

 

 Number of claims Number timely Percent timely 

 

Insurer claims timely percent % 
 

Insurance Companies 17,690 15,541 87.9 %  
 

Self-Insured Employers 6,426 6,062 94.3 %  
 

All Companies 24,116 21,603 89.6 %  

 

I would like to thank your company for its notable performance in the recent Prompt First Action 

Report.  The ability to pay or deny a high percentage of claims within the 14-day deadline indicates your 

company’s strong claims management.  

 

Thanks to the claims management efforts of companies like yours, Minnesota now leads the nation with 

the highest percentage of claims paid or denied within the statutory limits.  

 

Our agency appreciates the dedication and performance of your company in 2014.   

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Lisa Smith 

Workers’ Compensation Division 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/WC/PromptFirstAction.asp


443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

www.dli.mn.gov 

(651) 284-5005 
1-800-342-5354 

  

January 29, 2015 

 

 

ATTN: WORKERS COMP CLAIM MANAGER 

INSURER 

ADDRESS 

CITY  ST  ZIP 

 

 

Each year, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) publishes its Prompt First Action 

Report on Workers’ Compensation Claims.  This report details the number and percentage of claims that 

were paid or denied within the statutory 14-day deadline for each workers’ compensation insurance 

company and self-insured employer during the previous five fiscal years.  
 

Please find below the statistics for your company for fiscal-year 2014, along with the overall statistics 

for insurance companies, self-insured employers, and the system as a whole.  If you wish to review the 

complete report, you can find it on our website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/PromptFirstAction.asp. 
 

 Number of claims Number timely Percent timely 
 

Insurer claims timely percent % 
 

Insurance Companies 17,690 15,541 87.9 %  
 

Self-Insured Employers 6,426 6,062 94.3 %  
 

All Companies 24,116 21,603 89.6 %  
 

When compared to the average for all Insurance Companies, your company experienced a lower 

percentage of claims that were paid or denied within the statutory deadline.  DLI seeks to improve the 

overall promptness of the entire industry and would like to help your company improve its performance.  

Our agency offers the following services: 
 

 basic adjuster training at DLI; 

 onsite training upon request; and  

 an online basic adjusters training manual. 
 

For information about these items, please visit our website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/TrainingIns.asp. 
 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at (651) 284-5273. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Lisa Smith 

Workers’ Compensation Division 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/WC/PromptFirstAction.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/WC/TrainingIns.asp

	fr01.pdf
	SEND THIS FORM TO YOUR INSURER IMMEDIATELY – DO NOT WAIT FOR THE DOCTOR’S REPORT
	SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS TO THE EMPLOYER ON COMPLETING THIS FORM

	nl01 (1).pdf
	Untitled


	Worker ID: 
	Amended: Off
	DOI: 
	DOD: 
	EE name: 
	ER Name: 
	Insurer Name: 
	Insurer Claim No: 
	Misc Info: 
	First date lost time: 
	Date er this lost time: 
	Initital date rtw: 
	AWW on DOI: 
	First date of new lost time: 
	Date ER this lost time: 
	Reason 1: Off
	TTD: Off
	TPD: Off
	PTD: Off
	DEP: Off
	Date Payment: 
	Amt of Payment: 
	Date From: 
	Date Through: 
	Comp Rate: 
	Day of Week: 
	Intervals: 
	1A: Off
	1B: Off
	Date Verification Recd: 
	1C: Off
	1D: Off
	Reason 2: Off
	2A: Off
	Explain not mon thru fri: 
	2B: Off
	2C: Off
	2C Reason: 
	Reason 3: Off
	injury: Off
	death: Off
	Reason for denial: 
	Person making determination: 
	phone number: 
	Extension: 
	Date served: 
	Invisible: 


