Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by google

Workers' compensation -- Training for insurers



Basic adjuster training -- 2014

These classes, at the Department of Labor and Industry in St. Paul, are designed for claims adjusters who have less than one year experience handling Minnesota workers' compensation claims. The $150 registration fee for each two-day session includes lunch.

Continuing education credits
This educational offering is recognized by the Minnesota commissioner of commerce as satisfying 10.5 hours of credit toward continuing insurance education requirements.

Topics include Dates
  • Overview of Minnesota workers'
    compensation

  • Waiting period

  • Liability determination

  • Indemnity benefits

  • Rehabilitation benefits and issues

  • Medical benefits and issues

  • Penalties

  • Dispute resolution

  • How to file forms

Sessions are 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Three two-day sessions in 2014:

    • March 26 and 27

    • May 14 and 15

    • Oct. 6 and 7

All participants must register and pay online

Registration and payment

All participants must register and pay online. Early registration is encouraged. Each session is limited to 30 people. Classes will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. The Department of Labor and Industry reserves the right to cancel a session if there are not enough participants registered.
 

Accommodation

If you need special accommodations to enable you to participate in this training or have questions about this training, contact Lisa Smith at (651) 284-5273 or toll-free at 1-800-342-5354.

Take the pre-test

Do you administer Minnesota workers' compensation claims? Not sure if you need training? Take the pre-test and see how you do.
 

Classes are at the:

  • Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
    443 Lafayette Road N.
    St. Paul, MN  55155

To learn more about these classes, contact Jim Vogel by email or at (651) 284-5265.



Customized training for insurers

Customized training about workers' compensation can be arranged for groups of at least 20 claims adjusters by contacting Jim Vogel at dli.wctraining@state.mn.us or (651) 284-5265.


Downloadable insurer training materials

The following training materials have been developed by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry for use in its insurer training classes.

The Basic Adjusters' Training Guide -- The information in this guidebook is designed to:

  • illustrate how to calculate benefits;

  • describe when benefits are payable;

  • explain how and when to file the required forms; and

  • provide general information about workers' compensation benefits.
DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer