3800.3600 AUTHORITY; PURPOSE.
Parts 3800.3601 to 3800.3603 establish continuing education requirements for renewal of electrician licenses and unlicensed electrical worker registration, as authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.32, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (6).
Subpart 1. Words, terms, and phrases. For the purposes of parts 3800.3600 to 3800.3603, the terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.
Subp. 2. Educational program. "Educational program" means a course, seminar, workshop, or other educational offering where interactive instruction is provided by one or more instructors, either directly or by interactive media.
Subp. 3. Hours of instruction. "Hours of instruction" means the time in hours allowed by the department for attending an educational program pursuant to part 3800.3602.
Subp. 4. Electrician license. "Electrician license" means a personal electrical license issued by the department that is required by statute. "Electrician license" does not include "lineman" as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.31, subdivision 20.
Subp. 4a. NEC. "NEC" means the most recent published edition of the National Electrical Code or the edition adopted in part 1315.0200.
Subp. 5. Power limited technician. "Power limited technician" means an individual meeting the qualifications of Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.33, subdivision 7, paragraph (b), (d), or (e), and who is licensed by the department.
Subp. 6. Provider. "Provider" means a person, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, professional association, government agency, or other entity authorized by law which provides educational programs for credit under part 3800.3602.
3800.3602 REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF ELECTRICIAN AND POWER LIMITED TECHNICIAN LICENSE AND RENEWAL OF REGISTERED UNLICENSED INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION.
Subpart 1. License renewal. The department shall not renew the electrician license of an applicant for renewal who has held the license for at least 24 months unless the applicant has credit for the hours of instruction required by this part.
Subp. 2. Hours of instruction. A. Within the term and prior to the renewal of an electrician or power limited technician license, each holder of a license shall receive credit for instruction through one or more educational programs as required by this part. Credit for an educational program may only be used once for a specific renewal of an electrician license. Where a licensee holds more than one type of electrician license, the same credits for hours of instruction may be applied to each license.
B. The following license types are required to earn 16 hours of instruction through one or more educational programs:
(1) Class A master electrician;
(2) Class B master electrician;
(3) Class A journeyman electrician;
(4) Class B journeyman electrician;
(5) master elevator constructor;
(6) elevator constructor;
(7) maintenance electrician;
(8) Class A installer;
(9) Class B installer; and
(10) power limited technician.
Subp. 3. Acceptable subjects. For the license types listed in subpart 2, item B, subitems (1) to (9), at least 12 hours of instruction must be on the NEC and the remainder on the statutes and rules governing electrical installations, this chapter, chapter 3801, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.31 to 326B.399, or technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment. For the license type in subpart 2, item B, subitem (10), at least four hours of instruction must be on the NEC with the remainder on the statutes and rules governing electrical installations, this chapter, chapter 3801, Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.31 to 326B.399, or technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment.
Subp. 4. Registration renewal. The department shall not renew the registration of a registered unlicensed individual unless the applicant received credit for two hours of instruction on the NEC through one or more educational programs as required by this part. Credit for an educational program may only be used once for renewal of registration.
3800.3603 CREDIT FOR INSTRUCTION.
Subpart 1. Approval of educational programs. To qualify for credit under part 3800.3602, educational programs shall be approved by the department. The provider shall submit an application for approval on a form provided by the department, which shall include an outline of the educational program; the number of hours of instruction provided; and the names, addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, and qualifications of the instructors. The provider shall submit a new application for approval if the instruction provided deviates substantively from the outline previously submitted or the hours of instruction provided is changed.
Applications for approval shall be received by the department at least 30 days prior to the first presentation of an educational program. Approval of individual educational programs expires 36 months from the date of approval. An interactive educational program may also be approved for presentation through electronic media. In addition to the requirements of parts 3800.3600 to 3800.3603, a program presented through electronic media that does not include real-time interaction between the presenter and the licensee or registrant must include an examination process that ensures a licensee or registrant has successfully completed the program.
Subp. 2. Notification of presentations. Not less than 14 days prior to a presentation of an educational program, the provider shall notify the department in writing of the date, time, and location of the presentation.
Subp. 3. Exception to preapproval. Notwithstanding subparts 1 and 2, educational programs that are offered in other states and not granted prior approval according to this part shall be considered for credit if the department is provided with evidence that the educational program meets the requirements of part 3800.3602 and is approved for continuing education credit by a public authority licensing electricians or power limited technicians in the other state.
Subp. 4. Review of educational programs. The department shall have authority to audit or review educational programs and presentations of educational programs for compliance with parts 3800.3600 to 3800.3603 and review the provider's records concerning individuals who have attended such presentations for credit. The department shall withdraw approval of any educational program not in compliance with parts 3800.3600 to 3800.3603.
Subp. 5. Qualifications of instructors. All educational programs shall be conducted by department-approved instructors who have the qualifications described in at least one of the following items:
A. a personal electrical license and at least four years' experience in electrical inspection, electrical installations, or teaching subjects within the scope of electrical work permitted by the instructor's license;
B. a registered or licensed electrical engineer with at least four years' experience in the design of premises electrical power systems or technology systems;
C. at least five years' practical experience in the subject being taught. An instructor in this category may only be approved for instruction on technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment; or
D. for technology systems, an instructor certified by a national training program.
Subp. 6. Credit for teaching. Instructors of educational programs approved under this part shall receive instruction credit for each hour of instruction allowable under subpart 1.
Subp. 7. Report of credits earned. Within 14 days after presentation of an educational program for credit under part 3800.3602, the provider shall provide a certificate of completion to each licensee or registrant in attendance and shall forward an attendance list and original attendance sign-in document to the department on a form supplied by the department, or in a format approved by the department.
Each certificate of completion and attendance list shall include the name of the provider, date and location of the presentation, educational program identification that was provided to the department, hours of instruction or continuing education units, and the licensee's or registrant's name and license or registration number or the last four digits of the applicant's Social Security number. The attendance list must be typewritten and provide a summary of each attendee's hours for each course attended.
Subp. 8. Credit for completing an educational program. Participants in an educational program must complete the entire program to receive credit. Partial credit must not be granted.