Decorative bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by Google

Construction codes continuing education

Licensure continuing education

Some licenses, registrations, and certifications administered by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) require the holder to complete continuing education (CE) before it may be renewed. All courses eligible for use as CE credit must be approved by the department. Courses may be offered by registered CE sponsors who obtained pre-approval from the department. Or, individuals may apply for approval of an individual course they have already completed.

Continuing education courses are required to impart appropriate and related knowledge as required for the renewal of the individual's license, registration, or certification. The standard for "appropriate and related knowledge" will vary by the laws and rules governing the license, registration or certification. Courses approved by the department meet the statutory requirements and are posted online: approved continuing education courses.

Individuals who complete a course that has not received prior approval by DLI may request approval of the course for CE credit. The form, Continuing Education Course - Individual Application for Approval (PDF), needs to be completed and submitted with copies of:

  • certificate of course completion;
  • all course materials (handouts); and
  • the appropriate application fee.

Approval may be granted upon a determination that the course materials conform to the course approval requirements for the individual's license, registration or certification.

The burden of demonstrating that courses impart appropriate and related knowledge in the regulated industry is upon the person seeking approval or credit.

IMPORTANT NOTE -
Read all information below the application links before attempting to complete any application.

Continuing education forms and directories:

Continuing education requirements:

Recent licensing changes:

Continuing education requirements:

CE requirements - Plumbing

  • Minnesota Rule 4716.0205
  • For master plumbers, journeyman plumbers, and licensed restricted plumbers, 16 hours of approved continuing education must be completed during each two-year license period.
  • Master plumbers and restricted master plumbers must report their first CE at their license renewal in December 2014.
  • Journeyman and restricted journeyman plumbers must report their first CE at their license renewal in December 2015.
  • At least 12 hours must pertain to the State Plumbing Code and at least four hours must pertain to technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, the Minnesota State Building Code or the Minnesota statutes governing plumbing work.
  • No more than four hours can be taken online in each license period.
  • Water conditioning masters and journeyman licensees must take four hours of approved continuing education during each license period, beginning with the 2015 renewal period. At least two hours must pertain to technical topics related to water conditioning installation and servicing, or the Minnesota statutes and rules relating to water conditioning.
  • Medical gas certificate holders must take four hours of approved continuing education each license period beginning with their initial renewal. All four hours must pertain to the technical topics related to the installation, repair or maintenance of medical gas systems, NFPA 99, or the Minnesota laws and rules relating to medical gas systems.

License

Min. Hours
Code/Laws

Max. Hours
Other Related

Master Plumber
12 4
Restricted Master Plumber
12 4
Journeyman Plumber
12 4
Restricted Journeyman Plumber
12 4
Water Conditioning Master
2 2
Water Conditioning Journeyman
2 2
Medical Gas Certificate
4 0

  • Plumbing CE courses approved by other state licensing jurisdictions may be accepted for credit. To receive credit, submit an individual course application (PDF) for DLI review with a copy of the course completion certificate. If the certificate does not state the course was approved by the licensing jurisdiction, the submitter will need to provide that documentation.  
  • Plumbing CE courses not approved by DLI or another state licensing jurisdiction may be accepted for credit by submitting an individual course application (PDF) and a certificate of completion along with all course materials.

 

CE requirements - Electrical

  • Minnesota Rule 3802.3602
  • CE hours must be completed during the license or registration period.
  • Minimum required hours focus on National Electrical Code (NEC).
  • Maximum hours for credit focus on statutes and rules governing electrical installations; Minnesota electrical licensing laws and rules; and technical topics related to electrical installations and equipment.

License

Min. Hours
NEC Code

Max. Hours
Other Related

Master A and B Electrician
12 4
Master Elevator Constructor
12 4
Journeyman A and B Electrician
12 4
Journeyman Elevator Constructor
12 4
Maintenance Electrician
12 4
Installer A and B Electrician
12 4
Power Limited Technician
4 12
Unlicensed Individuals
2 0
Lineman
0 0

  • Electrical CE courses approved by other state licensing jurisdictions may be accepted for credit. To receive credit, submit an individual course application (PDF) for DLI review with a copy of the course completion certificate. If the certificate does not state the course was approved by the licensing jurisdiction, the submitter will need to provide that documentation.
  • Electrical CE courses not approved by DLI or another state licensing jurisdiction may be accepted for credit by submitting an individual course application (PDF) and a certificate of completion along with all course materials.

CE requirements - Residential builders (QB), remodelers (QC), roofers (QR)

  • Minnesota Statutes 326B.0981; 326B.821
  • Course content must demonstrate significant intellectual or practical content and deal with matters directly related to residential construction, workforce safety, or the business of running a company in the residential construction industry.
  • 14 hours appropriate and related knowledge in residential construction, including applicable federal and state laws, rules, and regulations.
  • Individuals can determine their personal qualifying person identification number at DLI's License Lookup by searching their contractor's license number or their name.
  • One (1) hour of the 14 hours must include instruction related to energy codes or energy conservation measures applicable to residential structures.
  • CE hours must be completed during the qualifying person's registration period.
  • CE hours may be completed at any time during the two (2) year period.
  • CE courses not approved by DLI may be accepted for credit by submitting an individual course application (PDF) and a certificate of completion along with all course materials.

CE Requirements - Certified building officials

  • Minnesota Rule 1301.0900
  • Course content is broadly defined, but must demonstrate significant intellectual or practical content that deals with matters directly related to building code administration, construction, and building inspections - including applicable federal and state laws, rules, and regulations.
  • The minimum CE hours or CE Units required of each license varies as presented in the table below.
  • Continuing education units/hours are accumulated during a certificate period in anticipation of being used to renew a certificate. As such, at the time of renewal, the certificate holder must have completed the required units/hours over the previous two or three year certificate period.
   

Three-Year Renewals

Two-Year Renewals

 

Certificate Classification

Minimum CE Units

Minimum CE Hours

Minimum CE Units

Minimum CE Hours

Building Official

24 CE units

57 CE hours

16 CE units

38 CE hours

Building Official, Limited

24 CE units

57 CE hours

16 CE units

38 CE hours

Accessibility Specialist

4 CE units

10 CE hours

2 CE units

6 CE hours

 
  • As building official certifications transition from three-year certification periods to two-year certification periods, individuals will have a mix of CE credits earned as units and hours. The department will work with individuals concerned about meeting their CE obligation during this transition.

  • CE hours must be completed during the license or registration period.
  • CE hours may be completed at any time during the two (2) year period.
  • CE courses not approved by DLI may be accepted for credit by submitting an individual course application (PDF) and a certificate of completion along with all course materials.

CE Requirements - Manufactured home installers

Important note: For qualifying persons (QI), continuing education requirements for manufactured home installers will need to have been completed by the 2015 manufactured home installer license renewal date. See requirements under continuing education for more detailed information.   

  • Minnesota Statute 327B.041 and Minnesota Rule 1350.6710
  • Licensed Manufactured Home Installer's qualifying person (QI) is responsible for completing the continuing education hours.
  • For qualifying persons (QI), continuing education will be required starting with the 2015 Manufactured Home Installer License renewal.
  • 12 hours of appropriate and related knowledge in manufactured home construction, installation, and inspection - including federal and state laws, rules, and regulations.
  • A minimum of four (4) hours must consist of training in the following areas:
    • HUD manufactured housing program;
    • Manufactured home installation standards and regulations established in 24 CFR 3285 and 3286, and applicable state laws and rules;
    • Construction and safety standards and regulations found in 24 CFR 3280 and 3282;
    • Licensing requirements;
    • Installer responsibilities for correcting improper installation, including obligations under the applicable state and HUD manufactured housing dispute resolution programs;
    • Inspection requirements and procedures;
    • Problem reporting mechanisms;
    • Operational checks and adjustments; and
    • Penalties under federal and state laws, rules, and regulations
  • CE hours must be completed during the license or registration period.
  • CE hours may be completed at any time during the three (3) year period.
  • CE courses not approved by DLI may be accepted for credit by submitting an individual course application (PDF) and a certificate of completion along with all course materials. 

Questions?

Email questions regarding continuing education to dli.license@state.mn.us.

In the subject line of the email, include the following information:

  • license or registration number
  • name
  • the topic of the inquiry

e-mail
This identifying information helps to efficiently redirect your inquiry to the appropriate person for a reply.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer