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LAW CHANGES, DEPARTMENT UPDATES

New benefit, provider fee levels, and fee schedules effective Oct. 1
The statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) effective Oct. 1, 2023, is $1,337, a 3.89% increase from the current SAWW 
of $1,287, which has been in effect since Oct. 1, 2022. The levels for minimum and maximum weekly benefit payments 
are presented in the table on page 4. The statewide annual average wage will change to $69,517 on Jan. 1, 2024.

The new SAWW is based on 2022 payroll and employment figures supplied by the 
Department of Employment and Economic Development and the calculation procedure 
in Minnesota Statutes § 176.011, subdivision 1b. The change in the SAWW is the basis 
for the Minn. Stat. § 176.645 annual benefit adjustment. The time and amount of the 
adjustments are limited by Minn. Stat. § 176.645.

Tables showing the historical value of workers’ compensation benefits, reimbursements, 
medical services conversion factors, maximum hourly vocational rehabilitation rates and 
independent medical examination (IME) fees are posted on the Department of Labor 
and Industry (DLI) website at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-
rate-information-statewide-average-weekly-wage-saww.

Vocational rehabilitation maximum hourly fee adjustments

Pursuant to Minnesota Rules, part 5220.1900, subpart 1b:
	 •	 the maximum qualified rehabilitation consultant (QRC) hourly rate will increase by 3.00% to $122.97 for  
		  rehabilitation services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2023; and
	 •	 the maximum hourly rate for rehabilitation job development and placement services, whether provided by  
		  rehabilitation vendors or by QRC firms, will increase by 3.00% to $98.48 on Oct. 1, 2023.

Relative value medical fee schedule adjustments

The following updates to the workers’ compensation physician fee schedule conversion factors in Minn. R. part 
5221.4020 have been approved by an administrative law judge. The rule amendments, which are effective for services 
provided on or after Oct. 1, 2023, are available on DLI’s website at dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/
rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-5221-2023.

Minnesota Statutes § 176.136, subd. 1a, paragraph (c)(1), provides for annual adjustments of the medical fee schedule 
conversion factors by no more than the percent change in the SAWW. As in previous years, the annual adjustment of the 
conversion factors is based on the percent change in the U.S. Department of Labor's Producer Price Index for Offices of 
Physicians (PPI-P) (annual-average basis), which for 2022 was 0.50%.
 
Based on the approved adjustment, the conversion factors effective for services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2023, are:
		  •	 for medical/surgical services described in Minn. R. 5221.4030............................................ $67.17;
		  •	 for pathology and laboratory services described in Minn. R. 5221.4040.............................. $61.08;
		  •	 for physical medicine/rehabilitation services described in Minn. R. 5221.4050................... $60.32; and
		  •	 for chiropractic services described in Minn. R. 5221.4060.................................................... $52.27.

Independent medical examination fee adjustment

Minnesota Rules, part 5219.0500, subp. 4, provides for adjustment of the maximum fees for IMEs in the same manner as 
the adjustment of the conversion factors. Therefore, the maximum fees will increase by 0.50% for IME services provided 
on or after Oct. 1, 2023.

A table of the maximum IME fee adjustments from Dec. 1, 1993, to present is available on DLI's website at dli.mn.gov/
business/work-comp-ime-fees.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-rate-information-statewide-average-weekly-wage-saww
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-rate-information-statewide-average-weekly-wage-saww
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-5221-2023
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-5221-2023
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/work-comp-ime-fees
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/work-comp-ime-fees
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Link to inpatient PPS Web Pricer under Minn. Stat. § 176.1362, subd. 1

Since Oct. 1, 2021, payment for inpatient services, articles and supplies must be calculated using the inpatient PPS Web 
Pricer available on Medicare's website using the applicable dates of inpatient hospitalization. DLI must publish the link to 
the inpatient PPS Web Pricer on its website.

The link to the inpatient PPS Web Pricer is available at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-
tool-inpatient-hospital-bills.

Hospital catastrophic injury threshold adjustment

The threshold for payment of inpatient hospital services, articles and supplies provided to patients with catastrophic, 
high-cost injuries is adjusted pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.362, subd. 2. For hospital discharges on or after Oct. 1, 2023, 
the threshold amount is adjusted to $291,835. If a hospital's usual and customary charges exceed this amount, payment 
is 75% of the hospital's charges instead of the MS-DRG 
amount calculated using the inpatient PPS Web Pricer.

Notice of availability of ambulatory surgical 
center addenda

The fee schedule for workers' compensation ambulatory 
surgical center (ASC) services is based on the Medicare 
Ambulatory Surgical Center Payment System (ASCPS) 
addenda AA, BB and DD1, available on the Medicare 
website as of July 1, 2023, and the corresponding Medicare 
rules and claims processing manual. Payment for workers' 
compensation procedures and services is the ASCPS 
amount on the total bill multiplied by 320%, or the ASC's 
total usual and customary charges, whichever is less.

The June 29, 2023, addenda AA, BB and DD1 are the most 
recent ASCPS addenda available on the Medicare website as of July 1, 2023. Links to addenda AA, BB and DD1 are 
available on the DLI website at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-ascps. 
They are effective for services provided by an ASC on or after Oct. 1, 2023.

Notice of availability of hospital outpatient fee schedule

The workers' compensation hospital outpatient fee schedule (HOFS) establishes payment rates for workers' 
compensation outpatient hospital services that are listed in the HOFS (see Minn. Stat. § 176.1364). The updated HOFS 
table, effective for services from Oct. 1, 2023, through Sept. 30, 2024, is available on the DLI website at dli.mn.gov/
business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-hofs.

HOFS provides two separate payment rates, one for hospitals with more than 100 licensed beds and one for non-critical 
access hospitals with 100 or fewer licensed beds.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-tool-inpatient-hospital-bills
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-tool-inpatient-hospital-bills
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-ascps
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-hofs
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-hofs
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Compensation rates as of Oct. 1, 2023

Maximum under Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 1(b)(1)

Set by statute

10-01-00..........................................................$750.00

10-01-08..........................................................$850.00

102% of SAWW

10-01-13.......................................................... $963.90

10-01-14..........................................................$980.22

10-01-15.......................................................$1,008.78

10-01-16.......................................................$1,046.52

10-01-17.......................................................$1,061.82

10-01-18.......................................................$1,098.54

10-01-19.......................................................$1,134.24

10-01-20.......................................................$1,166.88

10-01-21.......................................................$1,256.64

10-01-22.......................................................$1,312.74

10-01-23.................................................... $1,363.74

Minimum under Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 1(c)

Set by statute, the listed amount or the employee's 
actual weekly wage, whichever is less

10-01-00............$130.00

20% of the maximum weekly benefit or the employee's 
actual weekly wage, whichever is less

10-01-21............$251.33

10-01-22............$262.55

10-01-23............$272.75

Statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) = $1,337
Percentage change in SAWW from previous year = 3.89%

(Apply Minnesota Statutes § 176.645 adjustment as necessary based on date of injury.)

Supplementary benefits under Minn. Stat. § 176.132
(Minnesota Statutes 1994)

and permanent total minimum under
Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 4
(for injuries 10-1-95 and later)

10-01-05.................... $503.10	 (rounded to $504)*

10-01-06.................... $508.30	 (rounded to $509)*

10-01-07.................... $525.20	 (rounded to $526)*

10-01-08.................... $552.50	 (rounded to $553)

10-01-09.................... $570.70	 (rounded to $571)*

10-01-10.................... $564.20	 (rounded to $565)*

10-01-11.................... $582.40	 (rounded to $583)*

10-01-12.................... $595.40	 (rounded to $596)*

10-01-13.................... $614.25	 (rounded to $615)*

10-01-14.................... $624.65	 (rounded to $625)*

10-01-15.................... $642.85	 (rounded to $643)*

10-01-16.................... $666.90	 (rounded to $667)*

10-01-17.................... $676.65	 (rounded to $677)*

10-01-18.................... $700.05	 (rounded to $701)*

10-01-19.................... $722.80	 (rounded to $723)*

10-01-20.................... $743.60	 (rounded to $744)*

10-01-21.................... $800.80	 (rounded to $801)

10-01-22.................... $836.55	 (rounded to $837)*

10-01-23....................$869.05	 (rounded to $870)*
*Rounding applies to supplementary benefits.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Using the dispute certification process to settle disputes
By Aaron Frederickson, Alternative Dispute Resolution mediator/arbitrator

The Department of Labor and Industry's (DLI's) Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) unit serves interested stakeholders 
to resolve workers' compensation disputes. While starting a dispute to resolve something may appear counterintuitive, a 
closer look at the dispute certification process demonstrates its effectiveness in seeking resolution.

Dispute certification process origins

The dispute certification process is outlined in 
Minnesota Statutes § 176.081, subdivision 1 (c), 
which requires that before the employee or their 
attorney may charge a fee for services with 
respect to a medical or rehabilitation issue, they 
consult with DLI, and "the department certifies 
that there is a dispute and that it has tried to 
resolve the dispute."

Reminder:  Per revisions to Minn. Stat. § 176.081, 
as of Aug. 1, 2023, a request for certification must 
be "served on the employer or insurer and the 
attorney representing the employer or insurer, if 
any." See Chapter 51, Minnesota Session Laws 
– 2023 at revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/
Session+Law/Chapter/51/.

An attorney consults with DLI by filing a "Request for Certification of Dispute." When the request is filed, it is assigned to 
a mediator/arbitrator who contacts the claim handler or attorney to determine if there is a genuine dispute.

	 •	Practice pointer:  Filing supporting documentation with a "Request for Certification of Dispute" is helpful. These  
		  documents help DLI staff members and the responding party to better understand the item or service sought.

Information needed in the dispute certification process

All interested stakeholders can use the dispute certification process to resolve workers' compensation disputes.

Before initiating the process, parties are encouraged to address the underlying issue by attempting to contact the claim 
handler to try to resolve the matter before even filing with DLI. Seeking amicable resolution of all disputes should be the 
goal of all parties. The process can also narrow the disputed items or services and outline agreements.

If a dispute reaches DLI, ADR works hard to resolve the issue between the parties. For DLI to provide the best assistance, 
it is helpful to include the following information when making a request:

	 •	the correct information about the parties (employee, employer, insurer and other third parties); and

	 •	the name, telephone number and email address of the current claim handler.

All requests must be completed via webform in Work Comp Campus.

Using dispute certification, continues ...

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/51/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/51/
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Responding to department inquiries assists in resolution

The assigned mediator/arbitrator's first step is to contact the other party via telephone or email. Under recent changes 
to the dispute certification process, an attorney must serve the request on the employer or insurer, and any attorney 
representing the employer or insurer. Because the employer or insurer should have notice of the dispute, it is particularly 
helpful to:

	 •	timely respond to mediator/arbitrator inquiries;

	 •	consider inquiries from the mediator/arbitrator as a serious opportunity to resolve the issue(s); and

	 •	recognize having an issue certified means the employee's attorney will be entitled to attorneys' fees if they prevail.
	
	 •	Practice pointer:  Claim handlers and attorneys should try to respond to an information request before certification  
		  and avoid unnecessary certifications for nonresponse.

Use the initial request as an opportunity to review the facts of the case, determine possible defenses and to potentially 
resolve the issue(s) – whether it is a single issue or the entire claim. After filing a "Request for Assistance," any certified 
issues will be set for an administrative conference.

Reminder:  Effective Aug. 1, 2023, Minn. Stat. § 176.081 now provides that if DLI has not issued a determination 
regarding a "Request for Certification of Dispute" after 30 days from the date of filing, it will be certified if:

	 •	the insurer has not approved the requested benefit;

	 •	the employee, the employee's attorney or the treating provider has submitted any and all requested information  
		  necessary to determine whether the benefit is disputed or approved; and

	 •	the insurer has had at least seven days to review additional information submitted.

For non-emergency surgery, a dispute will not be certified until 45 days after a request for a second opinion or 
independent medical examination and the conditions described above have been met. See Chapter 51, Minnesota 
Sessions Laws – 2023 at revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/51/.

Consider dispute resolution before litigation

Resolving an issue before an administrative conference allows parties to be creative and avoid litigation.

	 •	No issue should be viewed as being beyond the possibility of resolution. Use the dispute-resolution process as an  
		  opportunity to understand the strengths and weaknesses of a position.

	 •	Open a dialogue with the opposing stakeholder regarding settling the issue or the entire claim. Focus on the bigger  
		  picture and not single issues. 

	 •	Consider opportunities to mediate the workers' compensation dispute. Dispute resolution specialists also serve as  
		  mediators. Free mediation services are available with an option to use DLI's newly remodeled mediation suite in 
		  the St. Paul office.

The ADR unit at DLI is essential to resolving workers' compensation disputes during the certification process. With recent 
changes to the dispute certification process, it is even more important for all interested stakeholders to use the process 
to attempt to settle disputes. This includes providing accurate information to DLI and working hard to review the 
strengths and weaknesses of a claim. This will also promote efficiency in legal practices and reduce costly litigation.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/51/
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Rehabilitation Review Panel seeks a new alternate member

The Rehabilitation Review Panel (RRP) currently has an opening for one alternate union labor member (annual term). To 
apply for this position, visit the Secretary of State website at sos.state.mn.us/boards-commissions.

RRP is composed of employer, insurer, labor, medical and rehabilitation 
representatives, and:

	 •	advises the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) about  
		  workers’ compensation vocational rehabilitation issues and  
		  rules;

	 •	 is a liaison between DLI and interested people about workers’  
		  compensation vocational rehabilitation; and

	 •	makes final decisions about certification approval or  
		  disciplinary matters of qualified rehabilitation consultants and  
		  vendors in conjunction with contested hearings.

Learn more about RRP at dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-
councils/rehabilitation-review-panel.

ADR welcomes new supervisor Melissa Parish
The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) is pleased to announce Melissa 
Parish is a new supervisor in its Workers' Compensation Division's 
Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) unit. Parish will help supervise the 13 
mediators/arbitrators and four administrative staff members of the unit 
along with Supervisor Donna Olson and Director Brian Mak.

ADR provides services for all workers' compensation stakeholders, by:
	 •	responding to direct inquiries or escalations from the Workers'  
		  Compensation Division Help Desk about workers' compensation  
		  benefits and Work Comp Campus;
	 •	providing early dispute-resolution efforts through the dispute  
		  certification process;
	 •	conducting administrative conferences about medical and vocational  
		  rehabilitation disputes; and
	 •	providing no-cost mediations at any stage of a workers' compensation 	
		  claim.

Parish, who has extensive experience with Minnesota's workers' compensation system, will be a valuable addition 
to ADR and is well-respected by her peers. She has been with DLI for more than 16 years in positions of increasing 
responsibility, including as a compliance officer within the Compliance, Records and Training unit, as an electronic 
data interchange (EDI) supervisor and as a Work Comp Campus technical expert.

Melissa Parish

http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://sos.state.mn.us/boards-commissions
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/rehabilitation-review-panel
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/rehabilitation-review-panel
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TIPS, REMINDERS

Editor's note:  The Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) unit at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
seeks early intervention in workers' compensation disputes through conferences and mediations. It handles calls 
from the Workers' Compensation Division Help Desk and responds to questions from all stakeholders.

When a Notice of Intention to Discontinue Workers' Compensation Benefits (NOID) is filed via one of the 
electronic data interchange (EDI) submissions and the NOID document displays in the Campus documents 
tab, do the employee and the employee's attorney still need to be served by the insurer?

Yes, the principle that attorneys and insurers must remember for filing discontinuances via NOID is unchanged 
from the way it was done prior to Work Comp Campus. Before Campus, an insurer or attorney would file their 
NOID with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) and mail a copy to the employee and the 
employee's attorney. With Campus, the only difference is the NOID is filed via EDI and then appears in Campus. 
The insurer or attorney must still send a copy to the employee and the employee's attorney. As it was before 
Campus, DLI does not serve parties with a NOID.

When I am initiating a dispute – and I have identified the party for whom I am filing the dispute – which 
"Other Parties in Dispute" do I need to include?

The "Other Parties in Dispute" added in that section of the Request for Assistance (RFA) webform make up the 
caption of the dispute. Therefore, the employee, the employer, the insurer and the third-party administrator 
should always be selected as "Other Parties in Dispute" as necessary parties for any dispute.

Why might a claim in my dashboard queue not show up even when there is a Notice of Appearance or Notice 
of Representation filed?

When viewing the dashboard, click the "Include Inactive" button at the far right of the queue tabs. This will 
cause all claims to be displayed, whether they are open or closed.

What are some tips for successful initiations of disputes?

In addition to making sure the employee, the employer, the insurer and the third-party administrator are 
selected as "Other Parties in Dispute," there are a few other steps that sometimes get overlooked in the 
process of completing the Request for Assistance webform.
	 •	 For "Choose Dispute Resolution Service":  If you are filing a Request for Assistance webform as you would a  
		  Medical Request or a Rehabilitation Request, select "Request an Administrative Conference."
	 •	 For "What Type of Request Are You Filing?":  Choose either "Medical" or "Rehabilitation," even if you are  
		  requesting a mediation with this webform.
	 •	 For "Disputed Issues":  Always click "Add Issue" and select the best option for the issue in dispute. Without  
		  this, the responding party will not be able to make a response to your filing.
	 •	 For "Full Name of Signatory":  Enter the name exactly as is it spelled for your login name, seen at the top  
		  right corner of your dashboard.

Ask the ADR and Work Comp Campus pro
DLI's Alternative Dispute Resolution unit 

answers frequently asked questions
By Brian Mak, director, Alternative Dispute Resolution

Q.

Q.

Q.

Q.

A.

A.

A.

A.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Translated materials, Language Line available via DLI website
The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) posts its available translated materials online at dli.mn.gov/about-
department/about-dli/translated-materials. It has documents available in Chinese, Hmong, Karen, Somali and Spanish. A 
few other documents throughout the website are available in additional languages.

Also, the DLI website now provides Google Translate, allowing visitors to choose the language for the website text.

In addition, DLI has access to Language Line, a free language translation phone service for limited-English speakers. If DLI 
help is needed, view the contact information at dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/contact-us, call and a DLI 
employee will get in touch with an interpreter in the needed language.

Stay in the know:  Subscribe for news from DLI
Did you know the Department of Labor and Industry offers more than two dozen email lists you can subscribe to 
receive news targeted to specific groups? (If you are reading this, you are probably on the COMPACT email list.)

Lists related to workers' compensation news include the following:

	 •	 Adjusters updates	 •	 Attorney updates
	 •	 Employer updates	 •	 Medical providers updates
	 •	 Rehabilitation providers updates	 •	 Trading partner updates 

Other email lists are available for:

	 •	 Agency news	 •	 Apprenticeship, dual-training and Youth Skills Training
	 •	 Construction codes, licensing and building trades	 •	 Labor standards, worker rights, wage and hour
	 •	 Minnesota OSHA and workplace safety	 •	 Rulemaking

To learn more about the available email lists, visit dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/sign-news-
department-labor-and-industry.

@@

Are you registered to vote?
The Minnesota Secretary of State website has everything you need to know about voting in 
Minnesota. Visit sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting to register to vote, find out where and how you 
can cast your vote, what’s on your ballot and more.

New:  Sixteen- and 17-year-olds can now pre-register to vote in Minnesota.

I
VOTED

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/translated-materials
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/translated-materials
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/contact-us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/sign-news-department-labor-and-industry
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/sign-news-department-labor-and-industry
http://www.sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting
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CompFact:  Return-to-work wage trends, distributions following 
vocational rehabilitation
By Brian Zaidman, Research and Statistics

A key performance measure of vocational rehabilitation is the ratio of a worker's return-to-work wage with their pre-
injury wage (referred to as the wage ratio). As shown in Figure 4.15 of the 2023 Minnesota Workers' Compensation 
System Report, the average wage ratio for workers with a reported return to work increased from 94% for plan-closure 
year 2005 to 99% for plan-closure year 2022. (Plan-closure years start Oct. 1 and end Sept. 30 of the indicated year.) This 
increase was driven by an increase in the wage ratio among workers returning to a different employer; their wage ratios 
increased from 82% in 2005 to 96% in 2022. Increases in the average wage ratio for workers returning to a different 
employer increased by three percentage points since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

In addition to the trends in the average wage ratio, there are trends in the wage ratio distribution itself. Figure 1 shows 
the percentage of workers in each of four wage ratio groups for plan-closure years 2002 through 2022. The increase in 
the percentage of workers with wage ratios between 95% and 105% is the most noticeable change. The percentage of 
workers in the 95% to 105% group increased from 54% in closure-year 2019 to 71% in closure-year 2022. For the first 
time, seven of every 10 workers returning to work following vocational rehabilitation earned a weekly wage the same as, 
or very similar to, their pre-injury wage.

The wage ratios for workers earning less than their pre-injury wage also decreased during the past three plan-closure 
years; the combined percentage for workers earning less than 95% of their pre-injury wage dropped from 29% in 2019 to 
17% in 2022.

These results can be linked to the increase in wages during the COVID-19 pandemic and the shortage of workers. 
Workers who were unable to return to their pre-injury employer were able to find new jobs with comparable wages. The 
wage ratio trend will be followed to see if these improved results can be sustained over the long term.

Figure 1. Percentage of workers with return-to-work by wage ratio value

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/wcfact23.pdf
https://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/wcfact23.pdf
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Workers’ compensation claim rates, benefits paid continue long-term 
downward trajectories
Workers’ compensation claim rates and benefits paid in Minnesota continue their long-term downward trajectories, even 
with major system impact due to COVID-19 since 2020, a new Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) report shows.

The 2023 Minnesota Workers’ Compensation System Report presents 
trend data from 2001 to the present regarding several aspects of 
Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system. For the past two years, 
the report has tracked two sets of trends for the workers’ 
compensation system:  one for the whole system, including COVID-19 
claims; and another for the system excluding COVID-19 claims, which 
shows a pattern more similar to prior years.

Significant findings

	 •	Relative to the number of full-time-equivalent workers, the total  
		  number of paid claims dropped by 52%, indemnity claims by  
		  17% and medical-only claims by 62% from 2001 to 2021.

		  –	COVID-19:  Due to the influx of COVID-19 indemnity claims,  
			   there was a 32% increase in the indemnity claim rate from  
			   2019 to 2021.

	 •	Relative to total payroll, indemnity benefits were down 30%,  
		  while medical benefits were down 49%, between 2001 and  
		  2021. These trends are the result of the claim rate falling faster  
		  than increases in benefits per claim.

	 •	The total cost of Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system relative to payroll follows a multi-year cycle, but a  
		  comparison of similar points in the cycle indicates a long-term decrease that extrapolates to 44% during a  
		  20-year period.

	 •	 In 2021, on a current-payment basis, the three largest components of total workers’ compensation system cost were  
		  medical benefits (33%), indemnity benefits other than vocational rehabilitation (31%) and insurer expenses (30%). 

	 •	Compared to 2001, the average duration of total disability benefits (temporary total disability benefits and  
		  permanent total disability benefits combined) was 19% longer in 2021 for non-COVID-19 claims, while the average  
		  duration of temporary partial disability (TPD) benefits fell 16% by 2021.

		  –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, total disability duration decreased 28% from 2019 to 2021 due 	
			   to the significantly shorter duration of COVID-19 claims, while TPD duration increased 1% during the same period.

After adjusting for average wage growth, the following was found.

	 •	Total disability benefits per paid indemnity claim were largely stable from 2001 to 2019 but decreased 5% from  
		  2019 through 2021 for non-COVID-19 claims.
	
	 –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, total disability benefits per paid indemnity claim fell 24% from  
			   2019 to 2021.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-compensation-system-report
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	 •	TPD benefits per paid indemnity claim fell 40% from 2001 to 2021 for non-COVID-19 claims.

		  –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, there was a 25% decrease in TPD benefits per paid indemnity  
			   claim from 2019 to 2021.

	 •	Permanent partial disability (PPD) benefits per paid indemnity claim fell 69% from 2001 to 2021 for non-COVID-19  
		  claims.
		  –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, there was a 38% decrease in PPD benefits per paid indemnity  
			   claim from 2019 to 2021.

	 •	Participation in vocational rehabilitation rose from 20% of paid indemnity claims for injury-year 2001 to 24% for  
		  2019 but decreased to 22% among non-COVID-19 indemnity claims in 2021. 

		  –	COVID-19:  There was a 15% decrease in the estimated number of workers who will receive vocational  
			   rehabilitation services for their injuries and illnesses in 2021 compared with the number in 2019.

		  –	COVID-19:  The 2021 vocational rehabilitation participation rate is 16% when COVID-19 indemnity claims are  
			   included.

	 •	The denial rate for non-COVID-19 claims in 2021 was 24%, which exceeded the 16% rate observed in 2020 and  
		  surpassed the highest rate, 17%, recorded in the past 20 years.

		  –	COVID-19:  The denial rate of filed indemnity claims, with COVID-19 claims included, was 29% for 2021. This was  
			   above the rate of 23% for 2020. A large part of the 2021 increase in denial rate was due to the influx of COVID-19  
			   claims that began in 2020; the denial rate for COVID-19 claims was 39% in 2021. 

The complete report is available at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-
compensation-system-report.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-compensation-system-report
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-compensation-system-report
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EVENTS, TRAINING

Save the date:  Work Comp Forum set for Oct. 13
The Workers' Compensation Reinsurance Association and the Minnesota Workers' 
Compensation Insurers Association will again team up to offer the Minnesota Work Comp 
Forum from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Friday, Oct. 13, at the Interncontinental MSP Airport Hotel, 
5005 Glumack Drive, Minneapolis, MN. Visit mnworkcompforum.com for more information.

The forum is a day of learning relevant to the Minnesota workers' compensation community. 
Attendees can learn from industry professionals, meet local and regional professionals, and 
expand their knowledge and networks.

Workers' compensation events calendar

Note:  Event dates may change. Always check the online calendar at
www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/events-workers-compensation.

October 2023

	 Oct. 5, 2023	 Rehabilitation Review Panel

	 Oct. 12, 2023	 Medical Services Review Board

	 Oct. 27, 2023	 Free training:  OSHA recordkeeping basics

November 2023

	 Nov. 15	 Workers' Compensation Insurer's Task Force

Free training:  Recordkeeping basics offered online Friday, Oct. 27
Maintaining an accurate OSHA log of recordable work-related injuries and illnesses is an important skill that benefits 
employers, worker, safety professionals and government agencies. The Department of Labor and Industry is offering a 
free, introductory-level training Friday, Oct. 27, about OSHA recordkeeping requirements. There is no cost to attend the 
online training via Microsoft Teams, but registration is required.

Get complete information and register at dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-
recordkeeping-standard.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.mnworkcompforum.com/
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/events-workers-compensation
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/rehabilitation-review-panel
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/medical-services-review-board
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-recordkeeping-standard
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/workers-compensation-insurers-task-force
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-recordkeeping-standard
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-recordkeeping-standard
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COURT DECISIONS

Workers’ Compensation
Court of Appeals

May through July 2023

Case summaries published are 
those prepared by the WCCA Decisions

Summaries of

Dennis Sershen v. Metropolitan Council, May 11, 2023

Statutes Construed – Minnesota Statutes § 176.135, Subdivision 5

The compensation judge did not err by determining that the employer did not have a right to reimbursement under 
Minnesota Statutes § 176.135, subd. 5, because there had been no disablement of the employee as required by the 
statute.

Affirmed.

Marquitta L. Bridgemon v. Mayo Clinic, May 19, 2023

Attorney Fees – Genuine Dispute

Where the self-insured employer sought to close out further litigation by moving to disburse withheld attorney fees, the 
compensation judge did not err in releasing withheld attorney fees to the employee’s attorney, awarding Minnesota 
Statutes § 176.081, subdivision 7, fees and awarding costs.

Interest 
Statutes Construed – Minn. Stat. § 176.221, subd. 7

Where the self-insured employer disputed the release of withheld attorney fees to the employee’s former attorney, 
interest is calculated on the withheld attorney fees from the date of the execution of the order dismissing all pleadings 
and accrues whether expressly awarded by the compensation judge.

Affirmed.

Dana Handeland v. Target Corporation, May 23, 2023

Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

The compensation judge did not err in relying upon an adequately founded medical expert opinion in determining that 
the employee did not sustain a work-related injury on July 31, 2020.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Practice and Procedure – Adequacy of the Findings

The compensation judge did not err in not discussing portions of the employee’s testimony at hearing as she is not 
required to refer to or discuss each portion of evidence introduced at hearing.

Affirmed.

Jeovany Fuentes v. Mechanical Systems, Inc., May 25, 2023

Substantial Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

The compensation judge did not err in relying upon the medical records, credibility determinations of the witness 
testimony, surveillance video and the adequately founded opinions of the employer and insurer’s medical experts over 
the opinion of the employee’s medical expert in determining the employee no longer suffered from the effects of the 
admitted work injury.

Evidence – Credibility

The assessment of credibility is the unique function of the compensation judge, and evidence of the employee’s actions 
in claimed contradiction to the employee’s testimony regarding the effects of a work injury is to be resolved by the 
compensation judge.

Practice and Procedure – Matters at Issue

Where the employee’s mental health claims were inherently included in the employee’s claims regarding effects of the 
work injury, the compensation judge’s determination that the employee was not credible and was able to work resolved 
the employee’s mental health claims.

Affirmed.

Esther Briones Parral v. The Cleaning Authority, June 21, 2023

Practice and Procedure – Notice of Hearing 
Vacation of Award – Referral for Hearing

Where the petitioner contended that it was not properly served the claim petition and that it was not the employer’s 
insurer on the date of injury, the matter of whether proper service on the petitioner occurred is referred to a 
compensation judge for determination after an evidentiary hearing.

Practice and Procedure – Default Award – Referral for Hearing

Where there is no finding or stipulation as to the identity of the party ordered to pay workers’ compensation benefits, 
the matter is referred to a compensation judge for determination.

Disposition:  Petition to vacate findings and order and order on attorneys fees referred to the Office of Administrative 
Hearings.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Richard Anderson v. Westmor Industries, June 26, 2023

Evidence – Credibility

The assessment of witness credibility is the unique function of the compensation judge, and substantial evidence 
supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee’s testimony was credible.

Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

The choice between the two competing medical expert opinions is within the discretion of the finder of fact, and this 
court will not disturb that determination when it is supported by substantial evidence.

Rehabilitation – Rehabilitation Plan

Under Minnesota Statutes § 176.102, rehabilitation services, including reasonable travel expenses, shall be paid when 
the services are specifically listed and submitted on the proper forms and where substantial evidence supports the 
reasonableness and necessity of the expenses.

Affirmed.

Robert Kramm v. Lund Food Holdings, Inc., June 30, 2023

Causation – Medical Treatment 
Causation – Temporary Aggravation 
Causation – Preexisting Condition

The employee’s credible testimony, medical records and the well-founded opinion of a treating doctor constitute 
substantial evidence to support the compensation judge’s findings that the employee’s work injury did not resolve and 
that the injury permanently aggravated the employee’s preexisting medical condition.

Permanent Partial Disability – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including the adequately founded opinion of the employee’s treating chiropractor, supports the 
compensation judge’s determination of the employee’s permanent partial disability rating.

Medical Treatment and Expense – Treatment Parameters 
Rules Construed – Minnesota Rules 5221.6050, Subpart 8.D

Substantial evidence, including medical records, expert medical opinion and the employee’s credible testimony, supports 
findings that the employee was improving symptomatically and functionally and the judge’s determination that a 
departure from the medical treatment parameters was warranted under Minn. R. 5221.6050, subp. 8.D.

Affirmed.

Harley D. Gayle v. Parasole Restaurant Holdings, Inc., July 10, 2023

Appeals – Notice of Appeal 
Jurisdiction – Subject Matter

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee did not timely serve the notice of 
appeal on the employer and insurers. Where a notice of appeal is not timely served on the opposing parties, this court 
lacks jurisdiction to consider the appeal.

Findings and Order on Referral affirmed and the employee’s 2019 appeal dismissed.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Janine Tea v. Ramsey County, July 28, 2023

Statutes Construed – Minnesota Statute § 176.011, Subdivision 15 
Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

Where the compensation judge was presented with competing well-founded opinions with regard to a post-traumatic 
stress disorder diagnosis under the DSM, this court must affirm in light of Smith v. Carver Cnty., 931 N.W.2d 390 (Minn. 
2019).

Practice and Procedure – Matters At Issue

When the consequential major depressive disorder was not raised as an issue at hearing, the compensation judge erred 
in finding that it was a compensable work-related injury and that award is vacated.

Affirmed in part and vacated in part.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Minnesota
Supreme Court

May through July 2023

Case summaries published are 
those prepared by the WCCA

Decisions
Workers' Compensation

Rogelio Onofre Espinoza v. Direct Home Health Care, Inc., June 29, 2023

Order

It is hereby ordered that the decision of the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals filed Dec. 20, 2022, is affirmed 
without opinion. See Hoff v. Kempton, 317 N.W.2d 361, 366 (Minn. 1982) (explaining that summary affirmances lack 
precedential value because “they do no commit the court to any particular point of view,” and because they “do no more 
than establish the law of the case”).

Employee is awarded $3,500 in attorney fees.

http://www.dli.mn.gov

