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Reminders about electronic medical records requests
Recently, the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has received questions about proper payment for electronic 
medical records. As a reminder, Minnesota Statutes § 176.135, subdivision 7, includes specific payment rates and 
delivery requirements for electronic medical records. The law applies to any request for copies of medical records that 
are required to be maintained in an electronic format by state or federal law. 

Q. How much can a medical provider or their agent charge for electronic medical records 
requests?

A. For electronic medical records requests, a medical provider or their 
agent can charge:
	 •	$10 if there are no records available;
	 •	$30 for copies of records of up to 25 pages;
	 •	$50 for copies of records of up to 100 pages;
	 •	$50 plus an additional 20 cents per page for pages 101 and above; or
	 •	$500 for any request. 

Q. Can there be additional charges for retrieval, 
storage, delivery, sales tax, etc.?

A. The fee schedule above covers all fees, including those for retrieval, 
storage and delivery. Sales tax, while allowable for paper records under 
Minnesota Rules part 5219.0300, is not applicable to electronic medical 
records. No sales tax should be charged or paid in any Minnesota 
jurisdiction for electronic medical records.

Q. How can electronic medical records be sent to the 
requestor?

A. Upon request, the health care provider or their agent must provide 
copies of medical records in electronic format. 

Q. Must a cost estimate be given before the electronic medical records are provided? 

A. When a requestor asks to be provided with advance notice of costs for records before electronic medical records are 
sent, the provider should send that estimate to the requestor for approval before sending the records. This is consistent 
with the text of Minn. Stat. § 176.135, subd. 7(d)(1). If the requestor does not approve the release of the records they 
requested, the provider may charge a fee not to exceed $10, which the requestor must pay even if no records are released.

If advanced notice of cost is requested by requestor, that cost estimate must be provided within the seven-day limit as 
stated in Minn. Stat. § 176.138, subd. a; however, DLI will not penalize a medical provider who is unable to also provide 
medical records within that same seven-day period following the date the requestor made the medical records request if 
the requestor asked to be notified of the cost prior to the release of the records.

Q. Can prepayment be required for providing medical records? 

A. A health care provider or the health care provider's agent cannot require prepayment for the costs of the medical 
records unless there is an outstanding past due notice for the requestor from a previous records request from the 
provider. A request to be notified of the estimated cost before records are released is not considered by DLI to be a 

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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prepayment request for purposes of the limit on prepayments. If a requestor that asked for an estimated cost does not 
pay the full, applicable statutory costs for the electronic records, a health care provider or their agent can require 
prepayment for future records requests.

Q. Where can questions about electronic medical records be directed?

A. Questions about medical records can be emailed to DLI’s medical policy staff at medical.policy.dli@state.mn.us.

Results of the Special Compensation Fund assessment 
Introduction

The Special Compensation Fund (SCF) assessment funds Minnesota’s workers’ compensation programs. Most of the 
assessment dollars go to funding the supplementary, second-injury, uninsured and occupational disease benefit 
programs. The assessment also pays the operating expenses of the workers’ compensation divisions of the Department 
of Labor and Industry (DLI), the Court of Administrative Hearings and the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals. It 
also funds the state portion of Minnesota OSHA Compliance and the Department of Commerce for rate regulation and 
fraud prevention.

The SCF assessment is directly invoiced by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The first half of the 
assessment is due Aug. 1 every year and the second half is due the following Feb. 1. Invoices are mailed approximately 
30 days before the due date. Assessment amounts of $1,000 or less are invoiced with first-half invoices only.

As a result of the 2025 legislative session, forecasted expenditures against the fund have risen to $74.5 million in the 
coming state fiscal year. Fortunately, the fund has a moderate cash reserve to offset the increased uses. After applying 
$9.1 million of the fund balance and $6 million in other revenues, DLI’s 2025 SCF assessment will be $59.4 million.

The liability was divided between the insurers and self-insurers by the ratio of their 2024 indemnity payments to the 
total indemnity reported by both groups.

2024 indemnity Ratio FY 2026 funding 
liabilities

2024 DSR pure 
premium

Insurers $374,672,534 74.88% $44,479,005 $1,068,351,113

Self-insurers $125,688,218 25.12% $14,920,995

Total $500,360,752 100.00% $59,400,000 $1,068,351,113

Insurer premium surcharge rate

The insurer premium surcharge rate applied for the purpose of determining the Special Compensation Fund assessment 
is 4.16%. The rate was determined by dividing the insurer portion of the Special Compensation Fund state-fiscal-year 

SCF assessment results, continues ...
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2026 liability ($44,479,005) by the 2024 designated statistical reporting pure premium reported by all insurers 
($1,068,351,113).

The amount each insurer is assessed is determined by multiplying 4.16% by the designated statistical reporting (DSR) pure 
premium for calendar-year 2024. The total amount assessed is divided into two invoices, the first due Aug. 1, 2025, and 
the second due Feb. 1, 2026 (unless the total amount due is $1,000 or less; then the entire amount is due Aug. 1, 2025).

The insurer portion of the 2025 assessment will be adjusted for actual 2024 data reported by the Minnesota Workers’ 
Compensation Insurers Association. As a result of 2014 amendments to Minnesota Statutes 176.129, subdivision 2a, the 
current assessment is considered to be an estimate based on the prior year’s data. The reconciliation and final 
determination (true-up) for insurers will be completed by December 2025. See 2014 Minnesota Laws Chapter 182.

Self-insured assessment rate

The self-insured assessment rate is 11.87%. It was determined by dividing the self-insured portion of the Special 
Compensation Fund state-fiscal-year 2026 liability ($14,920,995) by the total 2024 indemnity reported by the self-insured 
employers ($125,688,218).

The amount each self-insurer is assessed is determined by multiplying 11.87% by the indemnities self-reported to DLI for 
calendar year 2024. The total amount assessed is divided into two invoices, the first due Aug. 1, 2025, and the second 
due Feb. 1, 2026 (unless the total amount due is $1,000 or less).

Further information

If you need further information, send an email message to dli.assessment@state.mn.us.

SCF assessment results, continued ...
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New benefit, provider fee levels, and fee schedules effective Oct. 1
The statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) effective Oct. 1, 2025, is $1,423, a 3.72% increase from the current SAWW 
of $1,372, which has been in effect since Oct. 1, 2024. The levels for minimum and maximum weekly benefit payments 
are presented in the table on page 7.

The new SAWW is based on 2024 payroll and employment figures supplied by the Department of Employment and 
Economic Development and the calculation procedure in Minnesota Statutes § 176.011, subdivision 1b. The change in 
the SAWW is the basis for the Minn. Stat. § 176.645 annual benefit adjustment. The time and amount of the adjustments 
are limited by Minn. Stat. § 176.645.

Tables showing the historical value of workers’ compensation benefits, reimbursements, medical services conversion 
factors, maximum hourly vocational rehabilitation rates and independent medical examination (IME) fees are posted on 
the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) website at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-rate-
information-statewide-average-weekly-wage-saww.

Vocational rehabilitation maximum hourly fee adjustments

Pursuant to Minnesota Rules, part 5220.1900, subpart 1b:
	 •	 the maximum qualified rehabilitation consultant (QRC) hourly  
		  rate will increase by 3.00% to $129.98 for rehabilitation  
		  services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2025; and
	 •	 the maximum hourly rate for rehabilitation job development  
		  and placement services, whether provided by rehabilitation  
		  vendors or by QRC firms, will increase by 3.00% to $104.09 on  
		  Oct. 1, 2025.

Relative value medical fee schedule adjustments

The following updates to the workers’ compensation physician fee schedule conversion factors in Minn. R. part 
5221.4005 to 5221.4061 have been made pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.136, subd. 1a, and have been approved by an 
administrative law judge. The rule amendments, which are effective for services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2025, are 
available on DLI’s website at dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
chapter-5221-2025.

	 1.	 Relative value unit (RVU) updates:  As required by law, the Department of Labor and Industry has incorporated  
		  by reference the 2025 Medicare RVU table and the GPCI table (used to geographically adjust the RVUs for  
		  Minnesota). The Notice of Incorporation by Reference of these 2025 tables was published in the State Register on  
		  July 28, 2025.
	 2.	 Conversion factor adjustments:  There are two conversion factor adjustments. First, as required by law, each time   
		  the RVU tables are updated the conversion factors must be adjusted so that, for services in both the new fee  
		  schedule and the one most recently in effect, there is no difference in the overall payment under the fee schedules  
		  for each of the four categories of service. Second, the conversion factors are also required to be annually adjusted  
		  by no more than the percent change in the annual statewide average weekly wage. As in previous years, the annual  
		  adjustment of the conversion factors is based on the percent change in the federal Department of Labor's Producer  
		  Price Index for Offices of Physicians (PPI-P) (annual-average basis), which for 2024 was 1.90%.
 
		  Based on these two adjustments, the conversion factors effective for services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2025, are:
		  •	 for medical/surgical services described in Minn. R. 5221.4030............................................ $67.29;
		  •	 for pathology and laboratory services described in Minn. R. 5221.4040.............................. $59.91;
		  •	 for physical medicine/rehabilitation services described in Minn. R. 5221.4050................... $60.56; and
		  •	 for chiropractic services described in Minn. R. 5221.4060.................................................... $52.15.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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https://mn.gov/admin/assets/SR50_04_tcm36-699734.pdf


6  •  COMPACT  •  September 2025	 dli.mn.gov

LAW CHANGES, DEPARTMENT UPDATES

3. RVU fee schedule rule amendments:  Minnesota Rules, parts 5221.4020, 5221.4030, 5221.4033, 5221.4050 and
5221.4060 have been amended, effective for services on or after Oct. 1, 2025, to implement the adjusted
conversion factors and updated Medicare relative value tables. Specifically, the rules are amended to reflect
Medicare changes to recognized service codes and where necessary to clarify implementation of other sections.
The rule amendments are online at dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/5221-2025_draft_rules.pdf.

Independent medical examination fee adjustment

Minnesota Rules, part 5219.0500, subp. 4, provides for adjustment of the maximum fees for IMEs in the same manner as 
the adjustment of the conversion factors. Therefore, the maximum fees will increase by 1.90% for IME services provided 
on or after Oct. 1, 2025.

A table of the maximum IME fee adjustments from Dec. 1, 1993, to present is available on DLI's website at dli.mn.gov/
business/work-comp-ime-fees.

Link to inpatient PPS Web Pricer under Minn. Stat. § 176.1362, subd. 1

Since Oct. 1, 2021, payment for inpatient services, articles and supplies must be calculated using the inpatient PPS Web 
Pricer available on Medicare's website using the applicable dates of inpatient hospitalization. DLI must publish the link to 
the inpatient PPS Web Pricer on its website.

The link to the inpatient PPS Web Pricer is available at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-
tool-inpatient-hospital-bills.

Hospital catastrophic injury threshold adjustment

The threshold for payment of inpatient hospital services, articles and supplies provided to patients with catastrophic, 
high-cost injuries is adjusted pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 176.1362, subd. 2. For hospital discharges on or after Oct. 1, 2025, 
the threshold amount is adjusted to $330,993. If a hospital's usual and customary charges exceed this amount, payment 
is 75% of the hospital's charges instead of the MS-DRG amount calculated using the inpatient PPS Web Pricer.

Notice of availability of ambulatory surgical center addenda

The fee schedule for workers' compensation ambulatory surgical center (ASC) services is based on the Medicare 
Ambulatory Surgical Center Payment System (ASCPS) addenda AA, BB and DD1, available on the Medicare website as of 
July 1, 2025, and the corresponding Medicare rules and claims processing manual. Payment for workers' compensation 
procedures and services is the ASCPS amount on the total bill multiplied by 320%, or the ASC's total usual and customary 
charges, whichever is less.

Links to Addenda AA, BB and DD1 are available on the DLI website at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/
work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-ascps. They are effective for services provided by an ASC on or after Oct. 1, 2025.

Notice of availability of hospital outpatient fee schedule

The workers' compensation hospital outpatient fee schedule (HOFS) establishes payment rates for workers' 
compensation outpatient hospital services that are listed in the HOFS (see Minn. Stat. § 176.1364). The updated HOFS 
table, effective for services from Oct. 1, 2025, through Sept. 30, 2026, is available on the DLI website at dli.mn.gov/
business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-hofs.

HOFS provides two separate payment rates, one for hospitals with more than 100 licensed beds and one for non-critical 
access hospitals with 100 or fewer licensed beds.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/5221-2025_draft_rules.pdf
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https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-pc-pricer-tool-inpatient-hospital-bills
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-ascps
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-ascps
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-hofs
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-hofs


7  •  COMPACT  •  September 2025	 dli.mn.gov

LAW CHANGES, DEPARTMENT UPDATES

Compensation rates as of Oct. 1, 2025

Maximum under Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 1(b)(1)

Set by statute

10-01-00..........................................................$750.00

10-01-08..........................................................$850.00

102% of SAWW

10-01-13.......................................................... $963.90

10-01-14..........................................................$980.22

10-01-15.......................................................$1,008.78

10-01-16.......................................................$1,046.52

10-01-17.......................................................$1,061.82

10-01-18.......................................................$1,098.54

10-01-19.......................................................$1,134.24

10-01-20.......................................................$1,166.88

10-01-21.......................................................$1,256.64

10-01-22.......................................................$1,312.74

10-01-23.......................................................$1,363.74

108% of SAWW

10-01-24....................................................... $1,481.76

10-01-25.................................................... $1,536.84

Minimum under Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 1(c)

Set by statute, the listed amount or the employee's 
actual weekly wage, whichever is less

10-01-00............$130.00

20% of the maximum weekly benefit or the employee's 
actual weekly wage, whichever is less

10-01-22............$262.55

10-01-23............$272.75

10-01-24............$296.35

10-01-25............$307.37

Statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) = $1,423
Percentage change in SAWW from previous year = 3.72%

(Apply Minnesota Statutes § 176.645 adjustment as necessary based on date of injury.)

Supplementary benefits under Minn. Stat. § 176.132
(Minnesota Statutes 1994)

and permanent total minimum under
Minn. Stat. § 176.101, subd. 4
(for injuries 10-1-95 and later)

10-01-05.................... $503.10	 (rounded to $504)*

10-01-06.................... $508.30	 (rounded to $509)*

10-01-07.................... $525.20	 (rounded to $526)*

10-01-08.................... $552.50	 (rounded to $553)

10-01-09.................... $570.70	 (rounded to $571)*

10-01-10.................... $564.20	 (rounded to $565)*

10-01-11.................... $582.40	 (rounded to $583)*

10-01-12.................... $595.40	 (rounded to $596)*

10-01-13.................... $614.25	 (rounded to $615)*

10-01-14.................... $624.65	 (rounded to $625)*

10-01-15.................... $642.85	 (rounded to $643)*

10-01-16.................... $666.90	 (rounded to $667)*

10-01-17.................... $676.65	 (rounded to $677)*

10-01-18.................... $700.05	 (rounded to $701)*

10-01-19.................... $722.80	 (rounded to $723)*

10-01-20.................... $743.60	 (rounded to $744)*

10-01-21.................... $800.80	 (rounded to $801)

10-01-22.................... $836.55	 (rounded to $837)*

10-01-23.................... $869.05	 (rounded to $870)*

10-01-24.................... $891.80	 (rounded to $892)*

10-01-25....................$924.95	 (rounded to $925)*
*Rounding applies to supplementary benefits.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Editor's note:  The Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) unit at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
(DLI) seeks early intervention in workers' compensation disputes through conferences and mediations. It handles 
calls from the Workers' Compensation Help Desk and responds to questions from all stakeholders.

Ask the ADR and Work Comp Campus pro
DLI's Alternative Dispute Resolution unit 

answers frequently asked questions
By Brian Mak, director, Alternative Dispute Resolution

Q.

Q.

Q.

A.

A.

A.

When initiating a dispute in Work Comp Campus, what are some things to keep in mind for effective filings?

For effective filings in Campus, include (click) all the 
necessary parties in the “Other Parties to the Dispute” 
section. Including the parties to the dispute ensures 
they will be able to access and respond to the dispute. 
Serving parties is not the same as including them as 
parties to the dispute.

Provide details of your request in the “Additional 
Details” section. An additional, more detailed, 
description in this section gives the other parties and 
the arbitrator the most clear understanding of the what 
is being requested and why.

When a dispute is being initiated by counsel for the 
employee, list the adjuster information, where possible. 
This will help certification efforts to be done swiftly.

When an issue is certified following a “Request for Certification” form, the subsequent “Request for Assistance” 
form can and should be filed in that same dispute, rather than initiating a second, new dispute. Using the same 
dispute is faster for the filer and the related pleadings are kept together.

I am an attorney who has initiated a dispute in Campus; why can I not see or access the claim?

To have access to a claim, a “Notice of Appearance” (NOA) or “Notice of Representation” (NOR) Campus 
webform must be filed in that claim. This will give the attorney user access to information, documents and 
other disputes associated with that claim. Because C-Track and Campus are separate systems, an NOA or NOR 
filed at the Court of Administrative Hearings (formerly the Office of Administrative Hearings) will not be 
sufficient for access at the Department of Labor and Industry. A dispute can be initiated even if an NOA or NOR 
was not filed, but the filer would only have access to that dispute.

I want to file an NOA, but cannot locate the claim; how can I file it?

An NOA or NOR can only be filed on a claim if that claim was created via the submission of a first report of 
injury (FROI). If no claim exists, but there is a dispute (which would have been filed with a temporary claim 
shell), an attorney can file an NOA or NOR on that dispute. But the NOA or NOR will still need to be filed on 
that new claim after the claim is created.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Translated webpages, materials, Language Line available via DLI website
The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) posts its available translated materials online at dli.mn.gov/translations. It 
has documents available in Chinese, Hmong, Karen, Somali and Spanish. A few other documents throughout the website 
are available in additional languages.

The DLI website now also provides Google Translate near 
the upper left corner of each page, allowing visitors to 
choose the language for the website text.

In addition, DLI has access to Language Line, a free 
language translation phone service for limited-English 
speakers. If DLI help is needed, view the contact 
information at dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/
contact-us, call and a DLI employee will get in touch with 
an interpreter in the needed language.

Workers' compensation, Campus assistance available by phone, email
The Workers' Compensation Help Desk is available to answer basic questions related to workers' compensation or 
Work Comp Campus. It will also route more complex questions to subject matter experts within the Workers' 
Compensation Division.

Live support is available 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays). Voicemail messages left 
outside of office hours will be responded to within 24 hours of the next business day.

	 •	651-284-5005 (press 3)	 •	 800-342-5354 (press 3)	 •	 helpdesk.dli@state.mn.us

Are you registered to vote?
The Minnesota Secretary of State website has everything you need to know about voting in 
Minnesota. Visit sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting to register to vote, find out where and how you 
can cast your vote, what’s on your ballot and more.

Now:  Sixteen- and 17-year-olds can pre-register to vote in Minnesota.

I
VOTED

http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.dli.mn.gov/translations
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/contact-us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/contact-us
mailto:helpdesk.dli%40state.mn.us?subject=
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Workers’ compensation trends continue stability, long-term downward 
trajectories
Workers’ compensation claim rates and benefits paid in Minnesota continue to be stable or follow their long-term 
downward trajectories, a new Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) report shows.

The 2025 Minnesota Workers’ Compensation System Report presents 
trend data from 2003 to the present regarding several aspects of 
Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system. For the past four years, 
the report has tracked two sets of trends for the workers’ 
compensation system:  one for the whole system, including COVID-19 
claims; and another for the system excluding COVID-19 claims, which 
shows a pattern more similar to prior years.

Significant findings

	 •	Relative to the number of full-time-equivalent (FTE) workers,  
		  the total number of paid claims dropped by 45%, indemnity  
		  claims by 28% and medical-only claims by 50% from 2003 to  
		  2023. The total claim rate reached its lowest level in 2023  
		  compared to any other reported year.

		  –	COVID-19:  There was a 43% increase in the indemnity claim  
			   rate from 2019 to 2022, due to the influx of COVID-19  
			   indemnity claims. However, in 2023, with the large decline  
			   in COVID-19 claims, the indemnity claim rate reverted to  
			   the rate observed before the pandemic.

	 •	Between 2003 and 2023, indemnity benefits per $100 of payroll fell 38% and medical  
		  benefits per $100 of payroll fell 50%.

	 •	The estimated total cost of Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system was $1.80 billion for 2023, or $0.91 per  
		  $100 of payroll, indicating a decrease of 45% over 20 years.

	 •	 In 2023, on a current-payment basis, the three largest components of total workers’ compensation system cost  
		  were medical benefits (33.5%), insurer expenses (32.7%) and indemnity benefits other than vocational  
		  rehabilitation (29.2%).

	 •	Compared to 2003, the average amount of time an injured worker received total disability benefits was 18% longer  
		  in 2023 for non-COVID-19 claims. The average duration of temporary partial disability (TPD) fell 20% by 2023 for  
		  non-COVID-19 claims.

		  –	COVID-19:  Total disability duration decreased 35% from 2019 to 2022 due to the significantly shorter duration of  
			   COVID-19 claims. In 2023, total disability duration was closer to pre-pandemic levels. TPD duration increased 8%  
			   from 2019 to 2023.

After adjusting for average wage growth, the following was found.

	 •	Total disability benefits (temporary total disability benefits and permanent total disability benefits combined) per  
		  paid indemnity claim were largely stable from 2003 to 2019, but increased 12% from 2019 through 2023 for  
		  non-COVID-19 claims.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Subscribe to DLI's email newsletters
Did you know the Department of Labor and Industry offers more than two dozen email lists you can subscribe to 
to receive news targeted to specific groups? (If you are reading this, you are probably on the COMPACT email list.)

Lists related to workers' compensation news include:
	 •	 Adjusters updates	 •	 Attorney updates
	 •	 COMPACT	 •	 Campus Connect
	 •	 Employer updates	 •	 Medical providers updates
	 •	 Rehabilitation providers updates	 •	 Trading partner updates 

Other email lists are available for:
	 •	 Labor and Industry News	 •	 Apprenticeship, dual-training and Youth Skills Training
	 •	 Construction codes, licensing and building trades	 •	 Labor standards, worker rights, wage and hour
	 •	 Minnesota OSHA and workplace safety	 •	 Rulemaking

To learn more about the available email lists, visit dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/sign-news-
department-labor-and-industry.

		  –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, total disability benefits per paid indemnity claim fell 27% from  
			   2019 to 2022, but increased above pre-pandemic levels in 2023.

	 •	TPD benefits per paid indemnity claim fell 38% from 2003 to 2023 for non-COVID-19 claims.

		  –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, there was a 37% decrease in TPD benefits per paid indemnity  
			   claim from 2019 to 2022, but increased to pre-pandemic levels in 2023.

	 •	Permanent partial disability (PPD) benefits per paid indemnity claim fell 74% from 2003 to 2023 for non-COVID-19  
		  claims.
		
		  –	COVID-19:  When COVID-19 claims were included, the decrease from 2003 to 2023 was 75%. From 2019 to 2023  
			   there was a 32% decrease in PPD benefits per paid indemnity claim.

	 •	Participation in vocational rehabilitation rose from 21% of paid indemnity claims for injury-year 2003 to 24% for  
		  2019, but decreased to 23% among non-COVID-19 indemnity claims for injuries in 2023.

		  –	COVID-19:  The 2023 vocational rehabilitation participation rate was 22% when COVID-19 indemnity claims are  
			   included.

	 •	The denial rate for non-COVID-19 claims with 2023 injuries was 16.6%, which is less than the 17.4% rate observed  
		  in 2022.

		  –	COVID-19:  The denial rate of filed indemnity claims, with COVID-19 claims included, was 23% for 2023. This was  
			   below the rate of 30% for 2022.

	 •	 In 2024, 86% of scheduled mediations were completed, while 28% of scheduled medical conferences and 25% of
		  scheduled rehabilitation conferences were completed.

The complete report is available at dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-
compensation-system-report.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/sign-news-department-labor-and-industry
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/sign-news-department-labor-and-industry
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-compensation-system-report
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-minnesota-workers-compensation-system-report
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DATA, REPORTS

CompFact:  Study analyzes work comp premium rates; median index 
rate decreases
Oregon has published the most recent edition of its premium rate ranking study, Oregon Workers’ Compensation 
Premium Rate Ranking. This edition of the study analyzes premium rates effective through Jan. 1, 2024. The study 
compares premium rates across all jurisdictions for a shared set of industry class codes, weighted by Oregon’s payroll for 
each class code. Only Oregon’s 50 largest classes were used in the industry mix. These index rates are not the average 
premium rates paid by employers, since each of the 51 jurisdictions has a unique payroll distribution. However, the 
Oregon study reflects premium differences for a standardized set of industry classes.

Nationally, the median index rate decreased by 14.2% from 2022 to a value of 1.09 and is the lowest median in the 
history of the study, which started with 1986 rates. The national median has been decreasing since reaching 2.58 in 
2004. The Oregon national study median tracks very closely with the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics’ data series on 
national workers’ compensation costs.

Minnesota’s ranking dropped five places, from 12th to 17th highest, from 2022 to 2024 (Table 1). Even with this drop in 
the rankings, Minnesota’s index rate remains slightly higher than Iowa’s. Wisconsin has the highest ranking of the 
surrounding states, at seventh highest. Changes in insurers’ expense load factors due to the recent changes in how the 
Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Insurers Association calculates the advisory pure premium rates may have 
contributed to Minnesota’s decreased index rate and lower ranking.

State 2022 rank 
(1 = highest)

2024 rank 
(1 = highest)

Index rate 
(cost per $100 payroll)

Percent of study 
median

Minnesota 12 17 1.25 114%
Wisconsin  8  7 1.42 130%
Iowa 14 19 1.21 110%
South Dakota 25 22 1.13 103%
North Dakota 51 51 0.50   45%

Source:  Oregon Workers' Compensation Premium Rate Ranking:  Calendar Year 2024.

Report:  PTSD claims in Minnesota’s workers’ compensation system
In 2023, the Minnesota Legislature directed the Department of Labor and 
Industry (DLI) to conduct a study about post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) 
claims in the workers’ compensation system and issue a report with its findings 
and recommendations by Aug. 1, 2025.

DLI partnered with the Midwest Center for Occupational Health and Safety at 
the University of Minnesota to complete the PTSD study and prepare the 
report.

The report, Evaluating PTSD claims in Minnesota’s workers’ compensation 
system:  Findings and recommendations, provides a comprehensive 
examination and analysis of PTSD claims in the workers' compensation system.

Visit DLI’s PTSD study webpage for more information.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/DCBSPubs/reports/general/prem-rpt/24-2083.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/DCBSPubs/reports/general/prem-rpt/24-2083.pdf
https://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/2025_PTSD_report.pdf
https://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/2025_PTSD_report.pdf
https://dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/post-traumatic-stress-disorder-study
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EVENTS, TRAINING

Register today for MWCIA, WCRA Minnesota Work Comp Forum, Oct. 14
Get ready for an unparalleled experience at the one-day Minnesota Work Comp Forum 
on Tuesday, Oct. 14, in celebration of the core of the Minnesota workers' compensation 
community. The Minnesota Workers' Compensation Insurers Association (MWCIA) 
and the Workers' Compensation Reinsurance Association (WCRA) have united to 
bring you an unforgettable day of learning and networking.

This is your chance to immerse yourself in dynamic sessions led by industry 
trailblazers, connect with fellow professionals from both local and regional 
backgrounds, and deepen your expertise in this essential field. Whether you are 
aiming to elevate your skills or forge valuable connections, this event is a must.

Register now and watch for exciting updates about the distinguished sponsors, 
exhibitors and speakers committed to enhancing your experience.

Be a part of Workplace Rights Week 2025 – Sept. 21 through 27
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has been 
planning the second annual Workplace Rights Week, taking place 
Sept. 21 through 27, 2025. The week is an opportunity to educate 
workers and employers across Minnesota about their rights and 
responsibilities on the job. Safe and healthy workplaces make our 
economy and communities strong and it is important Minnesotans 
know and are empowered to assert those rights.

In 2024, DLI launched the first-ever Workplace Rights Week, during which DLI staff members visited 1,243 businesses in 
29 cities, hosted webinars with partners and joined Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan at a worksite event to increase awareness of 
workplace rights in Minnesota. The first year was a success and 2025 is expected to be even bigger.

We invite you to join us in this effort. DLI is looking to partner with organizations to host webinars, distribute educational 
materials or host other events. If you want to collaborate with us or plan your own event during Workplace Rights Week 
2025, email Diana Salas at diana.salas@state.mn.us. 

To see what is already planned for Workplace Rights Week 2025, visit dli.mn.gov/rights-week.

Register today:  Minnesota CLE Work Comp Deskbook Seminar, Dec. 5
On Friday, Dec. 5, join your colleagues for the Minnesota CLE 2025 
Workers’ Compensation Deskbook seminar. In addition to getting up to 
date on all the new case law developments and other important topics, 
you will also receive must-have resources for attorneys practicing in 
this area of law:

1. the 2025 Update to the Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Deskbook;
2. a one-year subscription to the LinkedLaw (online) version of the entire Deskbook, which contains links to all the

authority you need when researching; and
3. the 2025 Workers’ Compensation Benefit Calculation Chart.

Don’t miss this once-a-year event – great education and great fun! Register today at minncle.org/seminar/1052232601.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
https://www.mnworkcompforum.com
mailto:diana.salas%40state.mn.us?subject=
http://www.dli.mn.gov/rights-week
https://www.minncle.org/seminar/1052232601
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Workers' compensation events calendar
Note:  Event dates may change. Always check the online calendar at

dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/events-workers-compensation.

September 2025

Sept. 21-27	 Workplace Rights Week

Sept. 26	 Training:  OSHA recordkeeping basics

October 2025

Oct. 8	 Workers' Compensation Advisory Council

Oct. 16	 Medical Services Review Board

Oct. 30	 Rehabilitation Review Panel

November 2025

Nov. 19	 Workers' Compensation Insurers' Task Force

Training:  OSHA recordkeeping basics offered online Sept. 26
The Department of Labor and Industry is offering a free, online introductory-level training seminars about OSHA 
recordkeeping requirements Friday, Sept. 26, from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Maintaining an accurate OSHA log of recordable work-related injuries and illnesses is an important skill that benefits 
employers, workers, safety professionals and government agencies.

Topics
• Recordability of injuries and illnesses	 •	 Classifying cases
• Counting time • Privacy cases
• How many logs to keep • Maintaining logs
• Creating a log summary • Reporting log data to OSHA
• Recording COVID-19 cases
• Differences between OSHA cases and workers' compensation claims

More information
Learn more about these sessions and register to attend (required) on the MNOSHA Compliance:  Recordkeeping 
standard webpage.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/events-workers-compensation
https://www.dli.mn.gov/rights-week
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-recordkeeping-standard
https://dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/workers-compensation-advisory-council
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/medical-services-review-board
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/rehabilitation-review-panel
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/workers-compensation-insurers-task-force
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-recordkeeping-standard
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workplace-safety-and-health/mnosha-compliance-recordkeeping-standard
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COURT DECISIONS

Workers’ Compensation
Court of Appeals

May through July 2025

Case summaries published are 
those prepared by the WCCA Decisions

Summaries of

Michael E. Hill v. Federal Express Corporation, May 5, 2025

Discontinuance – NOID 
Statutes Construed – Minnesota Statutes § 176.239, Subdivision 6

At an expedited administrative conference under Minnesota Statutes § 176.239, subdivision 6, an employer and insurer 
must show reasonable grounds to discontinue the employee’s wage loss benefits.

Practice and Procedure – Matters at Issue 
Discontinuance – Matters at Issue 

Statutes Construed – Minn. Stat. § 176.238, Subd. 5

At a de novo hearing on a petition to discontinue benefits under Minn. Stat. § 176.238, subd. 5, the employer and insurer 
must show a basis for discontinuance by a preponderance of the evidence, and the compensation judge did not err by 
failing to consider whether the employer and insurer had reasonable grounds for their petition to discontinue.

Discontinuance – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employer and insurer had not proven that the 
effects of the employee’s work injury had fully resolved without restrictions as they had claimed.

Affirmed

Linder Konneh v. Sundog Enterprises, June 5, 2025

Causation – Temporary Injury

The record as a whole, including testimony and medical record evidence, supports the compensation judge’s finding that 
the employee suffered a temporary injury to her low back as a result of the work injury, even in the absence of expert 
medical opinion.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Evidence – Medical Expert Opinion

It was an abuse of the compensation judge’s discretion to rely upon medical records with no causation discussion or 
analysis in finding that the employee’s current right knee injury was ongoing and causally related to the work injury.

Affirmed in part, modified in part and reversed in part.

Allen McKissic v. Bor-Son Construction, Inc., June 30, 2025

Appeals – Interlocutory Order

The compensation judge’s order denying a motion to dismiss a medical request is not appealable as the order did not 
constitute a final decision on the merits.

Practice and Procedure – Dismissal

An order of dismissal without prejudice does not support a later assertion of collateral estoppel or res judicata because 
the dismissal order does not affect the merits of the case.

Dismissed.

Joely Johnson v. Provide Care, Inc., July 18, 2025

Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

An examination of the employee, taking a history and a review of the medical records by a doctor provide a level of 
knowledge sufficient to establish the doctor’s competence to render an expert medical opinion.

Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

Where evidence in the record supports the basis for a doctor’s opinion that an employee’s preexisting condition was the 
cause of her ongoing condition, not her work injury, the doctor’s opinion does not lack foundation.

Causation – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including adequately founded expert medical opinion, supports the compensation judge’s decision 
granting the employer and insurer’s petition to discontinue the employee’s benefits.

Affirmed.

http://www.dli.mn.gov
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COURT DECISIONS

Minnesota
Supreme Court

May through July 2025

Case summaries published are 
those prepared by the WCCA

Decisions
Workers' Compensation

Bobby Lykins, by George Duranske, conservator, v. Anderson Contracting, Inc., May 21, 2025

The Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals has discretion under Minnesota Statutes § 176.521, subdivision 3, to set 
aside a workers’ compensation award made upon a settlement that is not valid under Minn. Stat. § 176.521, subd. 1(a).

Substantial evidence in the employee’s petition to set aside an award supported a prima facie showing that the 
employee was an incapacitated person when he signed agreements to settle his workers’ compensation claims.

Minnesota Statutes § 176.092, subd. 3, does not apply when the employee has been assigned a conservator.

In a workers’ compensation proceeding involving an allegation that an employee was an incapacitated person at the time 
of settlement, the workers’ compensation courts have subject-matter jurisdiction to determine whether the employee 
was incapacitated.

Where an allegation that an employee was incapacitated at the time of settlement is made in a petition to set aside an 
award on settlement, the matter may be referred to the Office of Administrative Hearings for assignment to a 
compensation judge to determine whether the employee was incapacitated at that time.

Affirmed in part; vacated in part.

James Jurgensen v. Dave Perkins Contracting, Inc., June 25, 2025

The 2024 amendments to Minnesota Statutes § 176.081, which increases the cap on attorney fees in workers’ 
compensation cases, does not apply retroactively.

The Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals (WCCA) did not err by declining to automatically approve the requested 
excess fee.

Minnesota Statutes § 176.081, subdivision 1(a) (2022), which provides a presumptive cap on attorney fees, does not 
violate the Contracts Clause of the Minnesota Constitution.

WCCA did not err by affirming the compensation judge’s denial of excess attorney fees under Irwin v. Surdyk’s Liquor, 599 
N.W.2d 132 (Minn. 1999).

Affirmed.

http://www.dli.mn.gov


D4  •  COMPACT  •  September 2025	 dli.mn.gov

COURT DECISIONS

Lucas Peterson v. City of Minneapolis, July 16, 2025

The Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals did not err in affirming the compensation judge’s finding that the 
employee has a compensable mental injury because that finding is not manifestly contrary to the evidence, which 
included testimony by a licensed professional psychologist that, based on the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and 
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the employee has a present diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

The Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals erred in addressing the employee’s argument that he was entitled to 
compensation benefits for a diagnosis of other specified trauma and stressor-related disorder (OSTD) as a consequential 
mental injury of PTSD because that issue was moot given the record here, where the employee’s expert psychologist 
opined that the employee’s OSTD diagnosis was “subthreshold PTSD” and the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals 
decided that the employee is entitled to compensation benefits for a present diagnosis of PTSD.

The Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals did not err in affirming the compensation judge’s award of a penalty for 
frivolous denial of primary liability.

Affirmed in part and reversed in part.

http://www.dli.mn.gov

