
 

 

 

How to apply to the Contractor Recovery Fund 

The purpose of the Contractor Recovery Fund (the Fund) is to compensate certain owners or 

lessees of residential property (located in Minnesota) who have suffered a direct and out-of-pocket 

loss due to the misconduct of a licensed residential contractor. 

 
This packet contains the information and materials necessary to apply to the Fund. 

▪ How the Fund works 

▪ Before you apply to the Fund 

▪ What is a judgment? 

▪ How do I file an application to the Fund? 

▪ Instructions for submitting an application about a contractor’s misconduct 

▪ Application for compensation from the Contractor Recovery Fund 

 
To be eligible for payment from the Fund the licensed contractor must have engaged in one of the 

following while performing any of the special skills enumerated under Minn. Stat. §326B.802, subd. 15 

(2024): 

▪ fraudulent practices 

▪ deceptive practices 

▪ dishonest practices 

▪ the conversion of funds, or 

▪ failed to perform 

 
You should review Minn. Stat. § 326B.89 before you submit an application. This law determines whether 

you will qualify for compensation from the Fund and which losses may be eligible. It also describes how 

to correctly serve the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) with a 

verified application for compensation from the Fund. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155 • 651-284-5010 • www.dli.mn.gov 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/


P a g e  2 | 12 

How the Fund works 

Each residential building contractor licensed by DLI must pay a fee into the Fund each year. The DLI 
commissioner administers the Fund, reviews cases, determines whether a homeowner is eligible, and 
decides the amount of compensation available based on the circumstances. 

DLI reviews each application to determine if it meets the statutory requirements for compensation from the 
Fund and pays compensation to the eligible homeowners or lessees. Applicants may be paid an amount up 
to $100,000, depending on a number of factors. 

However, there is no guarantee you will receive money from the Fund. Whether you receive payment from 
the Fund depends on the facts of your case. 

Generally, you can apply to the Fund to recover the amount of actual and direct out-of-pocket loss on the 
applicant’s owner occupied residential real estate that occurs as a result of a transaction with your licensed 
residential contractor. 

The following costs are NOT eligible for compensation: 

▪ attorney fees,
▪ interest on the loss,
▪ sweat equity,
▪ statutory costs awarded under Minn. Stat. § 549.02, and
▪ pre-judgment and post-judgment interest.

Before you apply to the Fund 

Contact the Recovery Fund Administrator at (651) 284-5057. The administrator will assist you with the 
following: 

▪ Verify the name of the residential contractor and whether they were licensed at the time the work 
was performed. (Only licensed residential contractors pay into the Fund.)

▪ Make certain there are funds available to cover losses caused by your residential contractor.
(Multiple claims against the same contractor may reduce the amount of available funds.)

▪ Determine the dollar amount of your loss. If your loss is $15,000 or less, you may go to Conciliation 
Court (small claims court) to obtain a judgment. If your loss is more than $15,000, you will need to go 
to District Court to obtain a judgment. You must obtain a judgment.

▪ Make certain your judgment has been obtained against the licensed residential contractor. Your 
judgment must be against the licensed individual and/or entity to be eligible for compensation 
from the Fund.
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• For example, if your contractor is incorporated, obtain a judgment against the corporation. If your
contractor is an individual proprietor, [Joe Doe, doing business as (d/b/a) Doe Construction] obtain
your judgment against the individual and their assumed (d/b/a) name. If your contractor is a
partnership, obtain your judgment against each partner and the partnership name.

What is a judgment? 

A judgment is the result of filing a successful lawsuit or the filing of a settlement agreement reached 
through mediation. A judgment from the court legally verifies the offense committed by the licensed 
residential contractor and the dollar value of your loss. This judgment may be obtained in Conciliation 
Court, District Court or any other court of competent jurisdiction such as Bankruptcy Court. 

The judgment must be based on a claim of fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest practices, conversion of funds, 
or failure of performance that arose directly out of transaction that occurred when the residential contractor 
was licensed and performing any of the special skills enumerated in Minn. Stat. § 326B.802, subd. 15 (2024). 

The residential contractor must have been licensed at the time the work was performed and have paid into 
the Fund. 

After you obtain your judgment you must “docket” and formally “enter” your judgment in District Court, this 
makes your judgment a legal collectable document. Contact the Clerk of District Court of the county in which 
you obtained your judgment for instructions. 

Once you have a docketed judgment, you may file an application for payment from the Fund.  

The verified application must be submitted within two years after the judgment becomes final. 

How do I file an application to the Fund? 

When you apply to the Fund you must complete these items for the process to work successfully. 

1. You must have a final judgment against the licensed residential contractor.

2. If your judgment is based on a Stipulation, Default or Confession of Judgment you must include
all documentation to prove underlying cause of action against the licensee.

3. If the Commissioner pays compensation to an applicant, the Commissioner shall be subrogated to all
of the rights, title and interest in the applicant’s final judgment in the amount of the compensation
paid from the Fund. This requires the applicant to assign all rights, title, and interest in the final
judgment in the amount of compensation paid to the Commissioner.

According to Minn. Stat. § 326B.89, subd. 9, applications to the Fund are subject to allocation. If the 
calculated amount exceeds the amount available for payments, DLI can allocate the amount available among 
the owners and the lessees. 
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Application deadline 

The two deadlines for submitting applications to the Fund are July 1 and January 1. 

Procedure 

Once an application is received by the Fund, the administrator reviews the application and determines 

whether the applicant is eligible for compensation and the actual and direct out-of-pocket loss suffered in the 

transaction. 

Within 120 days of receipt of a completed application, DLI’s commissioner will enter into an agreement 

with the applicant that resolves the verified application for compensation or issues an order that accepts, 

modifies or denies the verified application for compensation from the Fund. The order will become a final 

order that may not be reviewed by any court or agency unless the commissioner is timely served a written 

request for hearing. 

Written requests for a hearing 

If an applicant timely serves a written request for hearing to the DLI commissioner, a hearing before an 

administrative law judge (ALJ) will be requested within 30 days after service. The commissioner may 

petition the ALJ to continue the hearing up to 60 days or longer if the commissioner shows good cause. 

At the hearing, the applicant has the burden of proving by substantial evidence the affirmations made in 

the verified application. After the hearing, the ALJ shall issue findings of fact and conclusions of law and 

order. 

If the ALJ determines that compensation from the Fund shall be made, the amount of compensation will be 

determined by the limitations of Minn. Stat. § 326B.89. The ALJ’s order is the final decision of the 

commissioner, unless a petition for judicial review of the contested case is served according to Minn. Stat. 

§§ 14.63-14.69.

Payment 

The commissioner shall pay compensation from the fund pursuant to the terms of an agreement that has 
been entered into by December 31 for applications submitted by July 1 or June 30 for applications 
submitted by January 1 of the fiscal year. 

Additional information 

If a contractor has filed for bankruptcy … 
You may still be able to file a lawsuit for the sole purpose of recovering your actual and direct out-of-pocket 

loss from Fund. You will need to petition the Judge of Bankruptcy Court to lift the automatic stay, explain 

that your lawsuit is only to obtain compensation from the Fund, and you understand that you will not be 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.89
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.63
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.63
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able to collect the judgment from the contractor directly. You may want to consult an attorney for 

additional information regarding how to lift an automatic stay in a bankruptcy proceeding. 

If you are a subsequent homeowner 

If the homeowner who obtains a judgment was not the owner at the time the contract was signed and the 

work was done, he or she will not qualify for payment from the Fund unless the subsequent homeowner 

obtained a final judgment specifically based on the breach of the statutory warranty enumerated in Minn. 

Stat. chapter 327A. The homeowner would then meet the statutory requirements to be eligible for 

compensation from the Fund. 

The state’s home warranty law requires builders to warrant their homes to be free from major construction 

defects for 10 years. Minn. Stat. § 327A.02, subd. 1 (2024). A major construction defect is defined in the 

statute as “actual damage to the load-bearing portion of the dwelling (home) … including damage due to 

subsidence (sinking), expansion, or lateral movement of the soil, which affects the load-bearing function and 

which vitally affects, or is imminently likely to vitally affect, use of the dwelling for residential purposes.” 

Minn. Stat. § 327A.01, subd. 5 (2024). 

Collecting money 

If the Contractor Recovery Fund makes payment to you, it will attempt to collect this money from the 

contractor. In order for the Fund to collect the money, you need to assign to the Commissioner your rights to 

collect from the contractor the amount of money you have received from the Fund. You will receive an 

“assignment” form from our department that you will need to sign and have notarized. If your judgment was 

for an amount greater than the payment you received from the Fund, you may still attempt to collect the 

balance of the judgment directly from the contractor. 

Reduction of payment amount 

If our department is required to pay you from the Fund, there are two circumstances that would reduce 

the amount of any payment to you. 

1. If the Commissioner determines at the end of the fiscal year that the total amount of compensation

to be paid from the Fund pursuant to agreements and final orders is greater than the funds available

for payment, then the Commissioner must allocate the available funds among all claimants.

2. If at the end of the calendar year, the total amount of approved claims against one contractor exceeds

$550,000, the Commissioner will prorate the available funds among the claimants. This means if there

are multiple claims against your contractor, your payment may be less since the available dollars in

the Fund for that contractor will have to be prorated among the applicants. The Commissioner will

mail notice of allocation to all affected claimants not less than 45 days following the end of the fiscal

year.
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How to submit an application for a contractor’s misconduct 

To apply, the applicant must assemble and label all of the following documents: 

1. The original completed “Verified Application for Compensation from the Contractor Recovery Fund.”
This application is attached. (Sign the application before a notary public.)

2. A copy of the Judgment Notice (Conciliation Court) or Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for
Judgment, and Judgment (if Judgment obtained in District Court.)

3. A copy of the Court Clerk’s Notice of Entry and Docketing of Judgment in District Court.

4. If your judgment is based on a Stipulation, Default or Confession of Judgment you must include
all documentation to prove underlying cause of action against the licensee.

5. You must make an honest effort to collect the judgment from the licensed residential contractor.

6. A copy of the Statement of Claim and Summons (if claim was filed in Conciliation Court) or Summons
and Complaint (if claim was filed in District Court).

7. If applicable, provide documents that you have received from your homeowner’s insurance or
your licensed residential contractor’s insurance company concerning damages to your home.

8. A copy of the entire contract between you and the licensed residential contractor. You must
include copies of all change orders, allowance sheets and plans and specifications.

9. You must provide proof of payment to the licensed residential contractor. When providing this
information, you must clearly demonstrate how payment was made and the total amount paid.
This information must be provided in chart format:

Sample: 
Check # Date Paid Paid to: Amount Exhibit # 
1011 1/5/20 Joe’s Construction $5,000.00 8A 
1012 1/22/20 Joe’s Construction $3,020.00 9B 

10. Provide as exhibits, copies of any cancelled check (front and back), money order, cashier’s check, or
any statement(s) that would prove that you made a payment that was received by the licensed
residential contractor.

• If loan draws were made, provide a breakdown, in chart format, of the documentation that
would connect those draws to the licensed residential contractor along with the supporting
documentation.

• If payment was made through an insurance company, you must request and obtain a copy of
the check(s) and the endorsed signature (front and back) from the insurance company.

• If new construction, you must provide a copy of the U.S. Department of Housing and



P a g e  7 | 12 

Urban Development (HUD) Settlement Statement. This will support the amount paid, and 
the buyer and the seller (contractor). 

11. It is the Applicant’s responsibility to provide documentation supporting the actual and direct out- 
of-pocket loss. Provide a breakdown of what work needs to be completed and/or repaired. When
providing this information, the work that needs to be completed needs to be clearly stated. This
information must be provided in chart format:

Sample: 

Vendor Name Amount of 
Estimate 

Work to be 
performed 

How does this estimate/bill relate 
to the original contract? Indicate 
where it is outlined in the original 
contract. 

Exhibit # 

Joe’s 
Construction 

$3,000 Finish 
installing 
railings 

Railings were not completed. See 
item #4 on original contract. 

9A 

These receipts/estimates must only be for work as it relates to the original contract with the licensed 
residential contractor. In addition, the Fund will not accept copies of checks for supplies unless 
accompanied by the receipts from the store showing what was purchased. When applicable, provide 
copies of any inspection report(s) that will support your application. The documentation supplied 
must concur with the Statement of Claim. 

• If you are providing copies of liens to be included in the calculation of your actual and direct out- 
of- pocket loss you must have them listed and labeled as exhibits. The Fund will only consider liens
that have officially filed with the court. The copy you provide must show the county clerk’s notice
of filing.

Send the application and all supporting documents directly to the Recovery Fund Administrator at the address 
shown on the cover page. Your claim will be considered incomplete if you fail to provide all the required 
information in the format requested. Failure to provide all the required information may delay review 
and/or approval of the application. 

Note: The facts specified in your application may require additional information or documents that are not 
discussed in this packet. 
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How to serve the residential contractor 

If you are unable to locate the licensed residential contractor, service can be accomplished by complying 
with Minn. Stat. § 326B.855 (2024). You may want to give a copy of this statute to the court. 

 326B.855 SERVICE OF PROCESS. 

Subdivision 1. Procedure. 

Every applicant for licensure or certificate of exemption under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885 shall 

irrevocably consent to the appointment of the commissioner and successors in office to be the applicant's agent 

to receive service of any lawful process in any noncriminal suit, action, or proceeding against the 

applicant or a successor, executor, or administrator which arises under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885 or any 

rule or order thereunder after the consent has been filed, with the same force and validity as if served 

personally on the person filing the consent. Service under this section shall be made in compliance with 

subdivision 3. 

Subd. 2. Service on commissioner. 

(a) When a person, including any nonresident of this state, engages in conduct prohibited or made

actionable by sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, or any rule or order under those sections, and the person has 

not consented to service of process under subdivision 1, that conduct is equivalent to an appointment of the 

commissioner and successors in office as the person's agent to receive service of process in any noncriminal 

suit, action, or proceeding against the person that is based on that conduct and is brought under sections 

326B.802 to 326B.885, or any rule or order under those sections, with the same force and validity as if 

served personally on the person consenting to the appointment of the commissioner and successors in office. 

Service under this section shall be made in compliance with subdivision 3. 

(b) Subdivision 3 applies in all other cases in which a person, including a nonresident of this state, has

filed a consent to service of process. This paragraph supersedes any inconsistent provision of law. 

(c) Subdivision 3 applies in all cases in which service of process is allowed to be made on the

commissioner. 

Subd. 3. How made. 

Service of process under this section may be made by leaving a copy of the process in the office of the 

commissioner, or by sending a copy of the process to the commissioner by certified mail, and is not effective unless: 

(1) the plaintiff, who may be the commissioner in an action or proceeding instituted by the

commissioner, sends notice of the service and a copy of the process by certified mail to the defendant or 

respondent at the last known address; and 

(2) the plaintiff's affidavit of compliance is filed in the action or proceeding on or before the return day

of the process, if any, or within further time as the court allows. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.802&amp%3Bstat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.885&amp%3Bstat.326B.885
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.802&amp%3Bstat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.885&amp%3Bstat.326B.885
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.802&amp%3Bstat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.885&amp%3Bstat.326B.885
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.802&amp%3Bstat.326B.802
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes?id=326B.885&amp%3Bstat.326B.885
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Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry APPLICATION FOR COMPENSATION FROM 
Contractor Recovery Fund THE CONTRACTOR RECOVERY FUND: 
443 Lafayette Road N. FOR A CONTACTOR’S MISCONDUCT 
St. Paul, MN 55155 
(651) 284-5057

Name of owner/lessee (applicant/s): 

Address: 

Name of contractor (licensee): 

Contractor license number: 

PURSUANT TO Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.89 (2024) the Applicant, for their verified application for 

compensation from the Contractor Recovery Fund, state and affirm as follows: 

1. The Applicant is an Owner of residential real estate or a Lessee of residential real estate that is

eligible for payment of compensation from the Contractor Recovery Fund;

2. The specific grounds upon which the Applicant seeks to recover from the fund are:

3. The Applicant obtained a Final Judgment in the amount of $ in a court of 

competent jurisdiction against the Licensee, which was entered on , 

and docketed on , and is incorporated herein by reference; 



P a g e  10 | 12 

4. The Applicant received $ toward the amount of the Final Judgment on 

 OR The Applicant has not received any payment toward 

the amount of the Final Judgment; (Cross out the sentence that does not apply.) 

5. The Final Judgment against the Licensee was obtained on the grounds of fraudulent, deceptive, or

dishonest practices, conversion of funds, or failure of performance that arose directly out of a

transaction that occurred between the Applicant and the Licensee when the Licensee was licensed and

performing any of the special skills enumerated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.02, subd. 15 (2024);

6. All proceedings on the judgment specified in item three have either been pursued and concluded or

have been foregone, and there are no reviews or appeals pending in any court.

7. The amount of the Applicant’s actual and direct out-of-pocket loss on the residential real estate or

the leased residential real estate, or on new residential real estate that has never been occupied or

that was occupied by the Licensee for less than one year prior to purchase by the Applicant, is

$ ;

8. The residential real estate is located at (address) , City of 

, County of , State of Minnesota, (ZIP code); 

9. The Applicant is not the spouse of the Licensee or the personal representative of the Licensee;

10. The Applicant knows of no other individual or entity that would be liable to the Applicant in the

transaction for which the Applicant is seeking recovery from the Contractor Recovery Fund. OR Other

parties that are liable, or may be liable, to the Applicant in the transaction for which the Applicant is

seeking recovery from the Contractor Recovery Fund are: (Cross out the sentence that does not

apply.)
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11. The Applicant filed a claim with their homeowner’s insurance carrier on ____________________

based upon the facts alleged in the Final Judgment the Applicant obtained against the Licensee,

and received $  for their claim/the claim is pending/the claim has

been denied (circle one). OR The Applicant has not filed a claim with their homeowner’s insurance

carrier; (Cross out the sentence that does not apply.)

12. The Applicant filed a claim with the Licensee’s insurance carrier on

, based upon the facts alleged in the Final Judgment the Applicant obtained 

against the Licensee, and received $      for that claim/the 

claim is pending/the claim has been denied (circle one). OR The Applicant has not filed a claim with 

the Licensee’s insurance carrier; (cross out the sentence that does not apply.) 

13. The Applicant has taken the following steps to try to collect on the Final Judgment:

14. This verified application is served upon the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of

Labor and Industry within two years of the date the Final Judgment specified in item three

became final; and

15. The Applicant has complied with all the requirements of Minn. Stat. § 326B.89 (2024).

NOW, THEREFORE, the Applicant requests the following.  

An Agreement or Order directing payment from the Contractor Recovery Fund to the Applicant 

herein in the amount of $ , said amount being equal to the Applicant’s actual and direct out-of-

pocket loss/amount of the Final Judgment (circle one), but excluding attorney’s fees, any costs and 

disbursements incurred in obtaining the judgment and applying to the Fund, costs awarded under 

Minn. Stat. § 549.02, any interest on the loss, and any pre-judgment and post- judgment interest. 

Dated: By: 
  Attorney for plaintiff/applicant 
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VERIFICATION 

STATE OF MINNESOTA ) 
) ss. 

COUNTY OF ) 

I have read the attached Verified Application for Compensation from the Contractor Recovery Fund, 

(the Application). I am an Applicant listed in the Application. I swear under oath that all of the 

statements made in the Application are true. 

Signature of applicant(s) 

Applicant Applicant 

Telephone Telephone 

Email Email 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on this the day of , 20 . 

 Notary Public 

My commission expires on . 
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