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Department of Labor and Industry division, work units

• Apprenticeship Minnesota

• Construction Codes and Licensing Division

• Labor Standards Division

• Minnesota OSHA Compliance

• Minnesota OSHA Workplace Safety Consultation

• Projects and Planning

• Workers’ Compensation Division
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Labor standards enforced by Department of Labor and Industry

• Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act

• Women’s Economic Security Act

• Child Labor Standards Act

• Minnesota Prevailing Wage Act

• Wage Theft Prevention Act

• Other laws related to employment, 
wages, conditions and hours
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Labor standards, wage and hour agencies in Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Labor Standards Division
dli.mn.gov and 651-284-5075

U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division
dol.gov/whd and 612-370-3341

Minnesota Attorney General's Office
ag.state.mn.us and 651-296-3353

Saint Paul, Labor Standards Enforcement and Education Division
stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-equal-economic-opportunity and 651-266-8900

Minneapolis, Labor Standards Enforcement Division 
ci.minneapolis.mn.us/civilrights/LaborStandardsEnforcement and 612-673-3012
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WHO > Child Labo r 

Child Labor 
The federal child labor provisions of t he Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA) were enacted to ensure that when young people 

work, the work is safe and does not jeopardize their health, well-being or educationa l opportunities. These provisions also 

provide limited exemptions. 

Most Requested 

Dangerous Jobs 

Find out what jobs and tasks are 

off-limits for anyone under 18 

yea rs of age. 

Fifi,:hHI 

YouthRules.gov 

Learn how young workers can 

have safe and rewarding work 

experiences. 

Fiiii:UHII 

State Laws 

Get information on the child labor 

laws in each state. 

Fiii::·Hii 

Quick Links 

• Child Labor Fact Sheets 

• Order Free Publi cat ions 

• Questions? Contact Us. 
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Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act

The purpose of Minnesota Statutes sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 is to aid in the 
economic, social and educational development of young people through 
employment. Work is an integral factor in providing a sense of purpose, direction 
and self-esteem necessary to the overall physical and mental health of an 
individual. Young people, especially those who have completed high school or 
occupational training, should not be denied employment opportunities. However, 
work must be coordinated with schooling and safety considerations to serve the 
best interest of the young.
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‘Three paths’ of Minnesota youth labor standards

dli.mn.gov

Question Minor <14 years of age Minor <16 years of age Minor <18 years of age

Can the minor work? Generally not able to work 
except by exemption or by 
permit

Generally able to work at 14 
years of age

Generally able to work at 14 
years of age

Are there occupations 
the minor may not 
engage in?

Generally not able to work 
except by exemption or permit, 
then subject to all hazardous 
restrictions

Subject to all hazardous 
occupation restrictions – unless 
an exemption is met

Subject to hazardous occupation 
restrictions for minors under the 
age of 18 – unless exemption is 
met

What hours can the 
minor work? 

Generally not able to work 
except by exemption or permit, 
then subject to hours 
restriction for minors under 16

Between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. only, 
maximum of eight hours in 24-
hour period and 40 hours in a 
week; employment during 
school hours requires 
employment certificate

High school students cannot 
work after 11 p.m. on a school 
night or before 5 a.m. on school 
days, except can work until 11:30 
p.m. and at 4:30 a.m. with 
written parental permission

Can the minor work 
during school hours?

If working during school hours, 
must obtain employment 
certificate – unless an 
exemption is met

If working during school hours, 
must obtain employment 
certificate – unless an 
exemption is met

No limitation on working during 
school hours
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Statute- and rule-based exceptions

• Minors working for a family farm corporation where the minor’s parent is a member 
of the family farm corporation (Minnesota Rules 5200.0930, subpart 4 – hazardous)

• Minors working for corporations totally owned by one or both parents, where the 
daily corporate business is supervised by the parent(s) (Minn. R. 5200.0930, subp. 4, 
and Minn. Stat. 181A.07, subdivision 4 – hazardous, age and hours)

• Performer, newspaper carrier, youth athletic referees (Minn. Stat. 181A.07 – age)

• Home chores, babysitting (Minn. Stat. 181A.07 – age, hours)

• Tasks outside the area of hazard (Minn. R. 5200.0930, subp. 2 – hazardous)

• High school graduates 17 years of age (Minn. R. 5200.0930, subp. 3 – hazardous)
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Special concern:  The presence of liquor

• Generally, minors under the age of 18 cannot work in rooms or areas where 
liquor is consumed or served, or in tasks prohibited by law that involve the sale, 
service, dispensation or handling of liquor.

• Minors who have reached the age of 16 can be employed:

▪ as a busser, dishwasher and host in rooms or areas of a restaurant, hotel, motel or resort where the 
presence of intoxicating liquor or 3.2% malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation;

▪ as a busser, dishwasher, host or server in rooms or areas where the presence of 3.2% malt liquor is 
incidental to food service or preparation;

▪ to provide musical entertainment in those rooms or areas where the presence of intoxicating liquor and 
3.2% malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation; and

▪ in occupations not prohibited by law in rooms or areas where no liquor is consumed or served.
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Hazardous employment activities

Examples (subject to limitation in the rule or exemption)

• Under 18 (Minn. R. 5200.0910):

▪ in or about construction or building projects;

▪ logging or lumbering operations, paper mills, sawmills; 

▪ to operate or assist in the operation of power-driven machinery (this 
includes snow blowers and other power-driven lawn and garden 
equipment);

▪ to drive certain motor vehicles or to work in rooms or areas where 
certain alcohol is served or consumed; or

▪ in any tasks involving the serving, dispensing or handling of alcohol 
consumed on premises.
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Hazardous employment activities, continued

• Under 16 (Minn. R. 5200.0920):

• to lift, carry or personally care for patients in hospitals or 
nursing homes; 

• to operate or assist in the operation of machinery, including 
farm type tractors and other self-propelled vehicles; 

• in walk-in meat freezers or meat coolers; or

• in any occupation in agriculture the U.S. secretary of labor 
finds to be hazardous for minors under the age of 16.

• Plus any prohibited activity listed under Minn. R. 5200.0910.
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Retaliation

Minnesota Statutes 181A.12, subd. 5, Retaliation

An employer shall not discharge, discipline, penalize, interfere with, threaten, restrain, 
coerce, or otherwise retaliate or discriminate against an employee for asserting rights 
or remedies under sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 or any rules promulgated under 
section 181A.09. This includes, but is not limited to, filing a complaint with the 
department, informing the employer of the employee’s intention to file a complaint or 
participating in an investigation by the department. In addition to any other remedies 
provided by law, the commissioner may order an employer found in violation of this 
subdivision to provide back pay, compensatory damages, reinstatement and any other 
appropriate relief to the aggrieved employee.
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DLI child labor exemption permits

• DLI receives applications for child labor exemption permits

▪ Must be filed by the minor’s parent, guardian, school official or
youth employment specialist

▪ Assessed on a case-by-case basis, granted if the permit would be in 
the best interest of the minor

▪ Can be sought and may be granted for any of the child labor laws
and rules

▪ Turnaround time varies by season

▪ Permits available as fillable PDF files at dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-exemptions; 
can be submitted to cl.permit.dli@state.mn.us
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Employment certificates:  Minn. Stat. 181A.05 

• Any minor 14 or 15 years of age who wishes to work on school days during school 

hours shall first secure an employment certificate. The certificate shall be issued 

only by the school district superintendent, the superintendent’s agent or some 

other person designated by the Board of Education. The employment certificate 

shall be issued only for a specific position with a designated employer and shall be 

issued only in the following circumstances:

1. if a minor is to be employed in an occupation not prohibited by rules promulgated under 
section 181A.09 and as evidence thereof presents a signed statement from the 
prospective employer; and
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Employment certificates:  Minn. Stat. 181A.05, 
continued 

2. if the parent or guardian of the minor consents to the employment; and

3. if the issuing officer believes the minor is physically capable of handling the job in question and further 
believes the best interests of the minor will be served by permitting the minor to work.

• Note:  An employment certificate does not create an exception for hours 
restrictions under federal law.
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Approved training program exceptions

Apprenticeship or Youth Skills Training (YST)

• Apprenticeship:  Need high school diploma and legal authorization to work in the 
U.S.

• YST:

▪ Industries – advanced manufacturing, agriculture, automotive, health care and information technology

▪ Child labor exception permit is required if employment involves a hazardous occupation

▪ If program has been approved, employer will be required to submit proof of workers’ compensation 
coverage and information about specific machines, tools and equipment that may be used; meet with 
Minnesota OSHA Workplace Safety Consultation about equipment and related safety measures

dli.mn.gov m il DEPARTMENT OF 
LAB,O R AND IN DUST RY 



Approved training program exceptions, continued

• Other training program approved by Minnesota Department of Education, 
Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development, Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry, the board of trustees of the Minnesota State 
Colleges and Universities or the board of regents of the University of Minnesota:

▪ Child labor exception permit is required if employment involves a hazardous occupation.
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School Conference and Activities Leave

School Leave up to 16 hours of unpaid leave per child each school year

• Who qualifies?
All workers, regardless of employer size or length of employment.

• Definition of child:
Under 18, or under 20 if still in high school.

• Use of leave:
For school conferences and activities during work hours.

• Time-off options:
Vacation or PTO may be used, but it’s not required.

• Coverage:
Includes preschool and special education.

• Advance notice:
Reasonable notice is recommended to minimize workplace disruption.

Leaves from work | www.dli.mn.gov

School conference and activities leave 

Minnesota's School Conference and Activities Leave law allows eligible 
employees up to 16 hours of unpaid leave from work to attend their chi ld's 
school conferences and activities each year and for each child (see Minnesota 
Statutes 181.9412). 

Which employees are eligible? 

All employees are eligible regardless of the size of their employer or amount of 
time for which they have worked for their employer. 

Who is considered a child? 

*Child~ includes any child of the employee, whether biological, adopted or foster, who is younger than 18 or who is 
younger than 20 and is still attending secondary school. Eligible employees can receive up to 16 hours for each child. m Employees get 16 hours each school year? 

A An employee must be granted up to 16 leave hours for each child during any U-month period. 
W This is sometimes referred to as a 12-month, rolling calendar. 

Can an employee choose to use vacation time for school activities leave? 

The employee may choose to use available vacation or paid-time-off (PTO) leave, but the employer cannot 
require it. 

What is considered a school activity? 

Leave can be used to attend school conferences and school-related activities that cannot be scheduled during 
non-work hours. 

Aretoddler-al!e child care. soedal education orol!rams or ore-kinderearten children induded? 



State law – minimum wage
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*Minimum wage adjusts Jan. 1 of each year.

• Effective Jan. 1, 2025, the state’s minimum-wage rates for all employers, including 
large employers, small employers, youth and J-1 visa wages for hotels, motels and 
lodging establishments, increased to $11.13 an hour. The law still allows for a 90-
day training wage for workers under age 20, which increased to $9.08.

Provi'siion1 
Amount ,as of 

Jan .. 1,, 2025 

State minimum ·wage $1 ·1.13 an hour 
- - - -

901--day tra ining wage (under 
$9.08 an llour 

20 years of age) 
-
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Earned sick and safe time

20
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For business > Em ployment pract ices > Earned sick and safe time 

EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME 

Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota's earned sick and safe time law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees 

who work in the state. Minnesota's current sick and safe leave law remains in effect until Dec. 31, 2023 and will be replaced 

by the new earned sick and safe time law on Jan. 1, 2024, 

• View FAQs about earned sick and safe time. 

What is sick and safe time? 

Sick and safe time is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that 

can be used for certain reasons, includ ing when an employee is sick, to care for a sick 

IUIH+ii 11\!hi& 
fam ily member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse. 

Who is eligible for sick and safe time? 
MINNESOTA PAID FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 

,,l' 



Tipping

• Tips are the property of the employee directly serving the customer. Employers 
cannot require employees to share or pool their tips with other employees, except 
under certain limited-service situations.

• Gratuities presented to a direct service employee by credit card shall be credited to 
that pay period in which they are received.

• As of Aug. 1, 2024, employees must receive the full amount of tips paid by card or 
e-payment. Gratuities received through credit cards or other types of electronic 
payments must be paid to the employee in the next pay period.
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Employee notice

• Employers are required to keep a copy of the notice signed by each employee.

• Employers are also required to provide employees in writing any changes to the 
information in the notice before the date the changes take effect.
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Employee notice
Employee wage notice | Minnesota DLI
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Employee notice 

1. Ennp loy,ee; Addr,ess; 

Pho:ne number; Eima il address; 

Date e.mplovmel'lt beJ?an : 

2:. Le a 1na me of e m1ploy,er; Main office/principal place of bu~il'less addr,ess; 

Pho:ne number; Eima il address; 

0peratil'lg name of em,ploye.r (if diffel'ent); 

Mail ing address (if differ,entl,; 

3. Ennp loymemt s,tat!111s (exiempt o:r non-e)ljempt) : 

DI Employee is ,exempt from; Ominim III m w~ge Dove rlii nn e O ,other p:rovisio:ns of Minnesota Statutes l!. 77 

Leigal basis fo:r exemption: 

D Employee is mom-exempt (emtit!led to overt!ime., minim1LJnn wage, otlher prot!ectio:ns 1LJmdler Mi mm . Stat. 177) 

4. Rate o·r r,ates of pay 

Paid by; H!ourD Sl'lirtt D navD WeeikO Salary□ Pieoe lD C..omnn i.ssion D Otil'I er me~hod D 

https://www.dli.mn.gov/employee-notice


Minnesota Paid Family Leave

December 1st, 2025
 Employers must notify workers

January 1st, 2026
 Payroll deductions start
 Benefits and leave available to Minnesotans

April 30th, 2026
 First quarterly premium due

Minnesota Paid Leave / Minnesota Paid Leave

Informational sessions: Public engagement events 

24Send questions to david.skovholt@state.mn.us

https://mn.gov/deed/paidleave/
https://mn.gov/deed/paidleave/about/events/


Resources

• Labor Standards Division:  dli.mn.gov/laborlaw

• Child and youth labor:  dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-laws

▪ Age restrictions, exemption permits, FAQs, hours of work, penalties, prohibited work, proof of age, teen 
worker fact sheet

• Informational videos in four languages:  dli.mn.gov/labor-standards-videos

http://www.dli.mn.gov/laborlaw
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-laws
http://dli.mn.gov/labor-standards-videos


Thank you

• Sign up for the Wage and Hour Bulletin at dli.mn.gov/business/employment-
practices/minnesota-wage-and-hour-bulletin.

• Contact the DLI Labor Standards Division at 651-284-5075 or 
dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us.

26
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