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ESST overview 

• Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota’s 
ESST law requires employers to 
provide paid leave to employees. 

• Changes to ESST following the 2024 
legislative session go into effect 
May 26, 2024, July 1, 2024, and Jan. 
1, 2025. 
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What is sick and safe time? 

Sick and safe time is paid time off from work that eligible employees in 
Minnesota can use for certain reasons, including: 

• the employee’s mental or physical illness, treatment or preventive care; 

• a family member’s mental or physical illness, treatment or preventive care; 

• absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking of the employee or a family 
member; 

• bereavement leave; 

• closure of the employee’s workplace due to weather or public emergency or closure of a 
family member’s school or care facility due to weather or public emergency; and 

• when determined by a health authority or health care professional that the employee or 
a family member is at risk of infecting others with a communicable disease. 
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Which family members are included? 

• their child, including foster child, adult child,
legal ward, child for whom the employee is legal
guardian or child to whom the employee stands
or stood in loco parentis (in place of a parent); 

• their spouse or registered domestic partner; 

• their sibling, stepsibling or foster sibling; 

• their biological, adoptive or foster parent,
stepparent or a person who stood in loco 
parentis (in place of a parent) when the 
employee was a minor child; 

• their grandchild, foster grandchild or step-
grandchild; 

• their grandparent or step-grandparent; 

• a child of a sibling of the employee; 

• a sibling of the parents of the employee; 

• a child-in-law or sibling-in-law; 

• any of the family members listed in 1 through 9 
above of an employee’s spouse or registered 
domestic partner; 

• any other individual related by blood or whose 
close association with the employee is the 
equivalent of a family relationship; and 

• up to one individual annually designated by the 
employee. 
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Who is eligible for ESST? 

An employee is eligible for sick and safe time if they: 

• are anticipated to work at least 80 hours in a year for an employer in 
Minnesota; and 

• are not an independent contractor. 
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Who is not covered by Minnesota’s ESST law? 

• Federal employees. 

• Volunteer and paid-on-call firefighters. 

• Volunteer ambulance attendants and ambulance service personnel who serve in a paid on-call 
position. 

• Elected officials or a person appointed to fill a vacancy to elected office. 

• An individual employed by a farmer, family farm or family farm corporation to do physical 
labor or manage the farm, if they are hired to work for 28 days or less each year. 

• Building and construction industry employees who are represented by a building and 
construction trades labor organization if a valid waiver of these requirements is provided in a 
collective bargaining agreement. 

• Certain family caregivers who have waived their rights to ESST. 
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How much sick and safe time can 
employees earn? 

An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours 
worked and can earn up to at least 48 hours each year unless the 
employer agrees to a higher amount. 

Employees can carry over unused ESST into the next year up to 80 hours. 
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  How does carryover work? 

Example 
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Example 
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80 
80 
80 

48 

48 

# of hours worked per week 
# of ESST hours available TOTAL (carried over from 2024 + accrual 

Week # from 2024 # of ESST hours accrued in 2025 from 2025) 
Week 23 48 40 30.6666667 78.6666667 
Week 24 40 32 80 
Week 25 48 40 32 
Week 26 48 40 32 
Week 27 48 40 32 
Week 28 28 20 32.66666667 60.66666667 
Week 29 28 40 34 62 
Week 30 28 40 35.33333333 63.33333333 
Week 31 28 40 36.66666667 64.66666667 
Week 32 28 40 38 66 
Week 33 28 40 39.33333333 67.33333333 
Week 34 28 40 40.66666667 68.66666667 
Week 35 28 40 42 70 
Week 36 28 40 43.33333333 71.33333333 
Week 37 28 40 44.66666667 72.66666667 
Week 38 28 40 46 74 
Week 39 28 40 47.33333333 75.33333333 
Week 40 28 40 48 76 
Week 41 28 40 76 



   

  
      

   
     

 

   
      

    
       

Front loading in lieu of ongoing accruals with carryover 

Option 2. Front loading with pay out and no carryover: 
• a minimum of 48 hours of ESST is provided to an employee and made 

available for immediate use at the start of each year; and 
• unused ESST hours are paid out at the end of the accrual year at the 

employee’s hourly rate. 

Option 3. Front loading with no pay out and no carryover: 
• a minimum of 80 hours of ESST is provided to an employee and made 

available for immediate use at the start of each year; and 
• the ESST hours the employee did not use are not paid out at the end of the 

accrual year. 
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Case study: Independent smoothie makers 

• Smoothie shop, employing mostly high school students, sent text message to 
their employees that considering the new law, they were reclassifying the 
workers as “independent contractors.” 

• 13 employees with set schedule working exclusively out of the smoothie shop. 

• Employees worked between 10 and three hours in a week. 

• Employer agreed to classify workers as employees after DLI explained accrual. 
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Rate of pay 

• Employers must provide employees who 
use ESST with pay equal to the base rate 
the employee earns from employment. 

• Employees must be paid at least the 
highest applicable minimum wage (local, 
state or federal). 

The base rate does not include: 

• commissions; 

• shift differentials; 

• overtime; 

• extra pay for working weekends, 
holidays or scheduled days off; 

• bonuses; and 

• tips or gratuities. 
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Other key details 

• Notice of use 
• Foreseeable: Up to seven-day notice 
• Unforeseeable:  Notify as soon as practicable 

• Documentation 
• Employers cannot require reasonable 

documentation unless the employee has used ESST 
for more than three consecutive scheduled days 

• Replacement workers 
• Employers are prohibited from making employees 

find replacement workers as a condition of using 
ESST. 
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Case study:  Gas station notes 

• A convenience store and fuel station chain with locations across Minnesota 
was requiring employees to provide doctor’s notes for one-day absences. 

• Complainant provided text messages from their manager confirming the 
claim. 

• Employer agreed to revise their ESST training materials and retrain managers 
about the law. 
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Increment of ESST use 

Employees may use ESST in the same increments of time as they 
are paid, except employers: 

• are not required to allow leave in increments smaller than 15 
minutes. 
o For example, if an employee would like to use 3:07 of ESST, the employer 

may require 3:15 of ESST be used. 

• cannot require employees to use more than four hours of ESST at 
once. 
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Increment of time:  Sample scenarios 

• Ibrahim needs to take sick leave for a doctor’s appointment. His employer 
pays him in 30-minute increments. Ibrahim can request sick leave in 30-
minute increments for his appointment, but his employer is not required to 
grant leave in increments smaller than 15 minutes, such as 10 minutes. If 
Ibrahim only needs two hours for his appointment, the employer cannot insist 
that he take an entire half-day (e.g., four hours) off when he only needs two 
hours. 

• Hamda needs to take sick leave for a doctor’s appointment. Hamda is an 
hourly employee whose employer pays wages in 15-minute increments. She 
can request to use ESST in 15-minute increments, up to as long as is needed 
for her absence. 

17 



 

       
 

    
   

Increment of time:  Sample scenarios, continued 

• David’s son has influenza and David needs to stay home in the morning to care 
for him. David is an exempt employee who is paid a salary. David’s employer 
can require David use ESST in four-hour increments (half day). In this case, 
David uses four hours of ESST and returns to work in the afternoon. 
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Employer responsibilities: Notice to employees 

By Jan. 1, 2024, (or date of hire if later), employers must provide the ESST notice 
to employees in a manner that is at least as effective as one of these options: 

• posting a copy of the notice at each location where employees perform work; 

• providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to all employees; or 

• posting the notice on a web-based or app-based platform that employees use to perform 
work. 

This notice needs to be provided to employees in English and the primary 
language of the employee. DLI currently has the sample ESST notice available in 
22 languages and employers can request translation in additional languages as 
needed at no cost. 
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Employer responsibilities: Documenting ESST hours 

At the end of each pay period employers must provide employees with: 
1. the total number of ESST hours available for the employee to use; and 

2. the total number of ESST hours that the employee used during that pay period. 

Employers can choose how to provide this information, such as on an earnings 
statement or through an electronic system, including their company's online 
portal, timekeeping software or other accessible systems. If the information is 
provided electronically, employers must ensure that employees have access to a 
computer during their regular working hours to review and print their sick and safe 
time details. 

In addition, employers are required to keep record of hours worked as well as 
other information and must retain these records for three years. 
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Case study: Missing migrant hours 

• Employer is a fruit and vegetable processing company, hiring migrant workers 
on a seasonal basis. 

• Intake alleged that employees did not know how much ESST they had 
available to them. 

• While the employer did have an ESST program, the migrant workers had 
limited access to employer-owned computers making an electronic system 
less practical. 

• Employer agreed to put accruals on paystubs, since it was a regular point of 
communication. 
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Retaliation prohibited 

• Generally:  An employer shall not discharge, discipline, penalize, interfere with, threaten, 
restrain, coerce or otherwise retaliate or discriminate against a person because the 
person has exercised/attempted use of ESST or made a complaint/filed an action related 
to enforcement of ESST. 

• Absence control policies/attendance points: It shall be unlawful for an employer's 
absence control policy or attendance point system to count ESST taken under this act as 
an absence that may lead to or result in retaliation or any other adverse action. 

• Citizenship/immigration status: It shall be unlawful for an employer or any other person 
to report or threaten to report the actual or suspected citizenship or immigration status of 
a person or their family member to a federal, state or local agency for exercising or 
attempting to exercise any right protected under this act. 

22 



  

     
    

    
  

          
        
       

     

   
       

    
      

ESST application to other paid time off (Jan. 1, 2025) 

• If an employer provides employees with paid time off (PTO) that is more than 
the amount required under the ESST law for absences due to personal illness 
or injury, the additional PTO must meet the same requirements as the ESST 
hours, other than the ESST accrual requirements. 

• For example, if an employee receives 50 hours of PTO in addition to the minimum 
requirement of 48 ESST hours per year, the employer must follow the ESST requirements 
about notice, documentation, anti-retaliation, replacement workers and more for the 
PTO hours in addition to the ESST hours. 

• Employers can still apply their notice and documentation requirements that 
were in effect as of Dec. 31, 2023, when employees use PTO accrued on or 
before that date. However, employers cannot require employees to use PTO 
accrued on or after Jan. 1, 2024, before using PTO accrued before that date. 
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Other ESST updates 

• Weather related workplace closure exemption created for emergency 
personnel, corrections facility staff and public employees with a commercial 
driver’s license. 

• Remedies for ESST violations: 

• Employers may be liable for the amount of ESST that should have been provided or could 
have used, plus an equal amount as liquidated damages. 

• If the exact ESST hours owed is unclear, employers are liable for 48 hours each year ESST 
was not provided, plus an equal amount as liquidated damages. 
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About the department > Rulemaking > Labor Standards/prevail ing wage rulemaking 

RULEMAKING DOCKET FOR MINNESOTA RULES, CHAPTER 5200 

Earned sick and safe time, Minnesota Rules, part 5200.1200 

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) requests comments on its possible adoption 

of a new part of Minnesota Ru les, chapter 5200, for rules governing earned sick and safe time (ESST). 

The rules are intended to provide guidance to employers and employees regarding the application of 

the ESST law. ESST is paid leave that employers covered by the law must provide to defined 

employees that can be used for certain reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick 

family member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced 

domestic abuse, sexual assault or sta lking. 

Published notices and comment periods 

The request for comments was published in the State Register (page 79) on July 22, 2024. The first 

comment period ran from July 22, 2024, to Sept. 6, 2024. That comment period is now closed. A 

second comment period w ill be provided at a later date to receive further feedback from the publ ic. 

 ESST rulemaking 
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Resources 
• DLI’s ESST page: sickleave.mn.gov (includes FAQS, sample employee notice, fact sheet, workplace poster, informational 

videos) 

• Call Labor Standards at 651-284-5075 or email esst.dli@state.mn.us 

• Stay up to date with the Wage and Hour Bulletin: dli.mn.gov/bulletin 

• Sign up for additional Labor Standards webinars: dli.mn.gov/events 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/sick-leave
mailto:esst.dli@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/minnesota-wage-and-hour-bulletin
http://www.dli.mn.gov/events
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