Dave Skovholt
Outreach coordinator | Labor Standards

m DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

dli.mn.gov



https://dli.mn.gov

Laws enforced by Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry’s (DLI’s)

Labor Standards unit

* Minnesota Fair Labor Standards
Act (FLSA)

* Women’s Economic Security Act

e Child Labor Standards Act

e Other laws related to
employment, wage, conditions,
hours, etc.

DLI’s Labor Standards unit is charged with administering parts or all of Minnesota statues
177, 181 and 184 as well as Minnesota Administrative Rules Chapter 5200.
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Minnesota FLSA: Who is an employee?

Employee: Any individual employed
by an employer.

Exceptions include (not exhaustive
list):

e various agricultural workers

* those who meet tests for
“executive, administrative, or
professional” employees

* independent contractors

® 19+ exce pt I O n S (see Minnesota Statutes 177.23, Subdivision 7)
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State law: Minimum wage

Employer/employee type Minimum wage rate (2023)

Large employer: Any enterprise with annual gross $10.59/hour
revenues of $500,000 or more

Small employer: Any enterprise with annual gross $8.63/hour
revenues of less than $500,000

Training wage: May be paid to employees aged 18 and
19 in the first 90 days of employment

Youth wage: May be paid to employees aged 17 or
younger

J-1 visa: May be paid to employees of hotels, motels, $8.63/hour
lodging establishments and resorts working under the
authority of a summer work, travel exchange (J) visa

*minimum wage adjusts Jan. 1 of each year.
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State law: Hours worked

* The minimum wage must be paid
for all hours worked.

* Hours worked include:

o training time

o call time

o cleaning time
o waiting time

o travel time
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Knowledge check: Paycheck deductions

If an employer owned cell phone is dropped by the employee it is assigned
to, can the employer deduct the cost to repair the broken screen from the

employee’s paycheck?

Answer this question at https://forms.office.com/g/Ptm20RPKsG.
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State law: Deductions from wages

Allowed deductions from employees (direct or indirect):

* Written agreement to deduct insurance payments, union dues, retirement plans,
organization or PAC contributions or savings plans

* Up to S50 for uniform(s), equipment

* Consumables and travel expenses
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State law: Deductions from wages (cont.)

Allowed deductions from employees:

 Employee voluntarily authorizes the deduction in writing or held liable in
court. Authorization must state the amount deducted each pay period.

e Purchase or loan: Authorization required, can be made prior to a purchase or
loan.

* Deductions cannot bring the employee below the minimum wage.

* The employer must reimburse deductions upon separation.
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Final wages upon separation of employment

* Employees terminated, discharged, or fired are due all wages and commissions
within 24 hours of a written demand for payment.

* For employees who voluntarily leave employment, wages and commissions are
due on the next regularly scheduled payday. If the payday is within five days of
the last day of work, the employer has up to 20 days to make final payment.

* Penalties: The employer may be liable to pay their former employee’s average
daily earnings for up to 15 days the employer is late paying wages.

* Exception: If an employee collected, disbursed or handled money or property,
the employer has 10 days after termination to audit and adjust the accounts
before paying all final wages.
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Knowledge check: Overtime exemptions

Are agricultural workers exempt from overtime?

Answer this question on the question page
at https://forms.office.com/g/puRBKVgYXb.
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Minnesota law: Over 48 hours

This is a general guideline that
applies in most situations. DLI
refers many overtime cases to
the U.S. Department of Labor
because the general federal
threshold is lower.

Federal law: Over 40 hours

This is a general guideline that
applies in most situations. The
U.S. Department of Labor
should be contacted for further
details.

dli.mn.gov
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Minnesota’s child labor laws

—

 Minimum age 14 (there are limited exceptions)

e Under 18 restrictions apply to hours worked, start and end times, equipment
used and work environment.

* Hours of work for 16 and 17 year olds:
* Not before 5 a.m. or after 11 p.m. on school days.

* May work as early as 4:30 a.m. and as late as 11:30 p.m. with written permission from a
parent or guardian. Copy of permission should be kept in employee file.
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Misclassification

Misclassification:

* The practice of labeling workers as
independent contractors instead of
employees in order to avoid certain
legal obligations, such as worker’s
compensation, tax obligations and
fair labor standards.

Frequent question for Labor
Standards:

* Does misclassification lead to a
violation of the MFLSA or FLSA? (see
MN Admin. Rules 5224.0330)
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Knowledge check: Pregnancy accommodations

If an employer only has four employees, are they required to provide
accommodations under the nursing mothers law?

Answer this question on the question page at
https://forms.office.com/g/A5NUebeDUB.
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Women’s Economic Security Act (WESA)

* Wage disclosure

* Nursing mothers
* Pregnancy and parental leave

e Sick and safe leave

* Pregnancy accommodations
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Knowledge check: Employee notice

Are all employees in Minnesota required to receive an employee notice when they
start their jobs?

Answer this question on the question page at
https://forms.office.com/g/TngfX2GPr4.
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Employee notice
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Employee notice

1. Employee: Address:

Phone number: Email address:

Date employment began:

2. Legal name of employer: Main office/principal place of business address:

Phone number: Email address:

Operating name of employer (if different):

Mailing address (if different):

3. Employment status (exempt or non-exempt):

|:| Employee is exempt from: Dminimum wage Davertime Dnther provisions of Minnesota Statutes 177

Legal basis for exemption:

|:| Employee is non-exempt (entitled to overtime, minimum wage, other protections under Minn. Stat. 177)

4. Rate orrates of pay

Paid by: Hour|:| Shift|:| Da-,rD WEEkD Salar',rD PieceD Enmmissian[:l DthermethudD




Employee notice

* All employers must provide the
notice to employees in English
and must include a statement, in
multiple languages, that informs
employees they may request the
notice be provided to them in
another language.

* The employer must provide the
notice in another language if
requested by the employee.

dli.mn.gov

This document contains important information about your employment. Check the box at left to receive
this informatian in this language.

Spanish/Espafiol

Este documento contiene informacidn importante sobre su empleo. Marque la casilla a la
izquierda para recibir esta informacidn en este idioma.

Hmong/Hmoob

Daim ntawy no muaj cov xov tseem ceeb hais txog thaum kaj ua hauj lwm. Khij lub npauv ntawm
sab laug yog koj xav tau cov xov tseem ceeb no txhais ua lus Hmoob.

Vietnamese/ Vit
ngly

Tai liéu nay chira théng tin quan trong vé viéc lam cla guy vi. Banh diu vao 6 bén tréi 4& nhin
théng tin nay blng Viét ngilk.

Simp. Chinese,/ [

3z

AR EEENREAHEXOE

Russian/pyccrui JaHHeli AOKYMEHT COOERHMAT BAMHYID MHHOPMAUMIO 0 Bawem TpygoycTpoicTee. OTMeTLTe
FANOYKOM HBALPAT CAEEBA AR NONYYEHHA ITOM MHPOPMALMK HA GAHHOM RIBIKE,

SomalifSoomaali Dukumentigan waxaa ku goran macluumaad muhiim ah oo ku saabsan shagadaada. Calaamadi
sanduugan haddii aad rabto inaad macluumaadkan ku hesho lugaddan.

Laotian/w29290 | consmouiiBayuiiasunjoriunisgmeasquion,
nomByriefidbesdruudedusyubiluwiemi,

Korean/ 8= 0{ 0| 2ol Flste & el fME S TEI FHUGLICL ol H{Z 0| HEE 278
PEAID 21T GAto] M0 FHL.

Tagalog/Tagalog Ang dokumentong ito ay nagtataglay ng mahalagang impormasyon tungkol sa fyong
pagtatrabaho. Lagyan ng tsek ang kahon sa kaliwa upang matanggap ang impormasyong ito sa
wikang ito.

OromofOromoo Waragaan kun waayee hojii keetii odeeffannoo barbaachisoo ta’an gabatee jira. Saaxinnii karaa

bitaatti argamu kana irratti mallattoo godhi yoo afaan Kanaan barreeffama argachuu barbaadde.

Ambharic/hTIcT

BY Rheevi AEmmcT MTLovAht MLAT LR TFH 10 U Rhov ¥ s N Qho 3%

Karen [ co8aih

Arabic/ izl

sia o Jpeoall tpadl o ay gl A AN aui alles (Jpn daga Silaylea o 501 130 5 iny
_L‘.Hn-h;ia.n,hnh
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Employee notice (cont.)

* Employers are required to keep a copy of the notice signed by each
employee.

* Employers are also required to provide employees in writing any
changes to the information in the notice before the date the changes
take effect.
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Learn more

 Stay up to date with the Labor
Standards unit by signing up for DEPARTMENT OF
the Wage and Hour Bulletin. M) Cieor Ano inpustey

+To sign up, visi

dli.mn.gov/business/employmen
t-practices/minnesota-wage-and-
hour-bulletin or scan the QR
code.

* Additional webinars are posted
at dli.mn.gov/events.
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Contact us

* Contact the Labor Standards unit
at 651-284-5075
or dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us.

e Scan the QR code to save their
contact information.
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Thank you!

Let us know how we did.

Please take the survey at https://forms.office.com/g/p6fB7Cikuk or scan the QR code.
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OVERVIEW:

WAGE AND HOUR
DIVISION




LAWS ENFORCED BY WHD

QO OO

Fair Labor
Standards Act

Family and Medical
Leave Act

Davis Bacon and
Related Acts

Service
Contract Act

Temporary Worker
Programs

Employee Polygraph
Protection Act

Wage Garnishment
provisions of the Consumer
Credit Protection Act



TODAY’S ROADMAP

* FLSA Coverage
* Hours Worked Issues
* Exemptions

* Recordkeeping

e Child Labor
e Enforcement




FLSA ENTERPRISE COVERAGE

e Enterprises with
— At least two (2) employees

— At least $500,000 a year in
business

e Hospitals, businesses providing
medical or nursing care for residents,
schools, preschools and government
agencies (federal, state, and local)

See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #14



FLSA INDIVIDUAL COVERAGE

e Workers who are engaged in:
— Interstate commerce;
— Production of goods for commerce;

— Closely-related process or occupation directly
essential (CRADE) to such production; or

— Domestic service

e Engaging in “interstate commerce” which may
include:

— Making telephone calls to other states
— Typing letters to send to other states
— Processing credit card transactions

— Traveling to other states



FLSA HOURS WORKED ISSUES

e Suffered or Permitted

e Waiting Time

e Meal and Rest Periods

e Training Time

e Travel Time

e Sleep Time (See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #79D)

*See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #22



FLSA HOURS WORKED ISSUES

Work not requested, but
suffered or permitted is work
time.



FLSA HOURS WORKED ISSUES

Meal periods are not hours worked when the
employee is relieved of duties for the purpose of
eating a meal

Rest periods of short duration (normally 5 to 20
minutes) are counted as hours worked and must
be paid

*Whether active or inactive.



KNOWLEDGE CHECK

TRUE OR FALSE

Under the FLSA, a bona-fide meal period
must be at least 20 minutes long,
continuous and uninterrupted.

Answer the question at
https://forms.office.com/g/V0OveOgwxk6.



https://forms.office.com/g/V0ve0gwxk6

FLSA EXEMPTIONS

The most common FLSA minimum wage
and overtime exemption -- often called
the “"541” or “white collar” exemption --
applies to certain

e Executive Employees

e Administrative Employees
e Professional Employees

e Qutside Sales Employees
e Computer Employees

*See USDOL Fact Sheet #17a



FLSA EXEMPTIONS

Salary Level ($684 wk)
Salary Basis (Guaranteed)

Job Duties (Primary Duty)



FLSA RECORDKEEPING

“Basic records” that a covered employer must keep for
each non-exempt worker include:

Full name, sex , DOB if younger than 19

Regular rate of pay, total hours worked, total daily
or weekly straight-time earnings, total overtime
compensation, if any deductions, date of payment
and pay period for payment

*See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #21



CHILD LABOR UNDER THE FLSA

e  Children under 14

With limited exceptions, no employment permitted in
covered, non-agricultural occupations

e 14 and 15 year olds

May work outside school hours and for limited periods
of time; only non-manufacturing,
non-hazardous jobs, and specific conditions apply

e 16 and 17 year olds

Unlimited hours; may work in any occupation other
than those declared hazardous by Secretary of Labor

See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #43

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION dol.gov/agencies/whd
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 1-866-487-9283



KNOWLEDGE CHECK

TRUE OR FALSE

15 year-old, but not 14 year-old
employees can work unlimited hours
under the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Answer this question at
https://forms.office.com/g/vmlL2aaas2Kk.



https://forms.office.com/g/vmL2aaas2k

WHERE COMPLAINTS COME FROM

* Employees — Former and
Present

* Parent/Guardian

e School Officials

 Other Employers

e Advocacy Groups

* Other Agencies

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION dol.gov/agencies/whd
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 1-866-487-9283



COMPLAINT INTAKE

 Complaints are usually submitted in
person or by phone

e Complaints can come from third
parties

 Complaints are confidential

* Legal Status is not a concern

* No fee to file a complaint




INVESTIGATION PROCESS

* |nitial Conference/Tour Establishment
* Fact Finding

* Interviews

 Records Review
 Determination of Compliance
* Final Conference




LIMITS OF THE FLSA

e \acation, holiday, severance, sick pay

e Meal or rest periods, holidays off,
vacations

e Premium pay for weekend or holiday work
e Discharge notice, reason for discharge

e Limit on number of hours or days
employees
16 years or older may work

e Pay raises, fringe benefits




FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

*+*EMPLOYER COVERAGE
UEmployers with 50 or more employees
UPublic Agencies
W Public and private elementary and secondary schools
+*EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY
LU Employed by covered employer
UWorked at least 12 months
(1,250 hours of service during the 12 months before leave begins
L Employed at a work site with 50 employees within 75 miles
¢ ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES MAY TAKE FMLA LEAVE:
O For the birth or placement of a child for adoption
U To care for a spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious health condition
U For their own serious health condition

See USDOL-Fact Sheet #28



DISCLAIMER

This presentation is intended as general information only and does not carry the
force of legal opinion.

The Department of Labor is providing this information as a public service. This
information and related materials are presented to give the public access to
information on Department of Labor programs. You should be aware that, while
we try to keep the information timely and accurate, there will often be a delay
between official publications of the materials and the modification of these pages.
Therefore, we make no express or implied guarantees. The Federal Register and
the Code of Federal Regulations remain the official source for regulatory
information published by the Department of Labor. We will make every effort to
keep this information current and to correct errors brought to our attention.



FOR MORE INFORMATION

* Visit the WHD homepage at:
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd

e WHD’s Worker Portal:
www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/workers

e WHD’s Employer Portal:
www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/emploers



https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd
http://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/workers
http://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/emploers

CONTACT US

 Contact your local CORPS:
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files
/corpsFlyer.pdf

* Visit us at:
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/contact/local-offices

 Call the WHD toll-free information and helpline
at 1-866-4US-WAGE (1-866-487-9243)



https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/corpsFlyer.pdf
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