LICENSE	CODE (see foot notes)	Min. years of Licensed exp. required	Classes of boilers allowed to be operated	Max. horse- power (In- charge of boilers)	Max. horse- power as a Shift Engineer	No. of ques. on exam	Min. passing grade	Waiting period if failed	Application fee (includes exam)	Two-year license fee***	Expired license fee.*** Total cost
Special	2	None	All	50	100*	50	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$20.00	\$30.00
Boat Master		15 Hours Minimum Affidavit	All boats for hire 21 ft and over – inland waters	N/A	N/A	40	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$80.00	\$120.00
2-C	3	1 year Boiler (12 months)	low pressure	100	500	50	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$60.00
2-B	3	1 year Boiler (2,000 hours)	high and low	100	500	60	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$60.00
2-A	3	1 yr Boiler (2,000 hours) 1 yr Turbine (2,000 hours)	high and low pressure with engines, turbines, and appurtenance	100	500	80**** (B=60)	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$60.00
1-C	3	3 years Boiler (36 months)	low pressure	500	Unlimited	100	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$60.00
1-B	3	3 years Boiler (6,000 hours	high and low	500	Unlimited	100	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$60.00
1-A	3	3 yrs Boiler (6,000 hours) 2 yrs Turbine (4,000 hours)	high and low pressure with engines, turbines, and appurtenance	500	Unlimited	130**** (B=100)	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$40.00	\$60.00
Ch-C	3,1	5 years Boiler (60 months)	low pressure	Unlimited	Unlimited	115	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$80.00	\$120.00
Ch-B	3,1	5 years Boiler (10,000 hours)	high and low	Unlimited	Unlimited	115	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$80.00	\$120.00
Ch-A	3,1	5 yrs Boiler (10,000 hours) 2 yrs Turbine (4,000 hours)	high and low pressure with engines, turbines, and	Unlimited	Unlimited	140**** (B=115)	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$80.00	\$120.00
"Historical" (Steam Traction Engines)		50 Hours Minimum - Affidavit	All steam traction engines and hobby boilers	All steam traction engines & hobby	All steam traction engines & hobby boilers	80	70%	30 days	\$50.00	\$80.00	N/A

<sup>1 =</sup> Must have held Minnesota 1<sup>st</sup> Class license for one year minimum. 2 = Must have Special License to acquire operating experience.

<sup>3 =</sup> Affidavits must be signed and notarized by persons per Minnesota Rule 5225.0550.

<sup>\*</sup>As an apprentice in <u>any</u> plant under "direct supervision." \*\* Licenses expired more than 2 years require retesting.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>The 2010 Minnesota Legislature restructured application and license fees by requiring separate application fee and license after passing exam.

<sup>\*\*\*\* &</sup>quot;A" grade license exams include "B" grade license exam content.