

#### Frequently asked questions and answers

#### Safety-Qualified Underground Telecommunications Installer Program

### Are there training requirements for individuals seeking to install underground telecommunications in Minnesota?

Yes. Minnesota Statutes 326B.198 was passed into law in 2024 and requires that the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), in consultation with the Office of Broadband Development, approve standards for the Safety-Qualified Underground Telecommunications Installer Certification Program. This certification requirement applies to the installation of underground telecommunications infrastructure that is located within 10 feet of existing underground utilities or that crosses the existing underground utilities. This work must be performed by safety-qualified underground telecommunications installers pursuant to the effective dates outlined in statute.

This program requires individuals seeking to become certified as a safety-qualified underground telecommunications installer to complete 40 hours of training (and pass an exam), which requires both classroom and hands-on instruction.

The legislation also requires that certified installers obtain four hours of refresher training to be completed within three years of completing the initial 40-hour course, and every three years thereafter, to maintain certification.

# Who will provide the training and education that is needed for one to be certified as a safety-qualified underground telecommunications installer?

Interested training providers will develop their own training programs, exams and refresher courses. Once developed, training providers must submit their training content to DLI for review and approval.

#### Who will approve the initial training courses, exams and refresher courses?

DLI, in consultation with the Office of Broadband Development.

# By what date(s) must the installation of applicable underground telecommunication systems be performed by certified installers?

Beginning July 1, 2025, the installation of underground telecommunications infrastructure subject to Minn. Stat. 326B.198, within the seven-county metropolitan area must be performed by safety-qualified underground telecommunications installers.

Beginning Jan. 1, 2026, the installation of underground telecommunications infrastructure subject to Minn. Stat. 326B.198, throughout Minnesota, must be performed by safety-qualified underground telecommunications installers.

#### What type of classroom training is acceptable for training providers?

Classroom training can be live in-person, live online, self-paced online, or a combination of all three types of training. Best practices suggest that interested training providers do not lean heavily on self-paced online instruction as this mode of instruction does not engage learners as effectively as other methods of classroom instruction.

# Are there mandatory allocations of time for training providers as it relates to classroom instruction and hands-on training?

No. Training providers are encouraged to provide effective and interactive trainings. Trainings must include an initial 40-hour certification course, which includes both classroom and hands-on instruction. The hours allotted to each method of instruction will be determined by training providers. Best practices suggest that at least 24 hours of training be dedicated to hands-on training, with the remaining 16 hours dedicated to classroom instruction.

# Will there by a required minimum number of questions on the exams developed by training providers?

No. However, prospective certified installers must demonstrate knowledge of the course material by successfully completing an exam approved by DLI. Best practices suggest that providers include at least 50 exam questions for a 40-hour training program. Further, although the statute does not require a specific passing rate for these exams, it is recommended that a passing score of 70% or higher be established.

### Will individuals be allowed to "test out" or be "grandfathered in" if they already have sufficient skills, knowledge and experience in this field?

No. There is no provision in the statute that would allow for the exclusion of anyone with prior training from having to meet the requirements set forth in statute.

#### Will DLI be auditing approved training programs/providers?

DLI reserves the right to audit an approved training program or provider to ensure that training is being delivered as submitted for approval.

# Who will provide the certificates of course completion and certification cards to installers after they have completed the 40-hour course and passed the exam?

DLI-recognized training providers are responsible for certifying installers who meet the training and exam requirements, providing certification cards, and maintaining records of certified installers.

#### Who is the point contact for DLI for training providers and interested stakeholders?

Don Sivigny, Supervisor, Education, Rules, Codes, and Grants, 651-284-5874 or <a href="mailto:don.sivigny@state.mn.us">don.sivigny@state.mn.us</a>