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Labor and Industry (DLI): Divisions and units 

• Apprenticeship Minnesota 

• Construction Codes and Licensing Division 

• Labor Standards 

• Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA) Compliance 

• MNOSHA Workplace Safety Consultation 

• Projects and Planning 

• Workers’ Compensation Division 
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Labor Standards enforced by DLI 

• Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act 

• Women’s Economic Security Act 

• Child Labor Standards Act 

• Minnesota Prevailing Wage Act 

• Wage Theft Prevention Act 

• Other laws related to employment, 

wages, conditions, hours. 
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Labor Standards, Wage and Hour agencies in 
Minnesota 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Labor Standards 
dli.mn.gov or 651-284-5075 

U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division 
dol.gov/whd or 612-370-3341 

Minnesota Attorney General's Office 
ag.state.mn.us or 651-296-3353 

Saint Paul, Labor Standards Enforcement and Education Division 
stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-equal-economic-opportunity or 651-266-8900 

Minneapolis, Labor Standards Enforcement Division 
ci.minneapolis.mn.us/civilrights/LaborStandardsEnforcement/ or 612-673-3012 

Duluth, City Clerk's Office 
duluthmn.gov/city-clerk/ or 218-730-5500 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/
http://www.dol.gov/whd
http://www.ag.state.mn.us/
http://www.stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-equal-economic-opportunity
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/civilrights/LaborStandardsEnforcement/
https://duluthmn.gov/city-clerk/
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Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act 

The purpose of sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 is to aid in the economic, 
social and educational development of young people through employment. 
Work is an integral factor in providing a sense of purpose, direction, and 
self-esteem necessary to the overall physical and mental health of an 
individual. Young people, especially those who have completed high school 
or occupational training, should not be denied employment opportunities. 
Work, however, must be coordinated with schooling and safety 
considerations in order to serve the best interest of the young. 
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The “three paths” of Minnesota youth labor standards 

Question Minor <14 years of age Minor <16 years of age Minor <18 years of age 

Can the minor work? Generally not able to work except by 
exemption or by permit. 

Generally able to work at 14 years of 
age. 

Generally able to work at 14 years of 
age. 

Are there occupations that the Subject to all hazardous occupations Subject to all hazardous occupations Subject to hazardous occupations 
minor may not engage In? restrictions—unless an exemption is restrictions — unless an exemption is restrictions for minors under the age 

met. met. of 18 unless exemption is met. 

What hours can the minor work? Between 7 a.m. – 9 p.m. only, 
maximum of eight hours in 24-hour 
period and 40 hours in a week. 
Employment during school hours 
requires employment certificate. 

Between 7 a.m. — 9 p.m. only, 
maximum of eight hours in 24-hour 
period and 40 hours in a week. 
Employment during school hours 
requires employment certificate. 

High school students cannot work 
after 11 p.m. on evening before 
school day or before 5 a.m. on school 
day, except can work until 11:30 p.m. 
and at 4:30 a.m. with written 
parental permission. 

Can the minor work during school If working during school hours, must If working during school hours, must No limitation on working during 
hours? obtain employment certificate — obtain employment certificate — school hours. 

unless an exemption is met. unless an exemption is met. 
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Minnesota’s child labor standards: Agriculture 

General rule: No minors under age 14 can work in Minnesota 
• Exception: Minors 12 and above can perform agricultural work with 

permission of parent or guardian 

General rule: Minors under age 16 cannot work more than 40 hours a 
week or more than 8 hours in any 24-hour period 

• Exception: Minor agricultural workers ages 12-15 can work more than 40 
hours a week and more than eight hours a day with permission of parent or 
guardian 
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Special concern: The presence of liquor 

• Generally, minors under the age of 18 cannot work in rooms or areas where liquor is consumed or served, or 
in tasks prohibited by law that involve the sale, service, dispensation or handling of liquor. 

• Minors who have reached the age of 16 can be employed: 

• As a busser, dishwasher and host in rooms or areas of a restaurant, hotel, motel, or resort where the 
presence of intoxicating liquor or 3.2% malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation; 

• As a busser, dishwasher, host or server in rooms or areas where the presence of 3.2% malt liquor is 
incidental to food service or preparation; 

• To provide musical entertainment in those rooms or areas where the presence of intoxicating liquor and 
3.2% malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation; and 

• In occupations not prohibited by law in rooms or areas where no liquor is consumed or served. 
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Hazardous employment activities 

Examples (subject to limitation in the rule or exemption): 

• Under 18 (Minnesota Rules 5200.0910): 
• In or about construction or building projects, logging or 

lumbering operations, paper mills, sawmills; to operate or assist
in the operation of power-driven machinery; to drive certain 
motor vehicles; or to work in rooms or areas where certain
alcohol is served or consumed, or in any tasks involving the
serving, dispensing, or handling of alcohol that are consumed on 
premises. 

• Under 16 (Minn. R. 5200.0920): 
• To lift, carry, or personally care for patients in hospitals or nursing

homes; to operate or assist in the operation of machinery including
farm type tractors and other self-propelled vehicles, snow blowers
and other power-driven lawn and garden equipment; in walk-in meat
freezers or meat coolers; or in any occupation in agriculture that the
U.S. secretary of labor finds to be hazardous for minors under the age
of 16. 
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Hazardous employment activities: Statue and rule-
based exemptions 

• Minors working for a family farm corporation where the minor’s parent is a 
member of the family farm corporation 

• Minors working for corporations owned by one or both parents, where the daily 
corporate business is supervised by the parent(s) 

• Performer, newspaper carriers, youth athletic referees, home chores and 
babysitting: 181A.07 

• Tasks outside the area of hazard 

• High school graduates who are 17 years of age 
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Approved training program exceptions 

• State-approved apprenticeship training program or a training program approved by Minnesota Department of 
Education (MDE), Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development, DLI or the Board of Trustees 
of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota. 

• A child labor exception permit is required if employment involves a hazardous occupation. 

• If the issue is school hours restrictions related the district may be able to issue an employment certificate. 

• District’s requesting Exception permits will need to have an MDE (or other agency) approved training program already. 

• If program has been approved the employer will be required to: 

• Submit proof of worker’s compensation and information about specific machines, tools and equipment that may be used. 

• Meet with MNOSHA Workplace Safety Consultation about equipment and related safety measures. 

Exemption permit will be approved or denied based on the results of the employer or OSHA safety review. Note: If 
the request is for employment on an active construction site, the exemption will not be provided based on the 
significant safety risks present for minors and other employees when minors are present. 
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DLI child labor exemption permits 

DLI receives applications for child labor exemption 
permits 

• Must be filed by the minor’s parent, guardian, school official, 
or youth employment specialist. 

• Assessed on a case-by-case basis, granted if the permit would 
be in the best interest of the minor. 

• Permits can be sought and may be granted for any of the child 
labor laws and rules. 

• Turnaround time varies by season. 

• Permits are available as fillable PDFs at 
dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-
exemptions 

https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-exemptions
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-exemptions
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Employment Certificates:  181A.05 

• Any minor 14 or 15 years of age who wishes to work on school days during school hours shall first secure 
an employment certificate. The certificate shall be issued only by the school district superintendent, the 
superintendent's agent, or some other person designated by the Board of Education. The employment 
certificate shall be issued only for a specific position with a designated employer and shall be issued only 
in the following circumstances: 

1. if a minor is to be employed in an occupation not prohibited by rules promulgated under section 181A.09 and as 
evidence thereof presents a signed statement from the prospective employer; and 

2. if the parent or guardian of the minor consents to the employment; and 

3. if the issuing officer believes the minor is physically capable of handling the job in question and further believes the 
best interests of the minor will be served by permitting the minor to work. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/181A.09
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State law: Minimum wage 

Employer or employee type Minimum-wage rate 

Large employer: Any enterprise with annual gross 
revenues of $500,000 or more 

$10.59/hour (2023), $10.85 (2024) 

Small employer: Any enterprise with annual gross 
revenues of less than $500,000 

$8.63/hour (2023), $8.85 (2024) 

Training wage: May be paid to employees aged 18 and 
19 in the first 90 days of employment 

Youth wage: May be paid to employees aged 17 or 
younger 

J-1 visa: May be paid to employees of hotels, motels, 
lodging establishments and resorts working under the 
authority of a summer work, travel exchange (J) visa 

$8.63/hour (2023), $8.85 (2024) 

*minimum wage adjusts Jan. 1 of each year. 
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For business > Employment practices > Earned sick and safe t im e 

EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME 

Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota's earned sick and safe time law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees 

who work in the state. Minnesota's current sick and safe leave law remains in effect unti l Dec. 31, 2023 and wil l be rep laced 

by the new earned sick and safe time law on Jan. 1, 2024. 

• View FAQs about earned sick and safe time. 

What is sick and safe time? 

Sick and safe time is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that 

can be used for certain reasons, includ ing when an employee is sick, to care for a sick 

iiiHl'HH 11\H'HH 
fam ily member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse. 

Who is eligible for sick and safe time? 
MINNESOTA PAID FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ► 

Earned sick and safe time 
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Final wages upon separation of employment 

• Employees terminated, discharged or fired are due all wages and commissions 
within 24 hours of a written demand for payment. 

• For employees who voluntarily leave employment, wages and commissions are 
due on the next regularly scheduled payday. If the payday is within five days of the 
last day of work, the employer has up to 20 days to make final payment. 

• Penalties:  The employer may be liable to pay their former employee’s average 
daily earnings for up to 15 days the employer is late paying wages. 

• Exception: If an employee collected, disbursed or handled money or property, 
the employer has 10 days after termination to audit and adjust the accounts 
before paying all final wages. 



         
      

         
  

         
       

    

 

 

  

Tipping 

• Tips are the property of the employee directly serving the customer. Employers cannot require 
employees to share or pool their tips with other employees, except under certain limited-
service situations. 

• Gratuities presented to a direct service employee by credit card shall be credited to that pay 
period in which they are received. 

• For tips received through credit card, the full amount of tip must go to the employee minus 
only the percentage deducted from the tip in the same percentage the credit card company 
charges on the total bill (example, usually no more than 3%).** 

**Effective Aug. 1, 2024, the 

full amount of the gratuity 

must be paid to the employee 
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Employee notice 

1. Emp loy,ee; Addres.s; 

Piho:ne number: Ema il address: 

Date e.mploymemt beJ?an : 

2. Le a 1na me of e mplov,er; Main office/principal place of bu~imes·s addriess; 

Piho:ne numlile1r: Eima il address; 

0peratimg name of eim:ploye.r (if different); 

Mail ing address (if differ,entj,; 

3. Emp loymemt stat!us (eJcJempt o:r non-e)ljempt): 

DI Employee is ,exempt fmm: Ominim 1111 m w,.ge Dove rti me O ,other pmvisio:ns of M innesota Statutes 177 

Le.gal basis fo:r exemption ; 

D Employee is mom-exempt (entibled to ovel"l!ime, minimum wage, otlher prnt!ectJio:ns 1111 11Hiler M i rnn . Stat. 177) 

4. Rate o·r rates of pay 

Paid by; HourD Sl'lirtt D navD WeeikO Salary□ Pieoe lD Comm i.ssion D Otil'l er metlhod D 

Employee notice 
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Employee notice, continued 

• Employers are required to keep a copy of the notice signed by each 
employee. 

• Employers are also required to provide employees in writing any 
changes to the information in the notice before the date the changes 
take effect. 



  

  

        

    

    

    

Resources 

• Labor Standards: dli.mn.gov/laborlaw. 

• Child and youth labor landing page: dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-laws. 

• Age restrictions, exemption permits, FAQs, hours of work, penalties, prohibited work, proof of age and teen worker 
fact sheet 

• Informational videos in four languages: dli.mn.gov/labor-standards-videos. 

• Sign up for our Wage and Hour Bulletin: dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/minnesota-
wage-and-hour-bulletin. 

• Contact DLI’s Labor Standards at 651-284-5075 or dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us. 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/laborlaw
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-laws
http://www.dli.mn.gov/labor-standards-videos
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/minnesota-wage-and-hour-bulletin
http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/minnesota-wage-and-hour-bulletin
mailto:dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
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Thank you 

Let us know how we did. Take the survey at 
forms.office.com/g/DxWtfA8ZKb or scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/DxWtfA8ZKb

	Youth labor standards in Minnesota
	Labor and Industry (DLI):  Divisions and units
	Labor Standards enforced by DLI
	Labor Standards, Wage and Hour agencies in Minnesota
	Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act
	The “three paths” of Minnesota youth labor standards
	Minnesota’s child labor standards:  Agriculture
	Special concern:  The presence of liquor
	Hazardous employment activities
	Hazardous employment activities:  Statue and rule-based exemptions
	Approved training program exceptions
	DLI child labor exemption permits
	Employment Certificates:  181A.05 
	State law:  Minimum wage
	Earned sick and safe time
	Final wages upon separation of employment
	Tipping
	Employee notice
	Employee notice, continued
	Resources
	Thank you

