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Terms used in this video 

DLI 
Department of Labor 

and Industry 

FROI 
First Report of Injury 

EDI 
Electronic data 

interchange 

NOPLD 
Notice of Insurers’ 

Primary Liability 
Determination 

SROI 
Subsequent Report of 

Injury 

NOID 
Notice of Intention to 
Discontinue Workers’ 

Compensation 
Benefits 

The term “insurer” is used to designate the claim administrator, 
insurer, self-insurer or third-party administrator. 

Denials of primary liability in Minnesota | www.dli.mn.gov Slide 2 

www.dli.mn.gov


X 

   

 
 

   
 
 

  

 

Improve the quality of denial notices 

FROI 
Accept or deny? 

The underlying basis for a denial: 
– understand; 

– evaluate; and 
– communicate. 

Avoid being nonspecific or frivolous. 
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Primary liability determination 

A primary liability determination is a determination that an 
alleged work-related injury is or is not compensable under 

Minnesota statutes and rules. 

NOPLD 
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Parties to a claim may include 

Employee Heirs or dependents 
of an employee 

Employee’s 
representative 

Employer or self-
insured employer 

Insurer Third-party administrator 
for the insurer 
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Steps to a primary liability denial 

Step one 

Investigate 
the injury 

Step two 

Determine 
compensability 

Step three 

Formulate and submit 
denial reason 

Step four 

Distribute to 
required parties 
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Steps to a primary liability denial (step one) 

Step one 

Investigate 
the injury 
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Step one: Investigate 

An investigation or good faith effort 
to attempt an investigation of the 

claim must be completed. 
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Step one: Start the investigation 

Employer or self-
insured employer 

Obtain details, 
confirm facts on FROI 

Employee 

Discuss injury details, 
treatment received, 
physical restrictions, 

next appointment date 

Physician or health 
care provider 

Obtain treatment records for 
current claim and return-to-
work or work ability forms 
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Step one: Minnesota Statutes § 176.221, subdivision 1 

Review this statute in its entirety to 
thoroughly understand various 
timelines regarding a denial or 
acceptance of primary liability. 
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Step one:  Timely submission, 14 days 

Notice to the 
employer of the 

employee's claimed 
disability 

Fourteen days to file an acceptance or 
denial of liability 

Day one Fourteen 
calendar days 

Sixty 
calendar days 
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Step one:  Timeline, 14 to 60 days 

Notice to the 
employer of the 

employee's claimed 
disability 

If the insurer cannot 
make a decision in the 

14-day period … 

… the insurer can initially 
accept the claim, begin any 

appropriate payments … 
… and deny it 

later 

Day one Fourteen 
calendar days 

Sixty 
calendar days 
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Step one:  Timeline after 60 days 

To deny primary liability 
after 60 days … 

… the insurer must file the 
appropriate EDI suspension 
transaction and create the 

Notice to the discontinuance webform … 
… and then serve employer of the the NOID on all employee's claimed required parties disability 

Day one 
Sixty 

calendar days 
Fouteen 

calendar days 
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Steps to a primary liability denial (step two) 
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Step two: Determine compensability 

Has the claim been 
investigated? Is there a legal basis to deny? Are there facts to support the 

legal basis? 

Is the basis supported by 
fact or law? 

Are there relevant medical 
reports or other related 

documents that support the 
asserted basis for the denial? 

Denials of primary liability in Minnesota | www.dli.mn.gov Slide 15 

www.dli.mn.gov


    

    

Steps to a primary liability denial (step three) 
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Language must be 
easily understood to a 

person of average 
intelligence 

Denial must be 
clearly stated with a 

specific reason Employee Insurer Heirs or dependents 
of an employee 

Third-party Employee’s Employer or 
administrator representative self-insured 
for the insurer employer 

Cannot be considered 
frivolous 

Show a complete 
investigation or 
good faith effort 

All referenced 
medical reports and 
related documents 
must be attached 

Step three: Formulate and submit 

Remember the potential parties? 
They all need to understand the denial reason provided. 



  

   

   
 

  
 

 
 

 
  
 

 
  

  
  

 
 

 

Step three: Tips to formulate and submit 

Avoid using abbreviations or 
industry acronyms. 

You know what you know, 
put it on paper. All facts 
should be documented. 

Ensure the denial reason 
states a legal and factual 

basis, is specific and 
is not frivolous. 

Make sure what you are 
serving is complete and 

what you intended. 

Attach all supporting 
documentation to the denial. 

Ensure documentation 
is uploaded into the 

Work Comp Campus file 
and attached to the 
denial when served. 
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Step three: Tips to formulate and submit (continued) 

The reason field 
in Campus has a limit 

of 500 characters. 

If your denial reason cannot be 
completely incorporated within 
the 500-character limit, attach a 

separate denial statement, … 

… DLI suggests stating in the 
“Reason” field that the full 

denial reasoning is attached. 

For any denial that relies on medical 
records or other relevant documents, 

the denial reason should clearly explain 
how the facts within the supplied records 

or documents support the denial. 
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Distribute to
required parties

Step four

Steps to a primary liability denial (step four) 

Step four 

Distribute to 
required parties 
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Step four: Distribute to required parties 

The insurer is 
responsible for 

serving all 
required parties. 

Employee Insurer Heirs or 
dependents of 
an employee 

Employee’s 
representative 

Employer or 
self-insured 

employer 

Third-party 
administrator 
for the insurer 
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Step four: Distribute to required parties (continued) 

The NOPLD form can be found in 
Campus under the Documents tab. 

Check with your company for its 
preferred method of serving the 

NOPLD form, along with any 
supporting documents on 

all required parties. 
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Resources 

• Video:  How to upload a document in Campus 

• Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes 

Denials of liability Minnesota Rules part 5220.257 0 

Timeline: 
-- 14 days to pay or deny; 
-- 60 days to deny using NOPLD; and 
-- denying after 60 days using NOID. 

Minn. S ta t . 176.221, subd. 1 
Min n. R . 5220.2 5 70, su bp a r t 7 

Frivolous denials Min n. R . 5220.2 5 70, su bp . 10 

Nonspecific denials Min n. R . 5220.2 5 70, su bp . 2E 

D ate -of-injury medical records Min n. Stat. 176.1 3 8( a ) 

Workers' compensation Claims Access and
Management Platform User System (CAMPUS) 

Min n. Stat. 176.2 6 1 2 

Denials of primary liability in Minnesota | www.dli.mn.gov 23 

https://youtu.be/d-K7T0sL2Cc
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/%22HYPERLINK%20%22https:/www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/176.194
www.dli.mn.gov


m, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
WORKERS' COMPENSATION 

  

 
 

   

 

Campus issues? Contact the 
Workers' Compensation Division Help Desk. 

651-284-5005, press 3 
800-342-5354, press 3 

helpdesk.dli@state.mn.us 

EDI transaction and submission issues? 
Email the EDI help desk. 

dli.edi@state.mn.us 
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