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Housekeeping Items

DLI’s mission is to ensure Minnesota’s DLI’s vision is to be a trusted resource

work and living environments are and an impartial regulator for

equitable, healthy and safe. employers, employees, property owners
and other stakeholders.

WEBINAR:

* This is a large audience

*  Mics and Cameras are off

* If you have questions, please submit in the chat and
we will get to as many as we can.

* Slides and recordings will be posted to the events

page after the event - https://www.dli.mn.gov/events
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Department of Labor and Industry operating areas

DLI’s mission is to ensure Minnesota’s DLI’s vision is to be a trusted resource

work and living environments are and an impartial regulator for

equitable, healthy and safe. employers, employees, property owners
and other stakeholders.

DLI operating areas:

* Workers’ Compensation

* Occupational Safety and Health (OSHA)
* Labor Standards

* Apprenticeship Minnesota

* Construction Codes and Licensing

* Minnesota Dual-Training Pipeline

* Youth Skills Training

* Office of Combative Sports

* General Support




Labor standards enforced by DLI

* Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act

* Women’s Economic Security Act

e Child Labor Standards Act

* Minnesota Prevailing Wage Act
* Wage Theft Prevention Act

* Other laws related to employment,

wages, conditions, hours.
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2023 legislative labor law changes

Earned sick and safe time Restrictive franchise agreements

Pregnancy and nursing accommodations * Nursing Home Workforce Standards
Board

Family leave: paid and unpaid

Packinghouse and food processing
workers

Warehouse worker safety

Ergonomics program

Other new labor requirements DLI will
not enforce

Workplace veterans poster

Construction worker wage protection



Minnesota FLSA: Who is an employee for purposes of

minimum wage and overtime?

Employee: Any individual employed
by an employer.

Exceptions include (not exhaustive
list):

e various agricultural workers

* those who meet tests for
“executive, administrative, or
professional” employees

* independent contractors

® 19+ exce pt I O n S (see Minnesota Statutes 177.23, Subdivision 7)

dli.mn.gov 6
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Executive, Administrative and Professional Exemptions

* Positions designated under one of these common exemptions must be paid
a guaranteed and predetermined weekly salary and perform certain job duties to
be exempt from Minnesota's overtime law. Paying an employee a salary or using a

certain job title, such as supervisor, does not make a worker exempt without
meeting the “duties tests.”

* Duties tests and salary amounts can be found in Minnesota Rules 5200.0180 and:

* Executive tests (Minnesota Rules -- 5200.0190)

* Administrative tests (Minnesota Rules -- 5200.0200)

* Professional tests (Minnesota Rules -- 5200.0210)
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Executive test I:

* at least $250 per week in salary; manages the enterprise by which the person is employed or a recognized
department or subdivision thereof; and customarily directs the work of two or more other employees.

Executive test Il:

* receives at least S155 per week in salary; manages and supervises a department of at least two other full-
time people (a full-time employee is defined as one who works at least 35 hours in a workweek); has
authority to hire or fire or suggest changes in employees' status; D. regularly exercises discretionary
powers; and either:

* (1) devotes less than 20 percent of time worked, or 40 percent in retail or service establishments, to
nonexempt work; (2) owns 20 percent or more of the business; or (3) has sole charge of an
independent or branch establishment.
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Independent contractor misclassification

Misclassification definition

The practice of labeling workers as independent
contractors instead of employees in order to avoid
certain legal obligations, such as worker’s

compensation, tax obligations, and fair labor
standards.

Minnesota’s Labor Standards asks:

Does misclassification lead to a violation of the
MFLSA or FLSA? (see MN Admin. Rules 5224.0330)

Misclassification | www.dli.mn.gov m‘ E::gﬁTr:gIHD;USTRY
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State law: Minimum wage

Employer/employee type Minimum wage rate (2023)

Large employer: Any enterprise with annual gross $10.59 (2023) and $10.85 (2024)/hour
revenues of $500,000 or more
Small employer: Any enterprise with annual gross $8.63(2023) and $8.85 (2024)/hour

revenues of less than $500,000

Training wage: May be paid to employees aged 18 and
19 in the first 90 days of employment

Youth wage: May be paid to employees aged 17 or
younger

J-1 visa: May be paid to employees of hotels, motels, $8.85/hour
lodging establishments and resorts working under the
authority of a summer work, travel exchange (J) visa

*minimum wage adjusts Jan. 1 of each year.
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* Tips are the property of the employee directly serving the customer. Employers cannot
require employees to share or pool their tips with other employees, except under certain
limited-service situations.

* Employers may not count tips received by an employee toward the payment of minimum
wage.

* For tips received through credit card, the full amount of tip must go to the employee
minus only the percentage deducted from the tip in the same percentage the credit card
company charges on the total bill. (example, usually no more than 3%)
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Minnesota law: Over 48 hours

However, DLI refers many
overtime cases to the U.S.
Department of Labor because
the federal threshold is lower.

This is a general guideline that

Federal law: Over 40 hours

applies in most situations. The
U.S. Department of Labor
should be contacted for further
details.

dli.mn.gov
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State law: Deductions from wages

Allowed deductions from employees (direct or indirect):

* Written agreement to deduct insurance payments, union dues, retirement plans,
organization or PAC contributions or savings plans

* Up to S50 for uniform(s), equipment
* Consumables and travel expenses

* Limited meal credit: 60% of one hour of state minimum wage a day can be
deducted from the minimum wage.

* Limited lodging credit: 75% of one hour of minimum wage a day can be
deducted from the minimum wage.
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State law: Deductions from wages (cont.)

Allowed deductions from employees:

 Employee voluntarily authorizes the deduction in writing or held liable in
court. Authorization must state the amount deducted each pay period.

e Purchase or loan: Authorization required, can be made prior to a purchase or
loan.

* Deductions cannot bring the employee below the minimum wage.

* The employer must reimburse deductions upon separation.
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State law: Hours worked

* The minimum wage must be paid
for all hours worked.

* Hours worked include:

o training time

o call time

o cleaning time
o waiting time

o travel time

dli.mn.gov 15
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Wage notice
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Employee notice

1. Employee: Address:

Phone number: Email address:

Date employment began:
2. Legal name of employer: Main office/principal place of business address:

Phone number: Email address:

Operating name of employer (if different):

Mailing address (if different):

3. Employment status (exempt or non-exempt):
|:| Employee is exempt from: Dminimum Wage Dovertime Dnther provisions of Minnesota Statutes 177

Legal basis for exemption:

|:| Employee is non-exempt (entitled to overtime, minimum wage, other protections under Minn. Stat. 177)

4. Rate orrates of pay

Paid by: Haur|:| Shiﬁl:l DayD WEEkD Salar-,rD F‘ieceD EnmmissionD DthErmethndD
S

16




Wage notice

* The wage notice must provide:

* Employee's employment status and whether an employee is exempt from minimum
wage, overtime and other state wage and hour laws, and on what basis.

* For information regarding who can be considered exempt, as well as information regarding
other exceptions that may apply to minimum wage and overtime, reference Minnesota Statues
177.23 and Minnesota Administrative Rules, Chapter 5200.0180 through 5200.0220.

* Number of days in the employee's pay period and the regularly scheduled payday.

e Date the employee will receive the first payment of wages earned.

m DEPARTMENT OF
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Earnings statements

 Earnings statement requirements:

Name of the employee.

Total hours worked by the employee in the pay
period.

Total amount of gross pay earned by employee in
the pay period.

Net amount of pay after all deductions are made.

List of deductions made from the employee's pay.

Date pay period ended.

Employer's legal and operating name.

mal Gross
uctions
itions
rtime

EARNINGS TOTAL

—Taxable Gross
:able Gross

- : W de kg kK
1 withholding - : / _
;?E?énal Federal o 35 . CkkkxR
ite withholding .. .. 44ing 1

jitional State Wit <08
5DT ] %%
iicarg Buyout :
;égaﬁisabllity Insurance 38
RS

ﬁ“-—mfﬂ Retirement .

m DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 18




m‘ DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Labor Standards services and process

* Investigations

* Wage claim

* Inform and educate \ ‘
* Investigation l
|

e Education and outreach

* Technical assistance |

* Training | |

* Videos

e Website and materials
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For more information

* Visit our web site at www.dli.mn.gov/laborlaw.

* Sign up for the Wage and Hour Bulletin on our website.

e Contact DLI's Labor Standards at 651-284-5075 or dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us.

20
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Fair Labor Standards Act

U.S. Department of Labor ®
Wage and Hour Division = “7
Corey Walton B

(Community Outreach and Resource Planning)

B2 U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
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LAWS ENFORCED BY WHD

e Family and Medical Leave Act
e Davis Bacon and Related Acts "R
e Service Contract Act gt
e Polygraph Protection Act el )

e Wage Garnishment
e Temporary Worker Programs

B U.S. Department of Labor
> Wage and Hour Division
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FLSA
Topics of Discussion

e Exemptions* 2 i

B U.S. Department of Labor
# Wage and Hour Division



http://www.dol.gov/

Major Provisions of FLSA

e Overtime Pay \
e Youth Employment X .-7

e Recordkeeping e, -

B U.S. Department of Labor
> Wage and Hour Division
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Coverage

of the enterprise are entitled to A protections
e Individual coverage: Even if the enterprise is not covered, e?
individual employees may be covered and entitled to FLSA 2 . L
protections 'S, =

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Enterprise Coverage

— At least $500,000 a year in business

e Hospitals, businesses providing medical or nursing care for - “'7
residents, schools, preschools and government agencies
(federal, state, and local) L -

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division



http://www.dol.gov/

Individual Coverage

— Closely-related process or occupation directly essential (CRADE) to such & 1
production; or o L
— Domestic service > ﬁ
e Engaging in “interstate commerce” which may include: ——s
- Making telephone calls to other states >
- Typing letters to send to other states 2 { 4
- Processing credit card transactions R

— Traveling to other states

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division

ULS. Wage and Hour Division
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Hours Worked: Issues

e Waiting Time £
e Meal and Rest Periods
e Training Time
e Travel Time R 2
o Sleep Time (See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #79D) haglmim.

*See USDOL-WHD Fact Sheet #22 / <

B U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
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Suffered or Permitted

Work not requested but suffered or permitted is wor

time

B U.S. Department of Labor
# Wage and Hour Division
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Meal and Rest Periods

Rest periods of short duration (normally 5 to 20 minutes) are @& 4
counted as hours worked and must be paid = é‘i
*Whether active or inactive. - 9;. -

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Training Time

o A cnNndar OL de redguiar workind
hours ®« 4
e Attendance is voluntary = é—?
e The course, lecture, or meeting is not job . —
related ’% '.
e The employee does not perform any W
productive work during attendance // .\

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Travel Time

e Travel between job sites during the normal & 7
work day is work time s W

i

e Special rules apply to travel away from the ’{ |
employee’s home community Wi

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Exemptions and Exceptions

2re are numerous exemptic aNC 4
exceptions from the minimum wage >
and/or overtime standards of the FLSA

B U.S. Department of Labor
# Wage and Hour Division
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“White Collar” Exemptions

’f\ U.S. Department of Labor

Wage and Hour Division
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“White Collar” Exemptions

certain <
e Executive Employees _? ’
e Administrative Employees
e Professional Employees ’%
e Outside Sales Employees =
e Computer Employees f;‘ﬂ

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Three Tests for Exemption

Salary Basis (Guaranteed) >

Job Duties (Primary Duty) ; %

B U.S. Department of Labor
# Wage and Hour Division
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Executive Duties

o LlIlIdlilily diil 1CcQulic V UIIC

other employees &« -‘ﬂ

e Authority to hire or fire other employees or recommendations gz
as to the hiring, firing, advancement, promotion or other
change of status of other employees given particular weight R\

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Administrative Duties

operations @ e employer @ e employe ustome VR

e Primary duty includes the exercise of discretion and >
independent judgment with respect to matters of significance k& A
5,

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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FLSA COMMON VIOLATIONS

Deductions: Improper deductions in

weeks «© 4
e Misclassification: Improper treatment of “D
employee as independent contractor .~
e Hours worked: Failure to record, pay for all - R |
hours worked X
e State Law: Confusion between state and ot
federal law il

B U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division

U.S. Wage and Hour Division
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Limits of the FLSA
FLSA does NOT require

e Premium pay for weekend or holiday work «

e Discharge notice, reason for discharge i’:,'-

e Limit on number of hours or days ,’
EUNEIErE B
16 years or older may work :

e Pay raises, fringe benefits B

B U.S. Department of Labor
* Wage and Hour Division
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Additional Information

Basic Information Fact eet

- https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/whd fs.pdf (e :S
e USDOL Fact Sheet #17A (Exemptions) = ‘
- https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/17a-overtime = -
e USDOL Fact Sheet #22 (Hours Worked): S
— https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/22-flsa-hours-worked : ) 4

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division

ULS. Wage and Hour Division
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Disclaimer

e Department of Labor is providing this information as a public
service. This information and related materials are presented to
give the public access to information on Department of Labor
programs. You should be aware that, while we try to keep the
information timely and accurate, there will often be a delay
between official publications of the materials and the modification
of these pages. Therefore, we make no express or implied
guarantees. The Federal Register and the Code of Federal
Regulations remain the official source for regulatory information
published by the Department of Labor. We will make every effort
to keep this information current and to correct errors brought to
our attention.

’f\ U.S. Department of Labor
Y” Wage and Hour Division

ULS. Wage and Hour Division
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