	Agency/Department	Resources	Contact Information
Federal Staffing Rules	Centers for Medicare &	Rule	
	Medicaid Services (CMS),	Information	
	Department of Health and		
	Human Services (HHS)		
Earned Safe and Sick Time	State of Minnesota (MN),	ESST	esst.dli@state.mn.us
	Department of Labor and	FAQ's	(651) 284-5075
	Industry (DLI)		
Minnesota OSHA	Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA)	<u>Standards</u>	651-284-5050 or
		and	877-470-6742
		Regulations	
Safe Patient Handling Act	Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA)	Information	651-284-5050 or
			877-470-6742
Employee's Right to Know	MN Department of	Employee	651-259-3700
	Administration (MNDOA)	Right to	
		Know	
		<u>Statute</u>	
HAZCOM	Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA)	<u>Standards</u>	651-284-5050 or
		<u>and</u>	877-470-6742
		Regulations	
		Statute	
National Labor Relations Act (NLRA)	National Labor Relations Board	FAQ's	Region 18-
	(NLRB)	<u>Information</u>	(612) 348-1757
		Right to	
		discuss	
		wages	
Minnesota paid family or medical	State of Minnesota (MN)	Information	Ask a question
leave	Department of Employment		
	Economic Development (DEED)		
(Fill in your information here)			
NHWSB Information:	Department of Labor and	About the	nhwsb.dli@state.mn.us
	Industry (DLI)	Nursing	
	Nursing Home Workforce	Home	
	Standards Board (NHWSB)	Workforce	
	,	Standards	
		Board	
		Dourd	1

Federal Staffing Rules

Federal Staffing mandates are not set by the NHWSB, but we know they affect nursing home
workers and employers. This rule is phased in over 3-5 years, depending on if your facility is
considered rural or non-rural. For more information, please visit: Federal Register:: Medicare
and Medicaid Programs; Minimum Staffing Standards for Long-Term Care Facilities and Medicaid
Institutional Payment Transparency Reporting

Earned Safe and Sick Time

 Another recent development that affects many nursing home workers is the statewide Earned Safe and Sick Time Requirements. "Sick and safe time is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that can be used for certain reasons." To ensure that your employer is meeting the minimum requirements for earned safe and sick time accumulation and usage, please visit <u>Earned sick and safe time (ESST) | Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry</u> (mn.gov)

MNOSHA

Minnesota's chapter of OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)

Safe Patient Handling Act

Every licensed health care facility in the state shall adopt a written safe patient handling policy
establishing the facility's plan to achieve the goal of minimizing manual lifting of patients by
nurses and other direct patient care workers by utilizing safe patient handling equipment. MN
Statute 182.6551 – 182.6554

Employee's Right to Know and HAZCOM

Employers must evaluate their workplaces for the existence of hazardous substances, harmful
physical agents, and infectious agents and to provide training and information to those
employees covered under this act who are routinely exposed to those substances and agents.

MN Statute chapter 5206

National Labor Relations Act

 This federal act protects your right to discuss wages at work and encourages collective bargaining by protecting workers' full freedom of association

Minnesota paid family or medical leave

 The new Minnesota law will take effect on January 1, 2026, and will provide 12 weeks of paid family or medical leave