
1.1 Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board​

1.2 Proposed Expedited Permanent Rules Establishing Minimum Nursing Home Wage​
1.3 Standards​

1.4 5200.2060 DEFINITIONS.​

1.5 Subpart 1. Scope. Unless otherwise defined in this part, the terms used in parts​

1.6 5200.2060 to 5200.2090 have the meanings given in Minnesota Statutes, section 181.211.​

1.7 Subp. 2. Certified nursing assistant. "Certified nursing assistant" means a person​

1.8 who has received training and provides or assists in the provision of nursing or​

1.9 nursing-related services in a nursing home consistent with the requirements under Minnesota​

1.10 Statutes, section 144A.61.​

1.11 Subp. 3. Licensed practical nurse. "Licensed practical nurse" means a person who​

1.12 engages in the practice of practical nursing, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.171,​

1.13 subdivision 14, in a nursing home.​

1.14 Subp. 4. Trained medication aide. "Trained medication aide" means a person who​

1.15 has received training and administers medications in a nursing home consistent with the​

1.16 requirements under part 4658.1360.​

1.17 5200.2070 APPLICABILITY.​

1.18 Subpart 1. Statewide minimum wage standards. The wage standards for nursing​

1.19 home workers under parts 5200.2080 and 5200.2090 apply statewide.​

1.20 Subp. 2. Appropriation required. The wage standards under parts 5200.2080 and​

1.21 5200.2090 are not effective until:​

1.22 A. the legislature provides an appropriation, as determined by Minnesota Statutes,​

1.23 sections 256R.21 and 256R.25, sufficient to cover the necessary rate increase; and​

1.24 B. federal approval of the rate increase is obtained.​
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2.1 Subp. 3. Modified implementation date. Unless federal approval of the rate increase​

2.2 under subpart 2 is obtained by December 1, 2025, the wage standards under parts 5200.2080​

2.3 and 5200.2090 shall become effective 30 days after federal approval of the rate increase is​

2.4 obtained.​

2.5 5200.2080 GENERAL WAGE STANDARDS.​

2.6 Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for all nursing home workers is $19​

2.7 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for all nursing home workers is​

2.8 $20.50 per hour.​

2.9 5200.2090 WAGE STANDARDS FOR CERTAIN OCCUPATIONS.​

2.10 Notwithstanding the statewide minimum wage established in part 5200.2080, the​

2.11 minimum wage for certified nursing assistants, trained medication aides, and licensed​

2.12 practical nurses is:​

2.13 A. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for certified nursing assistants​

2.14 is $22.50 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for certified nursing​

2.15 assistants is $24 per hour.​

2.16 B. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for trained medication aides​

2.17 is $23.50 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for trained medication​

2.18 aides is $25 per hour.​

2.19 C. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for licensed practical nurses​

2.20 is $27 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for licensed practical nurses​

2.21 is $28.50 per hour.​
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