Minimum Nursing Home Holiday Pay Standards
5200.xxxx DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. Unless otherwise defined in this part, the terms used in parts to have the
meanings given to them in Minnesota Statutes, section 181.211.

Subp. 2. Holiday. “Holiday” means the following dates: New Year's Day, January 1; Martin Luther
King's Birthday, the third Monday in January; Washington's and Lincoln's Birthday, the third Monday in
February; Memorial Day, the last Monday in May; Juneteenth, June 19; Independence Day, July 4;
Labor Day, the first Monday in September; Indigenous Peoples Day, the second Monday in October;
Veterans Day, November 11; Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November; and Christmas Day,
December 25. A holiday is a 24-hour period comprised of the time from midnight of the date designated
as a holiday to the next midnight.

5200.xXxXxXx HOLIDAY PAY.

Subpart 1. Holiday Pay. Beginning January 1, 2025, a nursing home worker who works any holiday
shall be paid a minimum of time-and-one-half their regular hourly wage for all hours worked during the
holiday.

Subp. 2. Modification of Holiday Date and Time.

A. The start and stop times for the 24-hour period comprising a holiday can be modified by a
collective bargaining agreement.

B. A nursing home employer may substitute up to four holidays for an alternate day in the same
calendar year if such substitution is agreed upon by a majority of affected nursing home
workers or the exclusive representative of the affected nursing home workers if one exists.

C. Any agreement to modify a holiday date or time must be made in the calendar year preceding
the start of the calendar year in which the modified holiday is observed. There must be
written record of such an agreement.

D. Any record of agreement to modify a holiday date or time shall be retained by the nursing
home employer for a minimum of three years following the observation of the modified
holiday.



