## **Minimum Nursing Home Wage Standards**

## 5200.xxxx DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. **Scope.** Unless otherwise defined in this part, the terms used in parts \_\_\_\_\_\_ to \_\_\_\_\_ have the meanings given to them in Minnesota Statutes, section 181.211.

Subp. 2. **Trained Medication Aide.** "Trained medication aide" means a person who has received training and administers medications in a nursing home consistent with the requirements set forth in Minnesota Administrative Rules, part 4658.1360.

Subp. 3. Certified Nursing Assistant. "Certified nursing assistant" means a person who has received training and provides or assists in the provision of nursing or nursing-related services in a nursing home consistent with the requirements set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.61.

Subp. 4. Licensed Practical Nurse. "Licensed practical nurse" means a person who engages in the practice of practical nursing, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.171, subdivision 14, in a nursing home.

# 5200.xxxx APPLICABILITY.

Subpart 1. **Statewide Minimum Wage Standards.** The wage standards for nursing home workers, as established by the Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board, apply statewide.

Subp. 2. **Appropriation Required.** The wage standards set forth in parts 5200.xxxx and 5200.xxxx shall not become effective unless and until:

- A. the legislature provides an appropriation, as determined by sections 256R.21 and 256R.25, sufficient to cover the necessary rate increase; and
- B. federal approval of the rate increase is obtained; and

Subp. 3. **Modified Implementation Date.** Unless federal approval of the rate increase referenced in subpart 2 is obtained by December 1, 2025, the wage standards set forth in parts 5200.xxxx and 5200.xxxx shall become effective 30 days after federal approval of the rate increase is obtained.

# 5200.xxxx GENERAL WAGE STANDARDS.

Subpart 1. **Minimum Wages for All Nursing Home Workers**. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for all nursing home workers is \$19 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for all nursing home workers is \$20.50 per hour.

## 5200.xxxx WAGE STANDARDS FOR CERTAIN OCCUPATIONS.

Subpart. 1. **Occupation-Based Wages.** Notwithstanding the statewide minimum wage established in part 5200.xxxx, the minimum wages for certified nursing assistants, trained medication aides, and licensed practical nurses, for the time they work in those roles, shall be:

- A. Wages for Certified Nursing Assistants. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for certified nursing assistants is \$22.50 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for certified nursing assistants is \$24 per hour.
- B. Wages for Trained Medication Aides. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for trained medication aides is \$23.50 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for trained medication aides is \$25 per hour.
- C. Wages for Licensed Practical Nurses. Beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum wage for licensed practical nurses is \$27 per hour. Beginning January 1, 2027, the minimum wage for licensed practical nurses is \$28.50 per hour.

