
Option 1: Holiday Pay
All employees required to work on any of the state recognized holidays shall be paid a
minimum of time-and-one-half for all hours worked for that 24 hour period. The exact
start and stop times for the 24 hour period can be modified by a collective bargaining
agreement.
 
Option 2: Option 1 + $25 Minimum wage

 
Option 3: Option 1 + $20 Minimum wage

 
Option 4: Option 1 + $18 Minimum wage rural/deep rural and $20 minimum wage
metro 

 
Option 5: Option 1+ Minimum Wage by Job Class 
Dietary Aides, Activities Aides, Environmental Services and Linen Aides, maintenance
employees and all other employees not specifically mentioned below- $20 an hour
Cooks, Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs), Health Unit Coordinators and Maintenance
2- Boiler’s License- $21 an hour
CNAs with at least 5 years experience- $22.50 an hour
CNAs with at least 15 years experience- $25 an hour
Trained Medication Aides (TMAs)- $22 an hour
TMAs with at least 5 years experience- $23.50 an hour
TMAs with at least 15 years experience- $26 a hour
Licensed Practical Nurses- $27 an hour
LPNs with at least 5 years experience- $30 an hour
LPNs with at least 15 years of experience- $34 an hour  
This wage rate includes any and all sub-contracted service providers. 

Goal: The legislation asks us to set minimum standards that improve
conditions for a majority of the workers in the industry.
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Option 6:  Option 1 + Minimum Wage by Job Class and Region
Same as above with previously rural/deep rural categories of nursing home $1 lower.
 
Holiday Pay Outline from Statute
All employees required to work on any of the state recognized holidays shall be paid a
minimum of time-and-one-half for all hours worked for that 24 hour period. The exact start
and stop times for the 24 hour period can be modified by a collective bargaining agreement.

The State Recognized Holidays include: 
New Year’s Day, January 1
Martin Luther King’s Birthday, the third Monday in January 
Washington’s and Lincoln’s Birthday, the third Monday in February
Memorial Day, the last Monday in May
Juneteenth, June 19
Independence Day, July 4
Labor Day, the first Monday in September
Indigenous Peoples Day, the second Monday in October
Veterans Day, November 11
Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November
and Christmas Day, December 25
Nursing home employers, like Minnesota’s public employers have the option to elect to
include as a “holiday” the Friday after Thanksgiving but not include Indigenous Peoples Day. 
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