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Introduction

The 1995 Minnesota Legislature passed Minnesota Statutes § 176.223 that states in part the Minnesota
Department of Labor and Industry “... shall publish an annual report providing data on the promptness of all
insurers and self-insurers in making first payments on a claim for injury. The report shall identify all insurers and
self-insurers and state the percentage of first payments made within 14 days from the date the employer was
notified of claimed lost time beyond the waiting period for each of the insurers and self-insurers. The report
shall also list the total number of claims and the number of claims paid within the 14-day standard.” Because the
insurer’s responsibility for promptness lies also with the denial of a claim, the Prompt First Action Report on
Workers’ Compensation Claims combines data related to the promptness of first payments and denials.

Minnesota Statutes § 176.231, subdivision 1, states, “Where ... injury occurs which wholly or partly incapacitates
the injured worker from performing labor or service for more than three calendar days, the employer shall
report the injury to the insurer on a form prescribed by the commissioner within ten days from its occurrence.
An insurer and self-insured employer shall report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from its
occurrence.”

Minnesota Statutes § 176.221, subdivision 1, states, “Within 14 days of notice to or knowledge by the employer
of an injury compensable under this chapter the payment of temporary total compensation shall commence.”
This statute also gives insurers the same 14-day deadline to deny the claim and to communicate this decision to
the injured worker and the department. Minnesota Rules part 5220.2540, subpart 1, further applies this 14-day
deadline to the first payment or denial of temporary partial benefits.

Department actions upon receipt of the data

The Department of Labor and Industry evaluates data submitted on the First Report of Injury and the Notice of
Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination forms to determine whether the first payment or denial of benefits is
timely. The First Report of Injury form is used to report claimed work-related injuries and illnesses to the
department. The Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability Determination form is used by the insurer to report the
acceptance or denial of the claim and to communicate information about the payment of benefits. It is also used
to clarify or change information previously submitted on the First Report of Injury form.

If, during the evaluation, the data is inconclusive, a letter asking for the missing or incomplete data is sent to the
insurer (see Appendix C). A list of claims where the first actions were believed to be untimely is sent to each
insurer quarterly. A review period of approximately 30 days is allowed to refute the accuracy of the
department’s data.

After the report is published each year, insurers that had any claims listed in the report for the current fiscal-
year are notified of their performance in comparison to all insurance companies, self-insured employers and the
system as a whole. For those insurers with a significant number of claims that have a performance level
substantially above or below the average, the notices provide additional information (see Appendix D).
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Explanation of Prompt First Action Report table

The Prompt First Action Report table identifies insurance companies and self-insured employers that filed lost-
time claims for the previous five fiscal-years (July 1 through June 30) and the number and percentage of those
claims that were paid or denied within the statutory 14-day deadline. This report includes claims received during
each fiscal-year with claimed lost time beyond the three-calendar-day waiting period. These claims do not
include asbestosis and other litigated claims in which the lost-time determination is inconclusive at the time this
report is published.

Conclusion

In fiscal-year 2020, 88.2% of the 24,079 lost-time claims had a timely first action. This percentage is slightly
lower than fiscal-year 2019, where 89.2% of the 23,799 lost-time claims had a timely first action.

The department’s Workers’ Compensation Division anticipates increased use of technology, electronic data
exchange and early intervention will maintain or improve the overall first action timeliness percentage.

Prompt First Action Report
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FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020
e Total Claims 23,407 23,049 23,852 23,799 24,079
e Timely Claims 21,081 20,852 21,473 21,232 21,234
Percentage 90.1% 90.5% 90.0% 89.2% 88.2%

e==Total Claims  e====Timely Claims Percentage



(651) 284-5032 or 1-800-342-5354

MN Department of Labor and Industry FiI’St Report Of In'ur
Workers' C fion Divisi P jury
oriers ~ompensation Livision See Instructions on Reverse Side
RO 1L

Print in ink or type

Enter dates in MM/DD/YYYY format DO NOT USE THIS SPACE
1. EMPLOYEE SOCIAL SECURITY # | 2. OSHA case # 3. Time employee began |:| am
work on date of injury
[ pm
4. DATE OF CLAIMED INJURY | 5. Time I:' am | 6- Date of death # of dependents (if death
of injury is related to injury)
[ pm
7. EMPLOYEE Name (last, suffix, first, middle) 8. Gender 9. Marital I:' Married
|:| M |:| F | status
I:' Unmarried
10. Home address 11. Home phone # 12. Date of birth 13. Date hired
City State Zip Code 14. Occupation 15. Regular department 16. Apprentice
I:'Yes I:'No

17. Average weekly wage | 18. Rate per 19. Hours per | 20. Days per { Normal work schedule Sun - Sat | 21. Employment |:| Full time |:| Part time

h d K s M T W T F s heck all
our ay wee I:' |:| I:' I:' I:' |:| I:' tsrﬁzttue’ispi)cly;ec ? I:' Seasonal I:' Volunteer

22. Tell us how the injuryl/iliness occurred, what the employee was doing before the incident (give details), and what the injury/iliness was. Examples: “Worker was driving
lift truck with a pallet of boxes when the truck tipped, pinning worker’s left leg under drive shaft.” “Worker developed soreness in left wrist over time from daily computer key entry.”

23. What was the injury or illness (include the part(s) of body)? Examples: 24. What tools, equipment, machines, objects, or substances were involved?
chemical burn left hand, broken left leg, carpal tunnel syndrome in left wrist. Examples: chlorine, hand sprayer, pallet lift truck, computer keyboard.
25. Did injury occur on employer’s premises? 26. Date of first day of any lost time | 27. Employer paid for lost time on day of injury (DOI)
I:' Yes I:' No I:' Yes I:' No I:' No lost time on DOI
Name and address of the place of the occurrence 28. Date employer notified of injury | 29. Date employer notified of lost time
30. Return to work date 31. RTW same employer 32. RTW with restrictions
|:|Yes |:|No |:|Yes |:|No
33. Treating physician (name) 34. Extent of medical treatment (check all that apply)
I:' None I:' Minor on-site by employer’'s medical staff I:' Minor clinic/hospital
35. Certified Managed Care Organization (if any) [ ] Emergency room [ Hospitalization more than 24 hours
Future major medical anticipated
36. EMPLOYER Legal name 37. EMPLOYER DBA name (if different)
38. Mailing address 39. Employer FEIN 40. Unemployment ID #
City State Zip Code 41. Employer’s contact name and phone #
42. Physical address (if different) 43. Witness (name and phone) - if more than 1 attach a separate sheet
City State Zip Code 44. NAICS code 45. Date form completed
46. INSURER name 51. CLAIMS ADMIN COMPANY (CA) name (check one) |:| Insurer
|:| TPA
47. Insured legal name and FEIN 52. CA address
48. Policy # (including effective dates) or self-insured certificate # City State Zip Code
49. Insurer FEIN 50. Date insurer received notice 53. CA FEIN 54. CA claim #

55. To be completed

by the CA: Claim type code: Type of loss code: Late reason code: Salary paid in lieu of comp? | Death result of injury?

MN FRO1 (3/16) Employer: Send copies to Insurer (or Workers’ Compensation Division if no insurer), employee, and employee’s union (if applicable)



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS TO THE EMPLOYER

Employers, not employees, are responsible for completing this form. The information is needed to determine liability and entitlement
to benefits. You must file this form with your insurer, and give a copy to the employee and the employee’s local union office. You are
required to provide the employee with a copy of the Employee Information Sheet, which is available on the Department of Labor and
Industry’s web site at www.dli.mn.gov.

Filing this form is not an admission of liability. You must report a claim to your insurer whenever anyone believes that a work-
related injury or illness that requires medical care or where lost time from work has occurred. If the claimed injury wholly or partially
incapacitates the employee for more than three calendar days, the claim must be made on this form and reported to your insurer within
ten days. Your insurer may require you to file it sooner. Failure to file within the ten days may result in penalties. It is important to file
this form quickly to allow your insurer time to investigate the claim. Your insurer will report the injury to the Department of Labor and
Industry (Department), when necessary. Self-insured employers have 14 days to report the injury to the Department, when necessary.

If the claim involves death or serious injury (including injuries that later result in death), you must notify the Department and
your insurer within 48 hours of the occurrence. The claim can be reported initially to the Department by telephone (651-284-5041), fax
(651-284-5731), or personal notice. The initial notice must be followed by the filing of this form with the Department within seven days
of the occurrence, at P.O. Box 64221, St. Paul, MN 55164-0221.

SEND THIS FORM TO YOUR INSURER IMMEDIATELY — DO NOT WAIT FOR THE DOCTOR’S REPORT
SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS TO THE EMPLOYER ON COMPLETING THIS FORM

* |tem 2: OSHA case #. Fill in the case number from the OSHA 300 log. This form contains all items required by the OSHA form 301.

« ltems 17-21: Fill in all the wage information. If the employee does not work a regularly scheduled work week, attach a 26 week
wage statement so your insurer can calculate the appropriate average weekly wage. Attach a separate sheet giving the weekly
value of any meals, lodging, or 2nd income paid to the employee.

« Item 20: Fill in the average number of days per week that the employee works. Also include their normal work schedule, Sunday -
Saturday, by checking the appropriate boxes. If the employee’s work schedule fluctuates from week-to-week, leave the boxes blank.

* Items 22-24: Be as specific as possible in describing: the events causing the injury; the nature of the injury (cut, sprain, burn, etc.),
and the part(s) of body injured (back, arm, etc.); and the tools, equipment, machines, objects or substances involved.

* Item 26: Fill in the first day the employee lost any time from work (including time lost for medical treatment), even if you paid the
employee for the lost time.

* Item 27: Check the appropriate box to indicate if there was lost time on the date of injury and whether you paid for that lost time.

+ Item 28: Fill in the date you first became aware of the injury or illness.

« Item 29: Fill in the date you became aware that the lost time indicated in Item 26 was related to the claimed injury.

+ Item 30: Leave the box blank if the employee has not returned to work by the time you file this form. If the employee has returned to
work, fill in the date and answer the questions in Items 31 and 32. Notify your insurer if the employee misses time due to this injury
after that date.

+ Item 34: Check all the boxes that apply AT the time you file this form.

« Item 39: Fill in your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). For information, see https://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-
Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Lost-or-Misplaced-Your-EIN.

+ Items 40 and 44: Fill in your Unemployment ID number and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code, which
are both assigned by the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Program (651-296-6141).

* Items 46-54: Your insurer or claims administrator will complete this information if you do not have it available.

INSTRUCTIONS TO THE INSURER/CLAIMS ADMINISTRATOR
(For first reports of injury filed on or after Jan. 1, 2014)

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.231, and Minnesota Rules, part 5220.2530, insurers and self-insured employers must file
with the Department’s Workers’ Compensation Division an electronic first report of injury, according to the requirements set out in
sections 2 to 4 of the Minnesota implementation guide, in all cases where a first report of injury is required to be filed under Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 176. The Minnesota implementation guide can be found on the Department’s website at www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Edi.asp.

A first report of injury submitted by the insurer or self-insured employer in any other manner or format is not considered filed with the
division, except for a written first report of injury on a paper form filed by a self-insured employer within seven days of death or serious
injury.

If the claim does not involve lost time beyond the waiting period or potential permanent partial disability (PPD), or has not been
requested to be filed by the Department, a first report of injury does not need to be filed.

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or audio. To request, call (651) 284-5032 or
1-800-342-5354 Voice or TDD (651) 297-4198

ANY PERSON WHO, WITH INTENT TO DEFRAUD, RECEIVES WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS TO WHICH THE
PERSON IS NOT ENTITLED BY KNOWINGLY MISREPRESENTING, MISSTATING, OR FAILING TO DISCLOSE ANY MATERIAL
FACT IS GUILTY OF THEFT AND SHALL BE SENTENCED PURSUANT TO SECTION 609.52, SUBDIVISION 3.


http://www.dli.mn.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Lost-or-Misplaced-Your-EIN
https://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Lost-or-Misplaced-Your-EIN
http://www.dli.mn.gov/WC/Edi.asp

See instructions on reverse side.
Print in ink or type
Enter dates in MM/DD/YYYY format. DO NOT USE THIS SPACE

Notice of nsurer' rimary Liaitty Determinacion | 1111 I}

|:| Amended

WID number or SSN Date of injury Date of death (if applicable)

Employee (last, first, middle initial)

Employer

Insurer/Self-insurer/TPA Notes

Insurer claim number

First date of lost time Date employer notified of this lost time  |Initial date of return to work Average weekly wage at date of injury

If the initial return to work was followed by a new period of lost time, complete the following information:
First date of new Date employer

period of lost time: notified of this lost time:

|:| 1. Your claim is ACCEPTED and wage loss benefits will be paid.

Benefit type: |:| Tempoary Total (TTD) |:| Tempoary Partial (TPD) |:| Permanent Total (PTD) |:| Dependency (DEP)

Date of payment Amount of payment Time period covered with this payment Compensation rate
Date from Date through

Any ongoing payments will be made on (day of week) at (weekly, biweekly, etc.) intervals.

Check all

that apply

|:| Full wage continuation by the employer under M.S. § 176.221, subd. 9.

|:| TPD payment made according to the wage loss verification received by the insurer on (date).

|:| Fatality with dependents. Payment is being made according to dependent information, which must be ATTACHED.

|:| Fatality with no dependents. Payment is being made to the estate or the Special Compensation Fund.

-

Your claim is ACCEPTED. However, wage loss benefits will not be paid at this time for the following reason:

Check only one

|:| A. Injury did not cause lost time from work beyond the three calendar day waiting period. If employee’s work schedule is not
Monday through Friday, explain:

B. Verification of reduced wages for TPD has not been received from the employee or employer.

C. Other reason (include legal and factual basis):

[
[

|:| 3. Primary liability is DENIED for the claimed work related |:| injury and/or |:| death. (Check one or both)

Reason for denial (include legal and factual basis):

Name of the person making this determination (print) Phone number (area code) Extension Date served (must be completed)

MN NLO1 (2/10) Distribution: Workers’ Compensation Division, Employer, Insurer, Employee/Heirs and Dependents




INSTRUCTIONS TO EMPLOYEE/HEIRS AND DEPENDENTS
PLEASE KEEP A COPY OF THIS NOTICE FOR YOUR RECORDS
General Information

This liability determination is the opinion of the insurer. If the claim has been denied, this opinion may not be final. If you have
questions about any of the information on this form, you should first contact the person making this determination (see name and
phone number on the front side of this form). If you still have questions, contact the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), Workers’
Compensation Division’s Benefit Management and Resolution Unit at the office nearest you (listed below). If there are problems with
your claim, there are several options available to resolve them informally.

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

525 Lake Avenue South, Suite 330 443 Lafayette Road North Mailing address

Duluth, MN 55802-2368 St. Paul, MN 55155-4301 Workers’ Compensation Division
Telephone: (218) 733-7810 Telephone: (651) 284-5030 PO Box 64221

1-800-342-5354 1-800-342-5354 St. Paul, MN 55164

Fax: (651) 284-5731

Time Limitations
If the injury claim has been denied, you may lose your right to benefits if you do not commence legal proceedings within three years
after your employer/insurer filed a written report of your claimed injury with DLI, not to exceed six years after the date of the claimed
injury. If you have an occupational disease, you have three years to begin legal proceedings from the date you learned that the cause
of the disease might be work related and the disease first caused disability.

If the death claim has been denied, you may lose your right to benefits if you do not commence legal proceedings within three years
after the employer/insurer filed the written notice of death with DLI, except that:

1)  For claims where the employer/insurer did not pay benefits for the injury, commencement of legal proceedings cannot
exceed six years from the date of injury resulting in the death.

2)  For claims where the employer/insurer did pay benefits for the injury, commencement of legal proceedings cannot
exceed six years from the date of death.

In very rare circumstances, there may be exceptions to the time limits noted above.

Vocational Rehabilitation
If the insurer is denying primary liability for your claim and you disagree, cannot return to your former employment, and would like
vocational rehabilitation assistance, contact DLI, Vocational Rehabilitation Unit at (651) 284-5038.

Instructions to Insurer/Claims Administrator

1. If the claim is a fatality with dependents and payment is being made, attach dependent information.

2. The reason for a denial must be clear and specific, and state a legal and factual basis in language which is easily understood. If the
reason for a denial is based on medical information, attach medical reports or summary of any health care provider contacts that
support your reason for denial.

3. This form may be filed more than once if your liability determination changes. (Examples: when you initially deny primary liability,
but later accept liability; when you initially accept a claim and pay wage loss benefits, but later deny primary liability within 60 days
pursuant to M.S. § 176.221, subd 1; when you accept liability, but are unable to pay TPD benefits until verification of wage loss is
received, but later issue the first TPD check.)

4. If you file this form more than once, check the Amended box in the upper left-hand corner for each subsequent filing.

Do not use this form to reinstate benefits. Use the Notice of Benefit Reinstatement (NOBR) form.

6. Ifyouindicate that the employer paid “full wage,” you must also file a Notice of Intention to Discontinue (NOID) at the appropriate
time showing the date of return to work or other reason for discontinuance and the payment data on the back of the form as
required by M.S. § 176.221, subd. 9.

7. The date served must be completed each time you file this form.

8. The boxes (in the upper left-hand corner on the front of the form) containing claim identifying information must be fully completed
each time you file the form. The boxes containing the dates of lost time, notice, and initial return to work, and the average weekly
wage must also be completed, if applicable, each time you file the form, regardless of your liability determination.

o

This document can be given to you in Braille, large print or audio. To request, call (651) 284-5032 or 1-800-342-5354.

Any person who, with intent to defraud, receives workers’ compensation benefits to which the person is not entitled by knowingly
misrepresenting, misstating or failing to disclose any material fact is guilty of theft and shall be sentenced pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes § 609.52, subdivision 3.
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April 18, 2019

DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

ATTN: WORKERS’ COMP CLAIM MANAGER
INSURER / TPA

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIPCODE

Re:  Employee Name / Employer Name
WID: 9999999999  D/I: 99/99/2019
Your Claim #: Claim Number

REO0O031

On 4/12/2019, we received a Notice of Insurer's Primary Liability Determination (NOPLD) form
regarding the above claim. Please provide the following missing information (as indicated by an "X") and
return this letter to the address listed below:

X

X

Thank you,

The first day of lost time or wages:

The date the employer was notified of the lost time or wages:

The date of initial return to work:

The first day of the new period of lost time or wages:

The date the ER was notified of the new period of lost time or wages:

The employee's average weekly wage:

Department of Labor & Industry
Workers' Compensation Division
PO Box 64221

St. Paul, MN 55164-0221

Workers” Compensation Division

443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155 e (651) 284-5005 ¢ www.dli.mn.gov
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