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2024 Construction Codes and Licensing legislative session updates
Below is a brief overview of some of the 2024 legislative session laws related to the 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD). 
Prohibited insurance practices for residential contractors
Minnesota Statutes 325E.66 prohibits licensed residential 
building contractors, remodelers and roofers from offering 
to pay a homeowner’s insurance deductible for home 
repair and improvement services which are to be paid by 
an insurance company. The prohibited practices associated 
with this statute have been expanded and will be effective 
July 1, 2024. DLI encourages all licensed contractors to 
review the statute to learn about the prohibited practices.

Contractor Recovery Fund payout increased for homeowners
Effective July 1, 2024, homeowners who have suffered a direct and out-of-pocket loss due to fraudulent, 
deceptive, or dishonest practices, conversion of funds or failure of performance of a licensed residential 
building contractor or remodeler are eligible to receive up to $100,000 in reimbursement from the Contractor 
Recovery Fund. This represents an increase from the previous maximum threshold of $75,000 for eligible 
homeowners.

Elevator constructor continuing education changes
Effective Aug. 1, 2024, the requirement for the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) 
or International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) approvals for online elevator 
constructors continuing education courses is eliminated. This change will allow the elevator industry to submit 
educational programs that are commonly recognized in other states to DLI for review and approval. This change 
should result in more opportunities for elevator constructors to fulfill their continuing education requirements 
to renew their licenses or registrations. 

Plumbing plan review for well designs
The design and installation of wells is regulated by the Minnesota Department of Health. However, the design 
of the water service pipe to the building is regulated by the Minnesota Plumbing Code. Prior to the new 
legislation, now in effect, a well license allowed an individual to design piping from the well to the building, 
but the Department of Labor and Industry could not accept it as a valid license for plumbing plan review due 
to language in the statute. The new legislation allows a plan designed and signed by a licensed well contractor 
(well license Type A) to be submitted and approved by the Department of Labor and Industry Plumbing Plan 
Review unit.

Fast-forward on residential energy
Minnesota Statutes 326B.106 was modified to require each successive issue of the International Energy 
Conservation Code (IECC) to be adopted as the Minnesota Residential Energy Code with incremental 
strengthening amendments to achieve a 70% improvement in energy efficiency by 2038 in comparison to the 

“Update” continues on page 2.

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2024/0/114/laws.1.14.0#laws.1.14.0
https://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/contractor-recovery-fund
https://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/contractor-recovery-fund
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Building contractor and remodeler continuing education reminder
All qualifying builders and remodelers (QBs and QCs) are required to complete 14 hours of approved continuing 
education by the expiration date of their registration, which may not be the same date as the expiration date for their 
business license (BC or CR). 

Contractors can look-up the continuing education date of their qualifying person in our licensing platform, iMS. A list 
of approved continuing education courses is available here. At least one hour of the continuing education must relate 
to the Minnesota Energy Code and one hour must relate to business management strategies. Contact us at 651-284-
5034 or DLI.license@state.mn.us for help with questions.

CCLD Learn offers online continuing education courses at your pace
Sign-up to be notified by email when new courses are available
CCLD Learn — the online, self-paced learning platform from the Construction Codes and Licensing Division — offers 
an intuitive online interface where visitors can complete courses and earn continuing education credits in topics that 
interest them. 

Current courses include:
•	 2018 International Mechanical Code and International Fuel Gas 

Code Minnesota Amendments
•	 2018 International Residential Code Minnesota Amendments
•	 Elevator Licenses, Stairway Chairlifts and Platform Lifts
•	 Glazing and the Residential Code
•	 International Building Code Automatic Fire Sprinkler 

Requirements
•	 Minnesota Accessibility Code Basics 
•	 Minnesota Plumbing Code Update
•	 Plumbing in Single-Family Homes
•	 Residential Building Contractor Licensing and Enforcement
•	 Understanding the Building Code for Special Event Centers

View more information, register for courses and get notified about new courses at dli.mn.gov/ccld-learn.

The interface of CCLD Learn.

2006 IECC. This code applies to all residential buildings three stories or less in height. A Technical Advisory 
Group will evaluate the 2024 IECC for adoption once it is published. DLI anticipates adoption and enforcement 
in late 2026 or early 2027. 

Apartments over three stories with single exit stairways 
The state legislature requires that DLI study what safety measures will be required to result in apartment 
buildings with single exit stairways to be equivalent in occupant life safety to other types of housing in 
Minnesota when the subject apartment buildings are up to 75 feet tall. The legislation requires an extensive 
list of stakeholder groups to be included in the development of the study. DLI will issue a request for proposal 
to contract the services of a fire life-safety engineering firm to lead the study and prepare the report. The final 
report is due to the state legislature in December 2025.

“Update” continued from page 1.

https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/get-licenses-and-permits/continuing-education-licensees
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/ccldcecourses/
mailto:DLI.license@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld-learn
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New process for stairway chairlift inspections
To make it easier for licensed elevators contractors to comply 
with state laws requiring a stairway chairlift to be inspected 
prior to being placed into service, the Minnesota Department 
of Labor and Industry is implementing the smartphone-based 
VuSpex Go app for all stairway chairlift installation inspections 
in Minnesota. 

The change makes it possible for registered or licensed 
stairway chairlift installation technicians to perform and submit 
an inspection any time of the day, weekend or holiday without 
having to coordinate with an elevator inspector.

Beginning June 17, 2024, all residential stairway chairlift installation inspections must be conducted and 
submitted by the installer via the VuSpex Go app as an offline field report prior to being put into service. The 
app can be installed from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store directly to your mobile device. 

View instructions about how to install, register and use VuSpex Go in the offline field report guide. Once 
installed on your mobile device, contractors can perform a practice inspection using the test permit number 
ELV-P2404-0307.

Questions?
•	 View more about elevator permits and inspections.
•	 Contact us at elevator.inspections.dli@state.mn.us or 651-284-5071.

Help stop child labor violations in the construction industry
Everyone who works in the construction industry can help protect kids and promote safety on the jobsite by 
becoming familiar with child labor laws and reporting violations. 

Minnesota’s child labor law prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from working in or about any construction or 
building project, from operating machinery such as circular or radial saws, and from working in any occupation 
or at any site that is hazardous or dangerous to life, limb or health, among other things. There are also laws 
about the hours kids can work. 

You can help stop child labor violations and help keep kids safe, and at the same time help keep you and your 
jobsite safe. If you are an employer, do not hire children to work at construction sites and refuse to work with 
other companies or subcontractors who violate child labor laws. Talk to your employees about the law and ask 
them to come to you with any suspicions they have. If you become aware of a child working at a construction 
site, say something. Report violations to an investigator with the Minnesota Department of Labor and 
Industry’s Labor Standards Unit at 651-284-5075. Reports can be made anonymously. 

View more about Minnesota’s child labor laws at dli.mn.gov/child-labor.

https://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/VuSpex-Go-OFR-guide.pdf
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/elevator-contractors/elevator-permits-and-inspections
mailto:elevator.inspections.dli@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/child-labor
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CCLD Review is a quarterly 
publication of the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and 
Industry.   

Receive email notification 
when an issue is available by 
subscribing online. 

Contact information

CCLD main contact info
Phone: 		  651-284-5012 	
Toll-free:		 1-800-657-3944
	
Visit the Contact Us page. 

Licensing information
Business/contractor licenses 
and bonds and personal 
licenses and certificates
Phone:  651-284-5034
DLI.License@state.mn.us

iMS support
Phone:  651-284-5026 
iMS.support.dli@state.mn.us

Electrical information
Phone:  	 651-284-5026		
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us   

Boiler, high-pressure piping, 
boats-for-hire inspection
Phone: 	 651-284-5544	
DLI.Code@state.mn.us

Plumbing information
Phone:  651-284-5063 			 
iMS.bld.plb.dli@state.mn.us 

Building information
Phone:  651-284-5857 
iMS.bld.plb.dli@state.mn.us  

License enforcement details
Phone:  	 651-284-5069			 
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us

Contractor registration
Phone:  	 651-284-5074		
DLI.register@state.mn.us

Schedule of board and council meetings
Below is a schedule of meetings for boards and council supported 
by CCLD. 

Visit dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils to view 
meeting minutes, agendas, rulemaking documents and schedules 
for these meetings and additional boards and councils.

Board of Electricity
•	 July 9, 2024
•	 Oct. 8, 2024

Construction Codes  
Advisory Council
•	 July 30, 2024

Board of High Pressure Piping
•	 July 18, 2024 

Plumbing Board	
•	 July 16, 2024
•	 Oct. 15, 2024

Interested in serving on a board or council?
Minnesotans are encouraged to apply for positions on state 
councils, boards, task forces and commissions through the 
Secretary of State’s Open Commissions and Appointments process. 

Visit dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils for more 
information about how to apply.

Translated documents, Language Line available
A selection of documents and web 
pages related to building codes, 
workers’ compensation, workplace 
safety, apprenticeship and more 
have been translated into various 
languages. 

Additionally, DLI has access to 
Language Line, a free language 
translation service for limited-
English speakers. 

View the translated documents and 
instructions to access Language Line 
at dli.mn.gov/about-department/
about-dli/translated-materials.

https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/news-and-media/ccld-review-newsletter
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/our-areas-service/phone-and-email-directory
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/our-areas-service/phone-and-email-directory
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/our-areas-service/phone-and-email-directory
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/get-licenses-and-permits/forms-licensing-insurance-bonds-certificates
mailto:DLI.License@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/electrical-contractors/electrical-codes-and-standards
mailto:DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/boiler-engineers
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/high-pressure-piping-contractors
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/get-licenses-and-permits/boat-master-license
mailto:DLI.Code@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/plumbing-and-mechanical-contractors
mailto:iMS.bld.plb.dli@state.mn.us
mailto:iMS.bld.plb.dli@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/file-complaint
mailto:DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/independent-contractor-registration
mailto:DLI.register@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/translated-materials
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/about-dli/translated-materials
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Unlicensed Lakeville contractor fined $48,000
•	 A Lakeville contractor was found to have engaged in residential remodeling and roofing 

activities without a license. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the 
unlicensed activities and fined $48,000. 

•	 A Grand Forks, North Dakota, contractor was found to have performed unlicensed 
plumbing work. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the unlicensed 
activity and fined $3,500, of which $3,000 was stayed contingent on full future 
compliance.  

•	 A St. Peter contractor was found to have performed plumbing, electric, remodeling and mechanical work 
without having the required contractor licenses and bonding. The contractor was ordered to cease and 
desist from the unlicensed activities and fined $10,000.  

•	 A Merriam, Kansas, contractor was found to have engaged in residential remodeling activities without the 
required license. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the unlicensed activities and fined 
$6,000, of which $3,000 was stayed contingent on full future compliance.  

•	 A licensed residential building and electrical contractor operating out of St. Paul and Stillwater was found 
to have breached contracts with multiple homeowners. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist 
from acting as a residential building contractor, from performing electrical work in Minnesota, and both 
licenses were revoked.  

More information
View summaries of enforcement actions at dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/file-complaint-and-view-
enforcement-actions. Contact us at 651-284-5069 or dli.contractor@state.mn.us.

The basics of Minnesota electrical licensing
A pair of web pages explain the basic steps and requirements to become 
an electrician or an electrical contractor in Minnesota.

Electrical licensing basics  
dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/electrical-
licensing-basics

Electrical contractor licensing basics  
dli.mn.gov/business/elevator-contractors/electrical-contractor-
licensing-basics

For help with questions about licenses and registrations contact 
dli.license@state.mn.us.

Enforcement 
actions

http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/file-complaint-and-view-enforcement-actions
http://www.dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/file-complaint-and-view-enforcement-actions
mailto:dli.contractor@state.mn.us
http://dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/electrical-licensing-basics
http://dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/electrical-licensing-basics
dli.mn.gov/business/elevator-contractors/electrical-contractor-licensing-basics
dli.mn.gov/business/elevator-contractors/electrical-contractor-licensing-basics
mailto:dli.license@state.mn.us
http://dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/file-complaint-and-view-enforcement-actions

