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Section 5 
Penalties 
 

The Minnesota Legislature established penalties as a consequence for behavior 
which violates the workers’ compensation law.  Just as important, the department 
views the assessment of penalties as an educational tool which helps insurers to 
keep future claims on track.  The following material will make you more aware of the 
process we use to determine if a penalty is warranted for a violation of the workers’ 
compensation statutes and rules. 

 
The types of penalties assessed are warnings and monetary fines payable to the 
Assigned Risk Safety Account (ARSA) and the employee.  The penalty amount is set 
by the statutes and rules.  Many of these penalties may also be assessed by a 
compensation judge.  A comprehensive list of penalties that may be assessed by 
Compliance is included in this section. 

 
Assessment Factors 
 

Before a penalty is assessed, the following factors are taken into consideration: 
 

• Do we have sufficient factual evidence to support the penalty? 
 

• Do we have the statutory authority to assess the penalty? 
 

• Do we have clear support of this penalty in the rules of practice? 
 

• Is the penalty supported by department policy? 
 

• Has the violation occurred within the last two years? (See Minnesota Rules Part 
5220.2710) 

 
What to do when a Penalty is Received 
 

• Review the claim to determine if the penalty is valid.  If there is no legal or factual 
basis to object to the penalty, it must be paid within 30 days of the date it was 
served and filed.  This date is stamped on the front of the penalty. 

 
• If there are questions on why the penalty was assessed, call the author of the 

penalty.  If we can resolve any issues quickly, we will do so.  Such conversations 
should not keep someone from filing an Objection to Penalty Assessment in a 
timely manner. 

 
• If there is a reason to believe the penalty is not appropriate, an Objection to 

Penalty Assessment must be filed within 30 days of the date the penalty was 
served and filed.  The author of the penalty will contact the party objecting to the 
penalty if any additional information is needed or if the penalty can be amended 
or rescinded.  The Objection to Penalty Assessment process will be discussed 
later in this section. 
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Late Filing of the First Report of Injury (FROI) 
 

Statutes Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.231, Subd. 1 and 2 

Applicable Rule Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2820 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.231, Subd. 10 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Employer or Insurance Company 
 
Determination 
 

The information used to determine if a penalty will be assessed includes: 
 

• the first day of disability 
 

• the date the employer was notified of the injury or disability, whichever is later 
 

• the date the insurer received notice of the injury from the employer 
 

• the date the FROI is received by the department 
 

The penalty may be assessed against the employer if the insurance company does 
not receive the FROI within 10 days of the first day of disability or the date the 
employer received notice, whichever is later. 

 
The penalty may be assessed against the employer if the employer is self-insured 
and if the FROI is not received by the department by the 14th day after the first day 
of disability or the date the employer received notice, whichever is later. 

 
The penalty may be assessed against the insurance company if the insurance 
company received the FROI from the employer in a timely manner but did not file the 
report with the department by the 14th day after the first day of disability or the date 
the employer received notice, whichever is later. 

 
If the date the FROI is due falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the due date is the 
next regular business day. 

 
This penalty can be assessed on claims that are required to be filed per Minnesota 
Statutes §176.231.  If there was no claimed disability beyond the waiting period, the 
claim was not required to be reported and was not subject to this penalty. 

 
Calculation 
 

The penalty amount is based on the number of penalties assessed against the 
employer or insurance company for violations over the previous 12-month period 
prior to the current violation.  The chart below shows the penalty amount for each 
violation. 
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Violation Number Penalty Amount 
1 Warning 
2 $125.00 
3 $250.00 
4 $375.00 

5 or more $500.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

Documentation is the key to avoiding this penalty.  The insurance company should 
document the date they received the FROI from the employer in box 50 of the form.  
Make sure the date is marked clearly.  If it is not clear, the date will not be readable 
when it is placed in our imaging system. 

 
The Minnesota workers’ compensation statutes do not require the filing of a FROI 
with the department if the claimed disability does not exceed the waiting period.  
Quite often an insurer does not send us a FROI for this reason, but later learns that 
there is claimed disability beyond the waiting period.  The insurer than sends us 
benefit payment information on a claim for which we have no FROI.  By the time the 
insurer files the FROI in response to our written request, the filing is late and subject 
to a penalty.  So in cases where the injury originally did not have claimed disability 
beyond the waiting period, the insurer should ensure that the FROI is filed with the 
department as soon as they receive notice of the claimed disability beyond the 
waiting period later on in the claim.  Also they need to document the status of the 
original period of disability when filing the Notice of Insurer’s Primary Liability 
Determination (NOPLD) form. 

 
Continually educate employers in the timely filing of claims.  Remind them of the 
consequences if they fail to file the FROI in a timely manner.  Supply as much of the 
information requested on the FROI as possible, especially the data used to determine 
timeliness of the FROI.  If there are unusual circumstances we should know about, 
they should attach a note to the FROI. 

 
Late First Payment of Benefits 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 1 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2770 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2790 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 5 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
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Determination 
 

The information used to determine if a penalty will be assessed includes: 
 

• the first day of disability 
 

• the date the employer was notified of the injury or disability, whichever is later 
 

• the date of first payment of temporary total disability 
 

• whether the employer is continuing to pay the employee full wages per 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 9 

 
The first payment of temporary total disability must be issued by the 14th day after 
the first day of disability or the date the employer received notice, whichever is later.  
If the payment is late and the claim has not previously been denied, a penalty may 
be assessed.  A penalty is not assessed if there is a proper wage continuation plan 
by the employer. 

 
Calculation 
 

When penalties are assessed for late first payment of temporary total disability, two 
penalty amounts are calculated.  One is payable to the employee and the other is 
payable to the ARSA. 

 
Payable to the Employee per Minnesota Statutes §176.225 

 
The amount of the penalty payable to the employee is 25% of the benefits found to 
be delayed.  The amount of benefits found to be delayed is the amount of benefits 
paid up to a date two weeks before the date the first payment was made. 

 
Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 

 
The amount payable to the ARSA is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due to the date of the first payment. 

 
The amount of benefits due to the date of the first payment is multiplied by a set 
percentage, determined by the number of days the first payment is late.  The amount 
is subject to a maximum set by statute and rule.  The chart below shows the penalty 
amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits Maximum Penalty Amount 

  1-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55% $1,500.00 
31-60   80% $3,500.00 

61 or more 105% $5,000.00 
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How to Avoid 
 

When the insurer receives the FROI from the employer in a timely manner, it is up to 
them to make payment or deny the claim in a timely manner.  They need to file an 
NOPLD form, being sure that all the dates and information requested on the form is 
completed and accurate. 

 
The Unavoidable 
 

The insurer may not always be able to avoid this penalty.  If the employer is late in 
filing the claim, there is a good chance the first payment will also be late.  While 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 6 requires that this penalty be assessed against 
the insurer, it also provides for recovery of penalty costs in situations where the late 
first payment is caused by the employer’s late filing of the claim. 

 
Late Denial of Liability 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 1 

Applicable Rule Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2770 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3a 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

The information used to determine if a penalty will be assessed includes: 
 

• the first day of disability 
 

• the date the employer was notified of the injury or disability, whichever is later 
 

• the date the denial was served on the employee 
 

A denial of liability served on the employee and must be filed with the department 
within 14 days of the first day of disability or the day the employer received notice, 
whichever is later.  If the denial of liability is served beyond the 14 day time limit and 
no other liability determination has been previously filed, the denial of liability is late 
and a penalty may be assessed. 

 
If the 14th day falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the day the denial is due becomes 
the next regular business day. 

 
This penalty can be assessed on claims that are required to be filed per Minnesota 
Statutes §176.231.  If there is no claimed disability beyond the waiting period, the 
claim is not required to be reported and is not subject to this penalty. 
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Calculation 
 

The amount payable to the ARSA is based on the number of days the denial was 
filed late.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 

  1-15    $250.00 
16-30    $500.00 
31-60 $1,000.00 

61 or more $2,000.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

When the insurer receives the FROI from the employer in a timely manner, it is up to 
them to make payment or deny the claim in a timely manner.  They need to file an 
NOPLD form, being sure that all the dates and information requested on the form is 
completed and accurate. 

 
When filing an NOPLD denying either primary or partial liability, be sure to give a 
complete and specific reason for the denial as required by Minnesota Rules Part 
5220.2570, Subp. 2.  Remember, penalties can also be assessed for non-specific or 
frivolous denials. 

 
The Unavoidable 
 

The insurer may not always be able to avoid this penalty.  If the employer is late in 
filing the claim, there is a good chance the denial of liability will also be late.  While 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 6 requires that this penalty be assessed against 
the insurer, it also provides for recovery of penalty costs in situations where the late 
denial of liability is caused by the employer’s late filing of the claim. 

 
Frivolous Denial of Liability 
 

Statutes Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 1 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 1 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2570 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2770 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2760 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3a 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 1 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
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Determination 
 

A frivolous denial under the rules includes one which: 
 

• does not state facts indicating that an investigation has been completed or that 
a good faith effort to investigate has been attempted; or 

 
• states a basis which is clearly an inaccurate statement of fact or applicable law. 

 
Calculation 
 

The amount payable to the ARSA is based on the number of penalties against the 
insurer for violations in the two year period prior to the current assessment.  The 
chart below shows the penalty amount for each violation. 

 
Violation Number Penalty Amount 

1-5 $1,000.00 
6 or more $2,000.00 

 
In addition, a penalty may be assessed under Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 
1, payable to the employee, in the amount of up to 30% of the benefits found to be 
delayed. 

 
These penalties may be assessed in addition to penalties for late denials of liability 
under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3a and Minnesota Rules 
Part 5220.2770. 

 
How to Avoid 
 

The easiest way to avoid this penalty is to promptly investigate claims and be familiar 
with the statutes and rules.  Do not deny a claim without conducting an investigation 
and documenting the investigation.  Inform employers that prompt reporting allows 
more time to conduct an investigation in order to make proper determinations 
regarding acceptance or denial of liability.  Remind health care providers that 
authorizations to release medical information are not necessary for work related 
injuries.  Be sure to attach to the denial any medical and other documentation used 
as a basis for the denial. 

 
Some questions the insurer should ask themselves prior to filing the denial include: 

 
• Have I provided a specific reason explaining why the claimed injury is not 

compensable? 
 

• Have I used language that may not be clearly understood by all the parties and 
the department without further inquiry? 

 
• Have I provided detailed facts underlying the specific reasons for denying 

liability? 
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• Have I shown that I completed an investigation or made a good faith effort to 
investigate the claim before denying liability? 

 
• Have I attached any medical records or provided a summary of medical 

information I received verbally that I am using to support my reasons for denying 
liability? 

 
• Have I provided a reason for denial that is clearly not contrary to the facts of the 

claim? 
 

• Have I provided a reason for denial that is clearly not contrary to the statutes, 
rules, and case law? 

 
Non-Specific Denial of Liability 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.84, Subd. 1 

Applicable Rule Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2570 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.84, Subd. 2 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

Minnesota Statutes §176.84 states “...denials of liability shall be sufficiently specific 
to convey clearly, without further inquiry, the basis upon which the party issuing the 
notice or statement is acting.” 

 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2570 goes further to say a denial of liability, whether it 
be a primary or partial denial, must include “...a specific reason for the denial which 
must be in language easily readable and understandable to a person of average 
intelligence and education and a clear statement of the facts forming the basis for 
the denial.  A denial which states only that the injury did not arise out of and in the 
course and scope of employment or that the injury was denied for lack of a medical 
report, for example, is not specific within the meaning of this item.” 

 
Calculation 
 

Before the department may assess a penalty for a non-specific denial, Minnesota 
Statutes §176.84 requires that the department notify the insurer that the reason for 
the denial was not sufficiently specific to meet the standard of the statute and rules.  
This allows the insurer an opportunity to amend the denial to meet the requirements.  
If the insurer corrects the language of the denial in a timely manner a penalty is not 
assessed. 

 
The amount payable to the ARSA is $500.00 per violation.  This penalty may be 
assessed in addition to penalties for late or frivolous denials of liability. 
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How to Avoid 
 

The easiest way to avoid this penalty is to become familiar with the statute and rules.  
Do not use the language which the rules define as being non-specific.  Do not deny 
a claim without conducting an investigation.  Remind health care providers that 
authorizations to release medical information are not necessary for work related 
injuries.  Also, see the questions the insurer should ask themselves prior to filing the 
denial included above under Frivolous Denial of Liability. 

 
Also, as the statute allows an opportunity to amend the denial to meet the 
requirements, an insurer that takes this opportunity to correct the language of the 
denial in a timely manner can avoid having this penalty be assessed. 

 
See Seller v. Dura Supreme Inc. WCCA 2/25/2008 and Marshall v. Steinbrecher 
Painting Inc. WCCA 8/26/2008 for penalty cases involving non-specific denials of 
liability. 

 
Prohibited Practices 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.194, Subd. 3 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.194, Subd. 4 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Insurance Company, Self-Insured Employer, 
Third-Party Administrator, or Adjuster 

 
Special Note 
 

Prohibited practice penalties may be assessed in addition to any other penalties 
provided by the workers’ compensation laws.  They may be assessed against 
insurance companies or self-insured employers, third-party administrators who act 
on behalf of an insurer, adjusters, the Minnesota Insurance Guaranty Association, or 
any other entity. 

 
Determination 
 

A penalty may be assessed when the department finds that any of nine specific types 
of prohibited conduct have occurred in the handling of claims.  These are: 

 
1) failing to reply, within 30 calendar days after receipt, to all written communication 

about a claim from a claimant that requests a response; 
 

2) failing, within 45 calendar days after receipt of a written request, to commence 
benefits or to advise the claimant of the acceptance or denial of the claims by 
the insurer; 

 
3) failing to pay or deny medical bills within 45 days after the receipt of all 

information requested from medical providers; 
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4) filing a denial of liability for workers’ compensation benefits without conducting 
an investigation; 

 
5) failing to regularly pay weekly benefits in a timely manner, as prescribed by the 

rules adopted by the commissioner, once weekly benefits have begun.  Failure 
to regularly pay weekly benefits means failure to pay an employee on more than 
three occasions in any 12-month period, within three business days of when 
payment was due; 

 
6) failing to respond to the department within 30 calendar days after receipt of a 

written inquiry from the department about a claim; 
 

7) failing to pay pursuant to an order from the department, compensation judge, 
court of appeals, or the supreme court, within 45 days from the filing of the order, 
unless the order is under appeal; 

 
8) advising a claimant not to obtain the services of an attorney or representing that 

payment will be delayed if an attorney is retained by the claimant; or 
 

9) altering information on a document to be filed with the department without the 
notice and consent of any person who previously signed the document and who 
would be adversely affected by the alteration. 

 
The prohibited conduct most commonly penalized for by the department is failing to 
respond to the department within 30 days after receipt of a written inquiry from the 
department about a claim.  The law requires a response to the request within 30 
days.  If we do not receive a response by then, a penalty may be assessed or a 
courtesy second request may be sent to the attention of the claims manager. 

 
Calculation 
 

The amount payable to the ARSA is based on the number of penalties assessed 
against the party for violations over the previous 12-month period prior to the current 
violation.  The chart below shows the penalty amount for each violation. 

 
Items 1-6 and 9 Items 7 and 8 

Violation 
Number 

Penalty 
Amount 

Violation 
Number 

Penalty 
Amount 

1-5 Warning 1-5 $3,000.00 each 
6-10 $3,000.00 each 6-30 $6,000.00 each 

11-30 $6,000.00 each   
 

If a party has 31 or more violations during a 12-month period, a penalty of $6,000.00 
is assessed for each violation.  In addition, the department may refer the party to the 
Minnesota Department of Commerce for review of their license. 
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How to Avoid 
 

Although the law requires a response to our written request within 30 days, we realize 
that the information we request may not be readily available, especially when an 
older claim is involved.  When a party receives a request from the department but is 
unable to supply the requested information within 30 days, please let the department 
know.  Telling the department that the information can not be immediately supplied 
will generally satisfy the statutory requirement to respond to the initial request.  The 
department will continue to expect to receive the information that was requested, so 
if the information is not supplied at a later date, it will be requested again. 

 
If a party receives a second written request, they need to respond as soon as 
possible to avoid a penalty.  If they had already answered the original request, they 
should contact the person that made the second request to determine if the 
information needs to be resent. 

 
When the department asks for information that a party no longer has available 
because their file has been destroyed, they should contact the person who made the 
request.  Together we can often find alternative ways to obtain the information. 

 
Communication with the department is the key to avoiding penalties for failure to 
respond.  When a file is reviewed for a prohibited practices penalty for failure to 
respond to our written request, we usually have already requested the information at 
least twice. 

 
Late or Improper Payment of Permanent Partial Disability 
 

Statutes Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.021, Subd. 3 or 3a  
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 6a 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 7 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2550 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2750 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2760 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2790 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 5 or 1 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

A penalty may be assessed where payment of permanent partial disability, 
economic recovery compensation, or impairment compensation is not made in 
a timely manner as provided in Minnesota Statutes §176.101 and Minnesota 
Rules Part 5220.2550. 
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Permanent partial disability must be paid at the times specified in Minnesota 
Statutes §176.021 and 176.101.  When permanent partial disability is being paid 
periodically, the payments must be continued without interruption at the same 
intervals that the temporary total disability was or would have been paid.  This 
applies whether or not temporary partial disability is being paid concurrently.  
When permanent partial disability is being paid periodically and concurrently 
with the payment of permanent total disability, the payments must be continued 
without interruption at the same intervals as the permanent total disability is 
being paid. 

 
When the extent of the permanent partial disability is not disputed, the insurer 
must, within 30 days of knowledge of a minimum rating or receipt of a medical report 
containing a rating: 

 
• make at least a minimum lump sum payment or begin periodic payments to the 

employee and 
 

• inform the employee in writing of the rating and the number of weeks the 
permanent partial disability payments will be made under the statute. 

 
When the extent of the PPD is disputed, the insurer must, within 30 days of the 
receipt of a medical report containing a rating: 

 
• make at least the minimum lump sum payment or begin periodic payments, 

based any undisputed portion of the rating, 
 

• notify the employee in writing that an independent medical examination has been 
scheduled and the date, time and place of the examination, and 

 
• determine and pay any remaining PPD within 120 days of receipt of the initial 

medical report which contained the PPD rating. 
 
Calculation 
 

When penalties are assessed for late or improper payment of permanent partial 
disability, two penalty amounts are calculated.  One is payable to the employee and 
the other is payable to the ARSA. 

 
Payable to the Employee per Minnesota Statutes §176.225 

 
If the penalty is being assessed for failure to pay the benefits owed, the amount 
payable to the employee under Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 5 is 25% of the 
benefits found to be delayed. 

 
If the penalty is being assessed for late payment of the benefits, the amount payable 
to the employee under Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 1 is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due to the date of the first payment. 
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The total benefits paid late is multiplied by a set percentage, determined by the 
number of days the payment is late.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits 

    1-5   6% 
  6-15 12% 
16-30 18% 
31-60 24% 

61 or more 30% 
 

Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 
 

If the penalty is being assessed for failure to pay the benefits owed, the amount 
payable to the ARSA is based on: 

 
• the number of days from when payment was due through the date of the penalty, 

and 
 

• the amount of benefits due through the date of the penalty. 
 

The total benefits due as of the date of the penalty is multiplied by a set percentage, 
determined by the number of days the payment is late.  The amount is subject to a 
maximum set by statute and rule.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
If the penalty is being assessed for late payment of the benefits, the amount payable 
to the ARSA is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due to the date of the first payment. 

 
The total benefits paid on the date of first payment is multiplied by a set percentage, 
determined by the number of days the payment is late.  The amount is subject to a 
maximum set by statute and rule.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits Maximum Penalty Amount 

  1-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55% $1,500.00 
31-60   80% $3,500.00 

61 or more 105% $5,000.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

Review the medical reports that were received to determine if the treating doctor has 
provided a permanency rating or medical information from which a rating may 
be determined.  Develop knowledge of those medical conditions and surgical 
procedures that are likely to result in permanency.  Be aware of when these benefits 
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are due.  Communicate with the employee when a disputed rating is received from 
the treating doctor and follow the timelines for clarification of the disputed rating. 

 
Late Payment of an Order or Award 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 8 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2780 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2760 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3 or 3a 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 1 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

Where payment of compensation or expenses is not made within 14 days 
following an order as required by Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 6a and 
8, the department may assess penalties provided in Minnesota Statutes 
§176.221, Subd. 3 or 3a.  However, the department shall not issue a penalty 
under unless payment is made after the 30th day following a final order.  A 
penalty may be issued, however, for a payment after the 14th day and through 
the 30th day following a settlement award under Minnesota Statutes §176.521.  
Payments made after the 14th day must include interest to the payee. 

 
Calculation 
 

When penalties are assessed for late payment of an order or award, two penalty 
amounts are calculated.  One is payable to the employee and the other is payable to 
the ARSA. 

 
Payable to the Employee per Minnesota Statutes §176.225 

 
The amount payable to the employee is calculated under Minnesota Statutes 
§176.225, Subd. 1 and is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due to the date of the first payment. 

 
The total benefits paid late is multiplied by a set percentage, determined by the 
number of days the payment is late.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits 

    1-5   6% 
  6-15 12% 
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16-30 18% 
31-60 24% 

61 or more 30% 
 

Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 
 

When the dollar amount paid late is known, the amount payable to the ARSA is 
calculated under Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3.  The amount of the penalty 
is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due to the date of the payment. 

 
The total benefits paid late is multiplied by a set percentage, determined by the 
number of days the payment is late.  The amount is subject to a maximum set by 
statute and rule.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits Maximum Penalty Amount 

  1-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55% $1,500.00 
31-60   80% $3,500.00 

61 or more 105% $5,000.00 
 

When the dollar amount paid late is not clearly known, the amount payable to the 
ARSA is calculated under Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3a.  The penalty is 
based on the number of days the payment was late.  The chart below shows the 
penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 

  1-15    $500.00 
16-30 $1,000.00 
31-60 $1,500.00 

61 or more $2,000.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

Remain informed of the status of legal actions from which an order or award may 
result.  If represented by legal counsel, remain in contact with that attorney to avoid 
being caught unaware when an order is served and filed.  Do not delay making a 
decision whether to appeal an order or not. 

 
When involved in a stipulated settlement, prepare for the payment of the settlement 
before receiving the award.  The terms of the settlement should be clearly spelled 
out in the stipulation.  Read the stipulation thoroughly to make certain all payments 
are issued properly. 
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There are times where payments of orders or awards are delayed due to issuing 
payments to an outdated address.  Keep good records of up to date addresses for 
all parties involved.  Compare the address on record to any address provided in the 
stipulation. 

 
See Osterkamp v. Craftsman Press WCCA 8/23/1990 and Aune v. Conagra Inc. 
WCCA 11/19/1999 for penalty cases involving late payment of an order or award. 

 
Improper Discontinuance of Benefits 
 

Statutes Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.238 
Minnesota Statutes §176.239 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2720 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2760 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.238, Subd. 10 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 1 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

A penalty for improper discontinuance will be made by the department, if 
appropriate, where: 

 
• benefits were discontinued without timely notice to the employee and the 

employee's attorney as required under Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2630 
and Minnesota Statutes §176.238. 

 
• the discontinuance occurred despite an administrative determination 

denying a request to discontinue under Minnesota Rules Part 1415.3900 
and Minnesota Statutes §176.239. 

 
• the discontinuance occurred without notice despite a final decision of a 

compensation judge, the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals, or the 
Supreme Court requiring payment of ongoing benefits. 

 
• an administrative conference was requested and the request was not withdrawn, 

and the discontinuance occurred before the date of the administrative 
conference, except where allowed by Minnesota Rules Part 1415.3900, Subp. 
3. 

• a notice of intention to discontinue benefits is required to be filed but the 
discontinuance is retroactive, taking effect prior to the date that the notice 
of intention to discontinue benefits is served and filed with the department 
or served on the employee, except as allowed by Minnesota Rules Part 
5220.2630. 
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Calculation 
 

When penalties are assessed for improper discontinuance of benefits, two penalty 
amounts are calculated.  One is payable to the employee and the other is payable to 
the ARSA. 

 
Payable to the Employee per Minnesota Statutes §176.225 

 
The amount payable to the employee is only calculated in cases where additional 
benefits are clearly due.  The penalty is calculated under Minnesota Statutes 
§176.225, Subd. 1 and is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due. 

 
The total benefits owed is multiplied by a set percentage, determined by the number 
of days the payment is late.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits 

    1-5   6% 
  6-15 12% 
16-30 18% 
31-60 24% 

61 or more 30% 
 

Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 or §176.238 
 

When the dollar amount owed is known, the amount payable to the ARSA is 
calculated under Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3.  The amount of the penalty 
is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits owed. 

 
The total benefits owed is multiplied by a set percentage, determined by the number 
of days the payment is late.  The amount is subject to a maximum set by statute and 
rule.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits Maximum Penalty Amount 

  1-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55% $1,500.00 
31-60   80% $3,500.00 

61 or more 105% $5,000.00 
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When the dollar amount owed is not clearly known, the amount payable to the ARSA 
is calculated under Minnesota Statutes §176.238, Subd. 10.  The penalty amount is 
based on: 

 
• the number of days late, and 

 
• the number of penalties against the insurer for violations in the last year prior to 

the current assessment. 
 

For the first violation in the last year, a warning letter is issued.  If the violation is not 
corrected within 10 days of the warning, the chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits 

11-20    $200.00 
21-30    $600.00 
31-60    $800.00 

61 or more $1,000.00 
 

For all subsequent violations in the last year, the chart below shows the penalty 
amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits 

  1-10    $400.00 
11-20    $600.00 
21-30    $800.00 

31 or more $1,000.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

When discontinuing benefits for reasons other then return to work, be certain to 
provide timely notice to the employee and the employee’s attorney.  Also be certain 
to pay benefits through the date of the discontinuance. 

 
Avoid discontinuing benefit payments that have been ordered payable as the result 
of an administrative conference or by a compensation judge, the Workers’ 
Compensation Court of Appeals, or the Supreme Court. 

 
For those claims on which it is expected the employee will soon return to work, keep 
in contact with the employer for confirmation of the return to work date.  Don’t rely on 
information indicating the employee will return to work on a certain day in the future. 

 
See Douville v. JoAnn Stores Inc. 62WCD593 and Haag v. D.S. Brown Co. WCCA 
11/1/2004 for penalty cases involving improper discontinuance of benefits. 
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Late Payment of Ongoing Benefits 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.221. Subd. 1 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2540 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2790 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3a 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 5 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

Once temporary total or permanent total disability have been commenced, they 
must continue to be paid on a regular basis at the intervals the employee would 
have received wages from the employer had the employee continued working.  
Less frequent payments may be arranged by written agreement of the parties.  
With the initial payment of temporary total or permanent total disability, the 
insurer must notify the employee in writing of the day of the week that further 
payments will be made and the frequency with which payments will be made.  If 
the initial payment is a first and final payment, then notification need not be 
sent. 

 
The same time limits apply to payments of temporary partial disability.  If the 
current wage varies so that wage documentation for calculation of temporary 
partial disability benefits is necessary, payment is due ten days following the 
date the employee or employer sends wage verification to the insurer.  If the 
employee is receiving a regular wage during the period of partial disability, the 
receipt of wage verification is not required prior to issuing payment temporary 
partial disability.  (See Kjeldergaard v. Pueringer Distributing Inc. WCCA 
3/20/2002) 

 
When a claim has not been denied but payment is not made as provided by 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, the failure is deemed inexcusable delay under 
Minnesota Statutes $176.225, Subd 5. 

 
Where other payment of temporary total, temporary partial, permanent total, or 
permanent partial disability is not made within three business days of the date 
provided by statute or rule on more than three occasions in any 12-month 
period, the failure is deemed inexcusable. 
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Calculation 
 

When penalties are assessed for late payment of ongoing benefits, two penalty 
amounts may be calculated.  One is payable to the employee and the other is payable 
to the ARSA. 

 
Payable to the Employee per Minnesota Statutes §176.225 

 
The amount payable to the employee is calculated under Minnesota Rules Part 
5220.2790 and Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 5.  The amount is 25% of the 
benefits found to be delayed. 

 
Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 

 
The amount payable to the ARSA is calculated under Minnesota Statutes §176.221, 
Subd. 3a.  The amount is based on the number of days payments were delayed, a 
percentage of the amount due, and is subject to a maximum amount of up to 
$2,000.00.  There are currently no set rules for the calculation of this penalty. 

 
How to Avoid 
 

Consistency is the key.  Penalties for late payment of ongoing benefits usually 
happen when an employee’s compensation checks are removed from a repetitive 
pay system.  Issuing payments of weekly compensation benefits on a regular 
schedule that is as close as possible to the claimant’s regular work payday will help 
avoid this penalty assessment. 

 
For those claims on which it is expected the employee will soon return to work, keep 
in contact with the employer for confirmation of the return to work date.  Don’t rely on 
information indicating the employee will return to work on a certain day in the future.  
Confirming the return to work date before discontinuing benefit payments will also 
help avoid a penalty assessment for late ongoing payments. 

 
On those claims for which temporary partial disability is being paid, set up a process 
for the employee or employer to send the wage verification to ensure this information 
is received with enough time to process a timely payment.  Remember, payment of 
temporary partial disability is due within 10 days of the date on which the wage 
verification is sent, not received. 

 
Late Reinstatement of Benefits 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.221. Subd. 1 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2540 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2770 
Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2790 

Assessment Statutes Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3 
Minnesota Statutes §176.225, Subd. 5 
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Penalty Payable to ARSA 
Employee 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

Payment of compensation must be commenced within 14 days of “notice to or 
knowledge by the employer of a new period of lost time due to a previous work related 
injury unless an extension is requested under Minnesota Statutes §176.221 176.221, 
Subd. 1. 

 
Calculation 
 

When penalties are assessed for late reinstatement of benefits, two penalty amounts 
may be calculated.  One is payable to the employee and the other is payable to the 
ARSA. 

 
Payable to the Employee per Minnesota Statutes §176.225 

 
The amount of the penalty payable to the employee is 25% of the benefits found to 
be delayed.  The amount of benefits found to be delayed is the amount of benefits 
paid up to a date two weeks before the date the payment was made. 

 
Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 

 
The amount payable to the ARSA is based on: 

 
• the number of days the payment was made late, and 

 
• the amount of benefits due to the date of the payment. 

 
The amount of benefits due to the date of the payment is multiplied by a set 
percentage, determined by the number of days the payment is late.  The amount is 
subject to a maximum set by statute and rule.  The chart below shows the penalty 
amount. 

 
Number of Days Late % of Late Benefits Maximum Penalty Amount 

  1-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55% $1,500.00 
31-60   80% $3,500.00 

61 or more 105% $5,000.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

Payment or denial of a claim for reinstatement of benefits is due within 14 days of 
the date on which the employer has notice or knowledge of a new period of lost time 
claimed to be due to a previous work related injury.  Insurers should inform employers 
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that it is imperative that they provide notice to them as soon as possible to allow them 
enough time to make a liability determination within that 14 day time period. 

 
Unlike the initial period of claimed lost time, on claims for reinstatement of benefits 
the insurer is allowed to request an extension of time to make the liability 
determination by filing a Request for Extension form within the 14 day time period.  If 
the form is properly filed with the department, payment must be made no later than 
30 days from the notice to or knowledge by the employer of the new period of lost 
time.  If payment is not commenced, a letter of denial of payment must be sent to the 
employee (with a copy to the department) within the 30 day time period. If payment 
is commenced, a Notice of Benefit Reinstatement must be filed with the department. 

 
The Unavoidable 
 

The insurer may not always be able to avoid this penalty.  If the employer takes too 
much time in reporting the claim for reinstatement of benefits, there is a good chance 
the payment will be late. 

 
Late Payment or Denial of Medical Bills 
 

Statutes Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.135 
Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 6a 

Applicable Rules Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2740 
Minnesota Rules Part 5221.0600 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.221, Subd. 3a 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self-Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

As soon as reasonably possible, and no later than 30 calendar days after receiving 
a medical bill, the insurer shall pay the charge or any portion of the charge which is 
not denied, or deny all or a part of the charge with written notification to the employee 
and the health care provider explaining the basis for denial.  All or part of a charge 
must be denied if any of the following conditions exists: 

 
1) the injury or condition is not compensable under this chapter; 

 
2) the charge or service is excessive under this section or section 176.136; 

 
3) the charges are not submitted on the prescribed billing form; or 

 
4) additional medical records or reports are required under Minnesota Statutes 

§176.135, Subd. 7 to substantiate the nature of the charge and its relationship 
to the work injury. 

If payment is denied under clause (3) or (4), the insurer shall reconsider the charges 
in accordance with this subdivision within 30 calendar days after receiving additional 
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medical data, a prescribed billing form, or documentation of enrollment or certification 
as a provider. 

 
Calculation 
 

Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.221 
 

The amount payable to the ARSA is calculated under Minnesota Statutes §176.221, 
Subd. 3a.  The amount is based on the number of days the payment was late.  The 
chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 

  1-15    $500.00 
16-30 $1,000.00 
31-60 $1,500.00 

61 or more $2,000.00 
 
How to Avoid 
 

Develop a process in which all medical bills received are reviewed and a liability 
determination is made within 30 days of receipt.  Document compliance with the rules 
governing payment or denial of medical bills.  If denying payment of any medical bills, 
document clearly the reason for denial. 

 
Failure to Release Existing Medical Data 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.138 

Applicable Rule Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2810 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.138 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Any party to a claim that is holding medical data 
relating to the claim. 

 
Determination 
 

Any party or the department may request a penalty be assessed against a 
collector or possessor for failure to release medical data in accordance with 
Minnesota Statutes §176.138.  The request must be in writing, clearly state the 
factual basis upon which the penalty is requested, and be accompanied by 
copies of the written requests for medical data made by the requestor and any 
response received.  The request also must be accompanied by a copy of the 
written notification to the employee of the request for medical data, unless the 
employee is the requesting party. 

 
Upon receipt of a request for a penalty assessment, the department may assess 
a penalty if it determines that the request meets the following requirements: 
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A. the medical data requested is related to a current claim for compensation, 

which means any claim for compensation under Minnesota Statutes §176, 
for which benefits are currently being paid or are being claimed by an 
employee, whether or not a claim petition has been filed; 

 
B. the requested medical data is specifically identified and in existence at the 

time of the request; 
 

C. the requested medical data is directly related to a current injury or disability 
for which compensation is claimed or being paid; 

 
D. the applicant sent written notification of the request for medical data to the 

employee at the time the request was made; 
 

E. if required by federal law, appropriate authorizations for release of 
information were furnished; and 

 
F. the requested medical data was not provided within seven working days 

after receipt of the request by a party and receipt of appropriate 
authorizations, if required by federal law. 

 
Calculation 
 

The department must send a warning letter before a monetary penalty is 
assessed unless the initial request for records is from the department.  The 
warning letter must advise the collector or possessor against whom the penalty 
is sought of the obligation to provide medical data under Minnesota Statutes 
§176.138, that a penalty will be assessed if it fails to provide the requested data 
within seven working days after the warning letter, and to file written verification 
of the release of the data or a copy of the data with the department within that 
time. 

 
Payable to the ARSA per Minnesota Statutes §176.138 

 
The amount payable to the ARSA is based on the number of days the existing 
medical reports were filed late.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 

  > 7 $300.00 
> 30 $450.00 
> 60 $600.00 
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How to Avoid 
 

As the statute allows the possessor of the medical data an opportunity to send the 
requested information before a penalty is assessed, this penalty is easily avoidable.  
When a written request is received from the department for existing medical data, 
the possessor of the data must respond within 7 days.  If there is a question 
concerning what is being requested, contact the person requesting the data to 
discuss it. 

 
Other Failure to File Required Reports in a Timely Manner 
 

Statutes Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.231, Subd. 3, 4, 6, 8, 
and/or 10 

Applicable Rule Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2830 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.231, Subd. 10 

Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Insurance Company, Employer, Self- Insured 
Employer, Third Party Administrator, Health 
Care Provider, or Qualified Rehabilitation 
Consultant 

 
Determination 
 

The department may assess a penalty for failure to file a required report if: 
 

• A report, other than the first report of injury, required to be filed by 
Minnesota Statutes §176.231 is not filed in the manner or within the time 
limitations prescribed; or 

 
• A report on a prescribed form is requested by the department but is not 

provided within 21 days of the department’s request. 
 

• A changed or corrected electronic first report of injury that corrects all 
identified errors, as provided in Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2530, Subp. 5, 
item C, is not filed within 60 days after the department sent the insurer an 
electronic acknowledgment transmission describing the errors 

 
Calculation 
 

For a report required to be filed by Minnesota Statutes §176.231 that is not filed 
in the manner or within the time limitations prescribed, the amount payable to the 
ARSA is based on the number of days the required report was filed late.  The chart 
below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 
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  > 30 $125.00 
  > 90 $375.00 
> 180 $500.00 

 
For a required report requested by the department that is not provided within 21 
days of the department’s request, the amount payable to the ARSA is based on 
the number of days the required report was filed late.  If the 21st day falls on a legal 
holiday, the day the required report is due becomes the next regular business day.  
The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 

Not filed within 21 days of written request $125.00 
Not filed after second request $375.00 

Subsequent failure to file $500.00 
 

Where a changed or corrected electronic first report of injury that corrects all 
identified errors is not filed in the manner or within the time limitations 
prescribed, the amount payable to the ARSA is based on the number of days the 
required report was filed late.  The chart below shows the penalty amount. 

 
Number of Days Late Penalty Amount 

  > 30 $125.00 
  > 90 $375.00 
> 180 $500.00 

 
How to Avoid 
 

When a written request is received from the department to file a required form, file 
the requested form within 21 days of the request. 

 
If the required form has already been filed, verify the claim information on the request 
that was received to see if it matches the previously filed form.  If the claim information 
does not match, there is a chance that two files exist in our system for this claim.  
Contact the requestor to discuss it. 

 
If there is any question concerning what is being requested, contact the person 
requesting the data to discuss it.  Before sending a copy of a form that has already 
been filed, make sure the request is not for an updated form. 

 
Failure to Notify the Employee of the Time Limit to Request 
Retraining Benefits 
 

Statute Violated Minnesota Statutes §176.102, Subd. 11 

Applicable Rule N/A 

Assessment Statute Minnesota Statutes §176.102, Subd. 11 
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Penalty Payable to ARSA 

Assessed Against Insurance Company or Self- Insured Employer 
 
Determination 
 

The insurer must notify the employee in writing of the 208 week limitation for filing a 
request for retraining with the department.  This notice must be given before any 
combination of 80 weeks of temporary total disability and temporary partial disability 
have been paid, regardless of the number of weeks that have elapsed since the date 
of injury.  If the notice is not given before the 80 weeks, the period of time the 
employee has to file a request for retraining is extended by the number of days the 
notice is late, but in no event may a request be filed later than 225 weeks after any 
combination of temporary total disability or temporary partial disability have been 
paid. 

 
This penalty applies only to dates of injury October 1, 1995 or after. 

 
Calculation 
 

The amount payable to the ARSA is $25.00 per day that the notice is late, up to a 
maximum penalty of $2,000.00. 

 
How to Avoid 
 

Keep track of the number of weeks of compensation that have been paid and set up 
a reminder to provide this notice in a timely fashion. 

 
Since the statute requires this notice to be given prior to 80 weeks of benefits being 
paid, consider sending this notice to the employee at the time of the initial payment 
of benefits. 

 
Objection to Penalty Assessment 
(Minnesota Rules Part 5220.2870) 
 
Effective Filing 
 

When filing an Objection to Penalty Assessment form, the objecting party must do 
the following: 

 
• Supply all information requested on the Objection to Penalty Assessment form, 

including a notarized proof of service to all parties. 
 

• Send the original form directly to the department. 
 

• Send a copy to the employee only if part of the penalty assessed is payable to 
the employee. 

 
• Send a copy to the employer.  
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• Serve the objection on all parties within 30 days of the date the penalty was 
served.  Remember, to be considered timely, the objection must be received by 
the department by the 30th day. 

 
• Include a detailed statement explaining the legal or factual basis for the 

objection.  Supply documentation to support the objection. 
 

• Attach any additional information that is relevant. 
 
Department Procedure 
 

Our procedure for handling most Objections to Penalty Assessment starts with an 
immediate review of the objection by the staff person who wrote the penalty.  The 
department generally has five options for responding to the objection.  Those options 
are: 

 
1) Rescind the Penalty.  The department rescinds the penalty when the 

information supplied on or with the objection is sufficient to show the penalty was 
not appropriate.  An order rescinding the penalty is issued to all involved parties 
and the objection process is considered complete. 

 
2) Amend the Penalty.  If information supplied on or with the objection shows that 

the original penalty amount was not accurate, the penalty is amended to reflect 
the new information.  The department considers the objection process complete 
when the amended penalty is served and filed. 

 
3) Write for additional information.  If information received on or with the 

objection is not clear, the department will contact the party filing the objection, 
asking for additional clarification.  Once final clarification is received, the 
department will follow one of the other options to complete the objection process. 

 
4) Negotiate a settlement.  If the department is not able to rescind or amend the 

penalty after reviewing the information, the department may open negotiations 
to settle the penalty.  This is done before the objection is forwarded to the Office 
of Administrative Hearings (OAH).  If the negotiations result in an agreement to 
settle the penalty, a stipulation for settlement of the penalty assessment is 
written and signed by the parties.  The stipulation is then forwarded to OAH with 
a request for an award approving the settlement. 

 
The department does not have the authority to negotiate a settlement of any 
penalty amount payable to the employee.  If the negotiations result in a change 
in the penalty amount payable to the employee, the employee must be included 
in all negotiations.  This being the case, it is generally easier to only negotiate 
settlement of the amount payable to the state while agreeing that as part of the 
settlement the full penalty amount will be paid to the employee. 

 
5) Refer to OAH.  The objection is forwarded to OAH for one of two actions: 

 
A. Request for Dismissal, because of late filing or lack of legal or factual basis 

for the objection; or 
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B. Scheduling of a settlement conference and any additional conferences and 

hearings that might be necessary. 
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Penalties – Exercise 5A 
 

Review the FROI found on the next page and answer the following questions: 
 

1. Did the employer submit the FROI to the insurance company on time? 
 
 
 
 

2. Did the insurance company submit the FROI to the department on time? 
 
 
 
 

3. In order for the FROI to be considered filed timely, by what dates did the 
insurance company and the department need to receive the FROI? 

 
 
 
 

Review the NOPLD, found on the next page after the FROI and answer the following 
questions: 

 
1. By what date was the first payment or denial due? 

 
 
 

2. Was the payment made timely? 
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Compliance Penalty Reference Table 
 

Workers’ Compensation Penalties Assessed by Compliance 
 

Violation 
Statute 
Violated 

Applicable 
Rules 

Assessment 
Statutes 

Paid 
to 

 
Formula and dollar amount 

Late 1st 
report of 
injury 
 
Against ER 
or IR 

176.231 
s1 & 2 

5220.2820 176.231 s10 ARSA based on # of violations in last 12 months prior to the 
assessment 
1st   = warning 
2nd   = $125.00 
3rd   = $250.00 
4th   = $375.00 
5th + = $500.00 

Late 1st 
payment of 
benefits 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.221 
s1 

5220.2770 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
5220.2790 

176.221 s3 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
176.225 s5 

ARSA 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
EE 

based on # of days late, % of amount due, subject to 
maximums 
Days late % of $ due  Maximum 
01-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55%  $1500.00 
31-60   80%  $3500.00 
61 +        105%   $5000.00 
& 
25% of amount found to be delayed 

Late denial 
of liability 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.221 
s1 

5220.2770 176.221 s3a ARSA based on # of days late 
Days late  $Penalty 
01-15    $250.00 
16-30    $500.00 
31-60  $1000.00 
61 +   $2000.00 

Frivolous 
denial of 
liability 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.221 
s1 

5220.2570 
5220.2770 
5220.2540 
 
 

& 
5220.2760 

176.221 s3a 
 
 
 
 

& 
176.225 s1 

ARSA 
 
 
 
 

& 
EE 

based on # of violations in last two-year period prior 
to the assessment 
Violations  $Penalty 
1-5   $1000.00 
6 +   $2000.00 
& 
Up to 30% of amount found to be delayed. 
 
This penalty may be assessed in addition to 
penalties for late or non-specific denial. 

Non-
specific 
denial of 
liability or 
NOID 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.84 
s1 

5220.2570 176.84 s2 ARSA based on set $ amount 
$500.00 
 
This penalty may be assessed in addition to 
penalties for late or frivolous denial. 

Prohibited 
practices 
 
Against IR, 
Self-Insured 
ER, TPA, or 
Adjuster 

176.194 
s3 

None 176.194 s4 ARSA based on # of violations in last 12 months 
violation of:    violation of: 
subd. 3 (1-6 & 9)   subd. 3 (7-8) 
01-05 = warning   01-05 = $3000.00 each 
06-10 = $3000.00 each 06-30 = $6000.00 each 
11-30 = $6000.00 each 
31 +   = $6000.00 each for subd. 3 (1-9).  In addition, 
may refer to Minnesota Department of Commerce for 
license review. 
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Workers’ Compensation Penalties Assessed by Compliance 
 

Violation 
Statute 
Violated 

Applicable 
Rules 

Assessment 
Statutes 

Paid 
to 

 
Formula and dollar amount 

Late or 
improper 
payment of 
permanent 
partial 
disability 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.021 
s3/3a 
&/or 
176.221 
s6a 
&/or 
176.221 
s7 

5220.2750 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
5220.2790 
 

or 
5220.2760 

176.221 s3 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
176.225 s5 
= fail to pay 

or 
176.225 s1 
= late pay 

ARSA 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
EE 

 
or 
EE 

based on # of days late, % of amount due, subject to 
maximums 
Days late % of $ due  Maximum 
01-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55%  $1500.00 
31-60   80%  $3500.00 
61 +        105%   $5000.00 
& 
25% of amount found to be delayed 
 
or 
Days late % of $ due 
01-05     6% 
06-15   12% 
16-30   18% 
31-60   24% 
61 +    30% 

Late 
payment of 
order or 
award 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.221 
s8 

5220.2780 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
5220.2760 

176.221 s3 
 
 
 
 
 
 

or 
176.221 s3a 
(used when 
$ amount 
owed isn’t 
clear) 

& 
176.225 s1 

ARSA 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
EE 

based on # of days late, % of amount due, subject to 
maximums or based on set amount 
Days late % of $ due  Maximum 
01-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55%  $1500.00 
31-60   80%  $3500.00 
61 +        105%   $5000.00 
or 
Days late  $Penalty 
01-15    $500.00 
16-30  $1000.00 
31-60  $1500.00 
61 +   $2000.00 
& 
Days late % of $ due 
01-05     6% 
06-15   12% 
16-30   18% 
31-60   24% 
61 +    30% 

Improper 
discontinu
ance of 
benefits 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.238 
or 
176.239 

5220.2720 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
5220.2760 

176.238 s10 
= If $ 
amount 
owed is 
unclear 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

or 
176.221 s3 
= If $ 
amount 
owed is 
clear 

& 
176.225 s1 
= only if 
additional 
benefits 
clearly due 

ARSA 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

or 
ARSA 
 
 
 
 

& 
EE 

based on # of violations in last year and days late 
176.238 s10 1st violation in 1 year = warning  If not 
corrected in 10 days of warning, apply following: 
11-20 days late =   $200.00 
21-30   =   $600.00 
31-60   =   $800.00 
61 +    = $1000.00 
2nd+ violation in 1 year, then the following applies: 
1-10 days late =   $400.00 
11-20   =   $600.00 
21-30   =   $800.00 
31 +    = $1000.00 
or 
Days late % of $ due  Maximum 
01-15   30%           $500.00 
16-30   55%   $1500.00 
31-60   80%   $3500.00 
61 +        105%    $5000.00 
& 
Days late % of $ due 
01-05     6% 
06-15   12% 
16-30   18% 
31-60   24% 
61 +    30% 
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Workers’ Compensation Penalties Assessed by Compliance 
 

Violation 
Statute 
Violated 

Applicable 
Rules 

Assessment 
Statutes 

Paid 
to 

 
Formula and dollar amount 

Late 
payment of 
ongoing 
benefits 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.221 
s1 

None 
 

& 
5220.2790 

176.221 s3a 
 

& 
176.225 s5 

ARSA 
 

& 
EE 

based on # of days late, % of amount due, subject to 
maximum up to $2000.00 (no set rules) 
& 
25% of amount found to be delayed 

Late 
reinstatem
ent of 
benefits 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.221 
s1 

5220.2770 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
5220.2790 

176.221 s3 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
176.225 s5 

ARSA 
 
 
 
 
 
 

& 
EE 

based on # of days late, % of amount due, subject to 
maximums 
Days late % of $ due  Maximum 
01-15   30%    $500.00 
16-30   55%  $1500.00 
31-60   80%  $3500.00 
61 +        105%   $5000.00 
& 
25% of amount found to be delayed 

Late 
payment or 
denial of 
medical 
bills 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.135 
& 
176.221 
s6a 

5220.2740 176.221 s3a ARSA based on # of days late, set amount 
Days late  $Penalty 
01-15    $500.00 
16-30  $1000.00 
31-60  $1500.00 
61 +   $2000.00 

Failure to 
release 
existing 
medical 
data 
 
Any party to 
a claim that 
is holding 
existing 
medical 
data 
relating to 
the claim. 

176.138 5220.2810 176.138 ARSA based on # of days late 
> 7 days without response = $300.00 
> 30 days without response = $450.00 
> 60 days without response = $600.00 

Other 
failure to 
file 
required 
reports in a 
timely 
manner 
 
Against IR, 
Self-Insured 
ER, TPA, 
HCP, QRC 

176.231 
s3, 4, 6, 
7, 10 

5220.2830 176.231 s10 ARSA based on # of days late 
Not filed within 21 days of written request = $125.00 
Not filed after 2nd request      = $375.00 
Subsequent failure to file      = $500.00 
or 
Not filed within 30 days of date due    = $125.00 
Not filed within 90 days of date due    = $375.00 
Not filed within 180 days of date due    = $500.00 
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Workers’ Compensation Penalties Assessed by Compliance 
 

Violation 
Statute 
Violated 

Applicable 
Rules 

Assessment 
Statutes 

Paid 
to 

 
Formula and dollar amount 

Failure to 
notify EE 
of time 
limit to 
request 
retraining 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.102 
s11 

None 176.102 s11 ARSA based on # of days late 
$25.00 per day up to $2000.00 max 
 
Note:  Applies only to dates of injury October 1, 
1995 or later. 

Late 
payment of 
rehabilitati
on 
 
Against IR 
or Self-
Insured ER 

176.102 
s9, 11 
& 
176.221 
s6a 

5220.1900 
s19 ? 
None? 

176.221 s3 
or 3a ? 

ARSA No clear rule regarding penalties. 
 
Note:  Rules pending. 

 
ABBREVIATIONS 

 
ARSA: Assigned Risk Safety Account IR: Insurance Company 
DOI: Date of Injury MCO: Managed Care Organization 
EE: Employee NOID: Notice of Intention to Discontinue Benefits 
ER: Employer QRC: Qualified Rehabilitation Consultant 
FROI: First Report of Injury TPA: Third Party Administrator (adjusting company) 
HCP: Health Care Provider 
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