State minimum wage increases Jan. 1, 2023
Minnesota's minimum-wage rates will be adjusted for inflation on Jan. 1, 2023, to $10.59 an hour for large employers and $8.63 an hour for other state minimum wages.
The current large-employer minimum wage, $10.33, will increase by 26 cents to $10.59. Other state minimum wages, including the small-employer, youth and training wages, as well as the summer work travel exchange visitor program wage, which are all currently $8.42, will increase by 21 cents to $8.63. These increases are both 2.5%.
"This increase is designed to help minimum-wage workers keep up with inflation to better provide for themselves and their families," said Nicole Blissenbach, DLI temporary commissioner.
As of Jan. 1, 2023
Large employers must pay at least $10.59 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are $500,000 or more.
Small employers must pay at least $8.63 an hour when the employer's annual gross revenues are less than $500,000.
The training wage rate, $8.63 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
The youth wage rate, $8.63 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.
The state minimum-wage rates will not apply to work performed in the cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, which have higher minimum-wage rates.
Minimum wage posters will be available this fall
Minnesota law requires employers to display five state-mandated posters in a location where employees can easily see them. The new minimum-wage poster will be available for download this fall.
Employee notice updates may be required
As part of Minnesota's employee notice requirement, employers are required to provide each employee with a written notice of any change before the change takes effect, including a change to the employee's rate of pay. Learn more about the employee notice requirement.