Skip to main content

The main phone number for the Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD) is 651-284-5012. However, if you have a specific questions, please view the phone numbers and e-mail addresses below.



Contact information by topic


Licensing and continuing education

Contractor and business licenses: dli.license@state.mn.us, 651-284-5034

  • Electrical and elevator contractors

  • High-pressure-piping contractors

  • Manufactured home manufacturers, dealers, installers

  • Mechanical contractor bonds

  • Plumbing contractors

  • Residential builders and remodelers

  • Residential roofers

  • Technology system contractors

  • Water conditioning contractors

Individual/personal licenses, registrations and certifications: dli.license@state.mn.us, 651-284-5031

  • Boiler licenses

  • Building official certification: 651-284-5068

  • Contracting and journeyman HPP pipefitter

  • Master and journeyman electrical licenses

  • Master and journeyman elevator constructor licenses

  • Master and journeyman plumber licenses

  • Power limited technician license

  • Unlicensed individual registration


License enforcement, complaints and investigations


Inspections:

Boiler inspections


Electrical inspections

Name Contact Duties

John I. Williamson, chief electrical inspector

651-284-5823
John.Williamson@state.mn.us

office operations

Dean Hunter, assistant chief electrical inspector

651-284-5314
Dean.Hunter@state.mn.us

field operations

Robin Geiger, principal program administrator

651-284-5804
Robin.Geiger@state.mn.us

Administration for electrical permits, inspections, contract inspectors, inspection service contracts and carnivals and county fairs.

Steve Dudley, senior electrical representative

507-595-3313
Steven.Dudley@state.mn.us

Lead administration and support for electrical code and licensing issues, electrical exam development, electrical applicant approvals, reciprocal licensing and education development.

Marty Kumm, senior electrical representative

952-440-7455
Marty.Kumm@state.mn.us

Lead administration and support for electrical code and licensing issues,
database administration, alternative energy systems and education development.

John McNamara, slectrical area representative

651-501-6330
John.McNamara@state.mn.us

Primary field representative for Minneapolis. Administration, oversight and support of contract electrical inspectors. Administration of laws, rules and codes related to licensing and inspections.


Elevator inspections

Bill Reinke, supervisor

651-284-5873
Bill.Reinke@state.mn.us

 

Tim Warren, inspections supervisor

651-274-1627
Timothy.Warren@state.mn.us

inspections supervisor

Renee Gavin, office and admin specialist, senior

651-284-5846
Renee.Gavin@state.mn.us

 

Ashley Commodore, office assistant

651-284-5897
Ashley.Commodore@state.mn.us

Questions about annual operating permits and annual inspections


High pressure piping inspections

Todd Green, manager

651-284-5124
Todd.A.Green@state.mn.us

 

Duane Burbank, inspector

320-515-0084
Duane.Burbank@state.mn.us

Northern and east central

Earl Gruis, inspector

612-590-5160
Earl.Gruis@state.mn.us

West and southwest

Mike Little, inspector

651-303-5470
Michael.Little@state.mn.us

Southeast and south metro


Plumbing inspections

Brad Jensen, supervisor

218-290-1591
Brad.Jensen@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Mike Freiderich, plumbing standards representative

507-304-6266
Michael.Freiderich@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Charles Olson, plumbing standards representative

651-308-0786
Charles.Olson@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

John Roehl, plumbing standards representative

320-247-9523
John.Roehl@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Bruce Royer, plumbing standards representative

651-529-2416
Bruce.Royer@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Gary Topp, plumbing standards representative

218-821-7669
Gary.Topp@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections


Plan review:

Plumbing plan review

  • General information:  651-284-5063

Cathy Tran, PE, supervisor

651-284-5898
Cathy.Tran@state.mn.us

plumbing plan review supervisor

Judy Tacheny, office administrative specialist

651-284-5886
Judy.Tacheny@state.mn.us

plan logging

Candice Parker, administrative assistant

651-284-5821
Candice.Parker@state.mn.us

plan logging

Zach Barnaal, plan review engineer

651-284-5888
Zachary.Barnaal@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Brad C. Erickson, plan review engineer

651-284-5880
Bradley.Erickson@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Colleen Erickson, plan review engineer

651-284-5881
Colleen.Erickson@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Corey Frain, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5882
Corey.Frain@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Bob Johnson, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5183
Robert.L.Johnson@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Scott Sawyer, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5803
Scott.Sawyer@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Marise Widmer, plan review engineer

651-284-5887
Marise.Widmer@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Brad Williams, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5836
Bradley.Williams@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer


Building plan review

  • General information:  651-284-5857

Greg Metz, supervisor - architect

651-284-5884
Greg.Metz@state.mn.us

supervisor - architect

Mike Bunnell, construction code representative

651-284-5866
Mike.Bunnell@state.mn.us

building plan review

Ken Eggers, construction code representative

651-284-5913
Ken.Eggers@state.mn.us

building plan review

Scott Erickson, construction code representative

651-284-5815
Scott.Erickson@state.mn.us

building plan review

Karen Gridley, construction code representative

651-284-5877
Karen.Gridley@state.mn.us

building plan review - accessibility

Daniel Kelsey, structural engineer

651-284-5852
Dan.Kelsey@state.mn.us

building plan review - structural

Dean Mau, construction code representative

651-284-5335
Dean.Mau@state.mn.us

building plan review - fire protection and life safety

Chris Meier, construction code representative

651-284-5865
Chris.Meier@state.mn.us

mechanical, energy and building plan review

Ryan Rehn, construction code representative

651-284-5410
Ryan.Rehn@state.mn.us

building plan review

Peter Villard, construction code representative, architect

651-284-5801
Peter.Villard@state.mn.us

building plan review

Stacy Jeffrey, customer service specialist, senior

651-284-5579
Stacy.Jeffrey@state.mn.us

application forms for plan review and permits,
fees, plan review que information


Educational training, rules and code development

Tim Manz, construction code representative

651-284-5590
Timothy.Manz@state.mn.us

educational training
continuing education

Rich Lockrem, construction code representative

651-284-5868
Rich.Lockrem@state.mn.us

state code development
residential code info

Don Sivigny, construction code representative

651-284-5874
Don.Sivigny@state.mn.us

national code development
energy code info

Paul Swett, construction code representative

651-284-5953
Paul.H.Swett@state.mn.us

educational training
residential code info

Amanda Spuckler, management analyst

651-284-5361
Amanda.Spuckler@state.mn.us

administrative rule development


Manufactured structures

  • General information:  651-284-5092

Randy Vogt, supervisor

651-284-5875
Randy.Vogt@state.mn.us

manufactured structures supervisor

Herman Hauglid, building code representative

651-284-5870
Herman.Hauglid@state.mn.us

modular plan review/inspections

Larry D. Johnson, building code representative

651-284-5894
Larry.D.Johnson@state.mn.us

modular plan review/inspections

Jason Kelzer, building code representative

651-284-5806
Jason.Kelzer@state.mn.us

modular plan review/inspections

Matt Schowalter, office and administrative specialist intermediate

651-284-5366
Matt.Schowalter@state.mn.us

support and anchoring seals


Regional and administrative services

Doug Nord, supervisor

651-284-5838
Doug.Nord@state.mn.us

supervisor

Jake Depuydt, construction code representative

651-284-5963
Jake.Depuydt@state.mn.us

code administrator

Mike Fricke, construction code representative

651-284-5841
Mike.Fricke@state.mn.us

code administrator

Tom Gray, construction code representative

651-284-5281
Thomas.Gray@state.mn.us

code administrator

Scott Wheeler, construction code representative

651-284-5876
Scott.Wheeler@state.mn.us

code administrator

Cliff Skogstad, construction code representative

320-594-6591
Clifford.Skogstad@state.mn.us

Region 1 - northwest regional building official

Jerry Jasmer, construction code representative

218-999-0102
Jerry.Jasmer@state.mn.us

Region 2 - northeast regional building official

Jim Marka, construction code representative

320-234-0367
James.Marka@state.mn.us

Region 3 - central-west regional building official

Mark Hensen, construction code representative

507-831-2930
Mark.Hensen@state.mn.us

Region 4 - southwest regional building official

Paul Heimkes, construction code representative

651-284-5864
Paul.Heimkes@state.mn.us

Region 5 - southeast regional building official

Kevin Mealhouse, construction code representative

763-295-6758
Kevin.Mealhouse@state.mn.us

Region 6 - Central east


Executive staff