Do I need a boiler installation permit?
The installation of individual boilers or boilers connected to a common circulation manifold requires a permit if the individual or combined BTU input exceeds:
100,000 BTUs for steam boilers;
Due to a change in the interpretation of State Statute 326B.988 (a) (14), the department is suspending the need for a permit to install hot water supply boilers (water heaters). 500,000 BTUs for hot water supply boilers; (1) 500,000 BTU/hour input must be exceeded, but (2) 210 degree F or a (3) nominal water capacity of 120 gallons; or a pressure of 160 psig.
750,000 BTUs for hot water heating boilers.
If your installation exceeds the above BTU inputs, you will need to apply for a permit.
Get a permit
Apply or pay for a boiler installation permit. Note: A new permit system launched June 22, 2020. Users must create a new account and link it to their mechanical bond to obtain and pay for permits.
View instructions about how to create an account, link to your mechanical bond and pay fees.
A fee is not charged for the permit application and the installer is invoiced after the inspection. Inspection fees are $80 per hour.
Mechanical contractors are required to file a $25,000 mechanical contractor bond to contract to perform gas, heating, ventilation, cooling, air conditioning, fuel burning or refrigeration work in Minnesota. The bond must be on a form approved by DLI and written by a surety company licensed to do business in Minnesota. View more information about mechanical bonds.
All boiler installations require a hydrostatic test applied to the boiler. The test pressure should be approximately 75 percent of the safety valve set pressure. Example: 15 psi safety valve set pressure, 11 psi hydrostatic test pressure. The test pressure must hold for at least 10 minutes.
All boilers are subjected to an operational test of all boiler controls. View the checklist used by inspectors.
Contact us at 651-284-5544 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Visit the boiler engineer web page