Work comp: Results of Special Compensation Fund assessment
The Workers' Compensation Report of Benefits Paid (or SCF assessment) will be filed in Work Comp Campus beginning in 2021.
Instructions: How to complete the Workers' Compensation Report of Benefits Paid form and information about possible penalties
Training: Benefits reporting for insurers, third-party administrators (TPAs)
Results of the reconciliation and final determination of the 2020 SCF assessment 'true-up'
If you have questions, send a message to email@example.com.
The Special Compensation Fund (SCF) assessment funds Minnesota's workers' compensation programs. Most of the assessment dollars go to funding the supplementary and second-injury benefit programs. The assessment also pays the operating expenses of the workers' compensation divisions of the Department of Labor and Industry, the Office of Administrative Hearings and the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals.
The Special Compensation Fund assessment is directly invoiced by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The first half of the assessment is invoiced by June 30 of each year and is due Aug. 1 of that year. The second billing is due Feb. 1 of the following year and is mailed approximately 30 days before the due date. Assessment amounts of $1,000 or less are invoiced with first-half invoices only.
The 2023 SCF assessment continues the downward trend in amount assessed. During the past five years, the annual funding requirement has dropped $11.7 million. The 2018 assessment was $66.7 million versus $55 million for the 2023 assessment.
The estimated state-fiscal-year 2023 funding requirement for the Special Compensation Fund was determined to be $55 million. The liability was divided between the insurers and self-insurers by the ratio of their 2021 indemnity payments to the total indemnity reported by both groups.
|2021 indemnity||Ratio||2023 funding
Insurer premium surcharge rate
The insurer premium surcharge rate applied for the purpose of determining the Special Compensation Fund assessment is 4.66%. The rate was determined by dividing the insurer portion of the Special Compensation Fund state-fiscal-year 2023 liability ($40,300,725) by the 2021 designated statistical reporting pure premium reported by all insurers to the Minnesota Workers' Compensation Insurers Association ($864,290,409).
The amount each insurer is assessed is determined by multiplying 4.66% by the designated statistical reporting (DSR) pure premium for calendar-year 2021. The total amount assessed is divided into two invoices, the first due Aug. 1, 2022, and the second due Feb. 1, 2023 (unless the total amount due is $1,000 or less).
The insurer portion of the 2023 assessment will be adjusted for actual 2022 data reported by the Minnesota Workers' Compensation Insurers Association. As a result of 2014 amendments to Minnesota Statutes 176.129, subdivision 2a, the current assessment is considered to be an estimate based on the prior year's data. The reconciliation and final determination (true-up) for insurers will be completed by December 2021. See 2014 Minnesota Laws Chapter 182.
Self-insured assessment rate
The self-insured assessment rate is 11.87%. It was determined by dividing the self-insured portion of the Special Compensation Fund state-fiscal-year 2023 liability ($14,699,275) by the total 2021 indemnity reported by the self-insured employers ($123,880,504).
The amount each self-insurer is assessed is determined by multiplying 11.87% by the indemnities self-reported to DLI for calendar-year 2021. The total amount assessed is divided into two invoices, the first due Aug. 1, 2022, and the second due Feb. 1, 2023 (unless the total amount due is $1,000 or less).
If you need further information, send a message to firstname.lastname@example.org.