Skip to main content

Training about the recently implemented hospital outpatient fee schedule (HOFS) and ambulatory surgical center payment system (ASCPS) in Minnesota's workers' compensation

The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) is hosting an in-person training program for parties interested in learning more about the hospital outpatient fee schedule (HOFS) and ambulatory surgical center payment system (ASCPS).

  • Date:  Nov. 27, 2018

  • Location:  DLI Minnesota Room – 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN

  • Time:  9 a.m. to noon, with registration beginning at 8:30 a.m.

The HOFS and ASCPS are new provisions for workers' compensation medical payments adopted by the Legislature in 2018, and effective as of Oct. 1, 2018. DLI has provided background information, instructions and links to important documents for both HOFS and ASCPS online.

The program will include:

  • a review of the hospital inpatient DRG payment system;

  • an opportunity for DLI to offer further instruction and answer additional questions about the HOFS and ASCPS; and

  • an overview of other billing and dispute-resolution changes from the recent legislation, with additional information about submitting medical requests for disputes about a workers' compensation medical issue.

Insurers and self-insured employers, hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers, third-party administrators and clearinghouses are encouraged to have a representative attend this training. Space is limited; it is recommended you sign up as soon as possible.

If you have any questions about the program, contact DLI's medical policy staff at 651-284-5052 or medical.policy.dli@state.mn.us.

Basic adjuster training

  • No sessions are currently scheduled.

This class, at the Department of Labor and Industry in St. Paul, is designed for claims adjusters who have less than one year of experience handling Minnesota workers' compensation claims. The $150 registration fee for the two-day session includes lunch.

Continuing education credits

This seminar satisfies 10.5 hours of credit toward continuing insurance education requirements.

Topics

  • Overview of Minnesota workers' compensation

  • Waiting period

  • Liability determination

  • Indemnity benefits

  • Rehabilitation benefits and issues

  • Medical benefits and issues

  • Penalties

  • Dispute resolution

  • How to file forms

Dates -- No sessions are currently scheduled

Sessions are 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Registration and payment

All participants must register and pay online. Early registration is encouraged. This session is limited to 30 people and will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. The Department of Labor and Industry reserves the right to cancel this session if there are not enough participants registered.

Accommodation

If you need special accommodations to enable you to participate in this training or have questions about this training, contact Lisa Smith at 651-284-5273 or 800-342-5354.

Location

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N.
St. Paul, MN  55155

Customized training for insurers

Customized training is available for groups of at least 20 claims adjusters by contacting Melissa Parish at dli.wctraining@state.mn.us or 651-284-5431.

Basic Adjusters' Training Guide

The Basic Adjusters' Training Guide contains information designed to illustrate how to calculate benefits, describe when benefits are payable, explain how and when to file the required forms, and provide general information about workers' compensation benefits.

Section number, title Last updated Notes
Introduction, objectives, table of contents March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
1. Workers' compensation overview March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
2. Indemnity benefits October 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
3. Medical benefits March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
4. Rehabilitation benefits March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
5. Penalties March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
6. Alternative dispute-resolution services March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
7. Forms March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
8. Case study March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study
Answer key March 2018 Changes to update maximum comp rate, update case study